Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jews in WW2
This was a great story about a young Jewish girl which opens when she is almost six and the start of the Germans taking over Poland. It tells of the lack of being able to move freely, being moved to the ghetto, moving around in secret and hiding. At one point she was spending all day sitting in a cupboard with a piece of bread, having to be quiet in case she was found...
Published 4 months ago by Mrs. Joanne Campbell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book just ok.
This book is ok but I found it a long way to tell a story! I have read other books of this nature that are much better!
Published 8 months ago by v finlay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jews in WW2, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. Joanne Campbell (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
This was a great story about a young Jewish girl which opens when she is almost six and the start of the Germans taking over Poland. It tells of the lack of being able to move freely, being moved to the ghetto, moving around in secret and hiding. At one point she was spending all day sitting in a cupboard with a piece of bread, having to be quiet in case she was found while her parents worked. Eventually she was rounded up with her family and sent to a camp. She tells of her fears when everyone had to have a shower and how she was looked after in the camps. She was moved around the camps and eventually the war ended and the story continues with how she survied after the war giving an idea of what life was like for thousands of displaced people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting story., 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book I could not put it down.
I am very interested in reading anything about world war 2. I have read many books on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
I completley enjoyed this book, it was almost unbelievable what a child could go through during those times and still come out the other side.
If you have an interest in this era then i recommend you read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
One fantastic account of a child's life during the war. Sad but none the less a very interesting book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forbidden strawberries, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
It's a great teacher of our history over the last 70 years. Very sad that humans can hate other humans so much. A good read for people who can relate to the people and settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaker, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
In parts was difficult because of the translation, however this didn't distract from the depth & emotions of a young girl remembering the holocaust. A brilliant book & brave, brave woman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthwhile read, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
This book, written from memories of being a child from a Jewish family in wartime Poland, gripped me from the start and I found myself returning to read more whenever I could. The tragedy, pain and suffering that took place during Cipora's childhood is deeply moving and says so much more about the horrors of the war than my time in school history lessons could ever teach me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book just ok., 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
This book is ok but I found it a long way to tell a story! I have read other books of this nature that are much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very interesting. It was well written and quite different to any others I have previously read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forbidden Strawberries (Kindle Edition)
this was a fantastic book. it opened my eyes to the reality of the holocaust. reading the personal experience of it all made me realise how horrific it was. i obviously knew it was terrible but to read some things i have never even thought about made it all the more horrible. may it never happen again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1169c8)

This product

Forbidden Strawberries
Forbidden Strawberries by Cipora Hurwitz
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews