Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 22 Sept. 2007
This is a brilliant book and even though I guessed who did it very early on in the book, I still really enjoyed it and I still didn't guess the motive for murder and the motive is one of the reasons I gave it 5 stars because it is a really good one.

A murder is announced in the local paper, claiming that a murder is going to happen in Little Paddocks ( Letitia Blacklock's house ) and lots of baffled people turn up, curious to see what it is all about. At 6:30 the lights went out and a man jumped in with a gun and a flashlight, a few bullets are heard and when the lights came back on, the man with the gun is found dead and Letitia Blacklock injured ( an attempted murder, perhaps ). Later on more murders occur and miss Marple comes along to help inspector Craddock's investigation.

Miss Marple must solve this case out of such clues as the attempted murder of Letitia Blacklock, letters between Letitia and her sister, the identity of two people called Pip and Emma, who would benefit financially out of Letitia's death, and possible witnesses to the crime.

This is a great case and a brilliant read and I highly reccomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who Done It?, 1 Mar. 2008
This book is a great example of a Who Done It book. I guessed very early in the book who it was and in the end, with some great talent, Agatha Christie totally twisted the end. I was appalled. I enjoyed this book very much. There were many murders leading up to the end, when Miss Marple tells the story of how she figured it out, I thought to myself "I never looked at it that way"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Christie at her best, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed the book, haven't read one of hers for years. Was surprised at her style and use of language which now seems so dated, but even that makes for a comforting read. Television rather takes away your own mental pictures of what the scene looks like. Even worse, obviously having watched a Miss Marple story I knew who the murderer was as soon as I started reading the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 7 July 2012
By 
Monday (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first Agatha Christie I've ever read, and it sure as day won't be my last. I was not disappointed. The plot was ingenious and clever, the mystery was perfect, and the writing flawless. All the characters were well-rounded and perfectly presented, and the twists and turns really draw you in. A very, very good book, one I thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A shot in the dark, 5 July 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Murder is Announced (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
'A Murder in Announced' is a Miss Marple murder mystery published in 1950, a bit inaccurately, as Agatha Christie's 50th book. The fifth Marple book is set in the village of Chipping Cleghorn where, one Friday morning, a murder announcement appears in the paper- but it hasn't happened yet! The time (6.30) and address (Little Paddocks) are given. Letitia Blacklock's friends turn up at the house to see what will happen - and, sure enough, at 6.30 the lights go out, there is torchlight and shouting and shots are heard. Miss Blacklock is bleeding and the gunman lies dead on the floor. Dora Bunner lives with her old friend Letitia at Little Paddocks. She recognises the gunman as a receptionist at a local hotel. Inspector Craddock does not know what to make of it, but fortunately Miss Marple is staying nearby and they work together...
There can be few people who don't know the basic plot of this book because it has been dramatized (and repeated) on television so many times. Nevertheless, the book is worth reading as one of Agatha Christie's finest. The usual brilliant and suspenseful plotting keeps us on our toes, with plenty of surprises, twists and turns. Christie was a keen observer of human nature and presents us with some interesting characters. Her prose is adequate - she isn't the talented prose writer that her fellow greats of the Golden Age were - Dorothy L Sayers, Marjorie Allingham and Ngaio Marsh - but her ingenuity is unrivalled. The murderer turns out to be a pretty complex character and one can either decide that Agatha Christie is one shrewd dude about human psychology or take the more cynical view that she followed her frequent practice of writing most of the book, deciding who would be the most surprising killer and then rewriting enough of the story and dropping enough clues into the mix to incriminate that person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious and create suspense, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murder is Announced (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
A great noble with a great mystery and suspense I loved it on of the best noble I had ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Murder Is Announced, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murder is Announced (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent crime novel from Agatha Christie. I had not read this book before and thoroughly enjoyed it.As always you are kept guessing to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Murder Mystery, 22 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murder is Announced (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Good read in typical Christie mode. Lot of characters to keep track of but plot evolves with Miss Marple at the fore. Liked the mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book with a superb plot, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murder is Announced (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Superb book which is not difficult to read. The plot is superb and you will soon be immersed into the world of lies and murder. I would certainly recommend this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Marple, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Murder is Announced (Miss Marple) (Miss Marple Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Miss Marple does it again. This time an advertisement is placed in the local paper informing the villagers of a murder at Little Paddocks, Miss Black lock's house. Many villagers attend, more out of curiosity than anything else. At 6.30pm the lights go out and a masked man bursts in and shouts "stick 'em up". Shots are fired. Nobody can switch the lights on. Eventually lights go back on and a man lay dead with a gun beside him and Mrs Black lock bleeding. Just what happened when those lights went out, and who was the intended victim? All the people there form their own opinion of what happened, but it was dark, so how accurate are they.

Miss Marple comes along just in time to save the day. Good story. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews