Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It may be peculiar, but it's also brilliant
This show is an unusual one that isn't like anything else, being an occasionally surreal political, black comedy-drama. Unlike most shows that were made in the 1980s and which were about life in the 1980s, it hasn't dated as it concentrates on its memorable characters. The story of its creation is a good one and I hope it's true. The writer Andrew Davies opened his post...
Published on 24 Oct 2011 by Blackhorse47

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This wasn't as good as I remembered it
This wasn't as good as I remembered it. Actually the second half was a real turn off and I gave up in desperation.
Published 3 months ago by Pam Pike


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It may be peculiar, but it's also brilliant, 24 Oct 2011
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This show is an unusual one that isn't like anything else, being an occasionally surreal political, black comedy-drama. Unlike most shows that were made in the 1980s and which were about life in the 1980s, it hasn't dated as it concentrates on its memorable characters. The story of its creation is a good one and I hope it's true. The writer Andrew Davies opened his post one morning and found he owed the BBC £17,000. Apparently he'd been paid an advance to write a TV adaptation, but the show had been cancelled and they wanted their money back.

Unfortunately he'd spent the money. So his only hope was to pitch them another idea and, as he worked in a depressing inner-city university, he pitched the idea of a series based in a depressing inner-city university. Surprisingly, it was commissioned. The end result was what sounds like an unpromising format for riveting drama of: life in a doctors' surgery as a metaphor for the state of Britain. Thankfully, it's more entertaining than that sounds. The hero is Doctor Daker, a new recruit to the university's medical staff. He's a painfully shy, naïve idealist who's out of touch with real life because he has this strange notion that doctors are supposed to make sick people better. He arrives without any ambition other than to do a good job, to care for his patients, and to get through the day without embarrassing himself too often. I don't think Peter Davison has ever been better and, to this day, I reckon he's the only actor I've ever seen who has the ability to go bright red with embarrassment.

The show relates how his idealist ways are tested by his fellow doctors, who all have no interest in wasting their time with sick people. The boss of the surgery is the decrepit Old Jock, played gloriously by Graham Crowden, who spends the whole series seemingly at death's door. As a doctor, these days he'd be a walking lawsuit. He's the sort of doctor who'd prescribe a lie down to a patient who's just died and most episodes feature him missing obvious ailments like broken legs and appendicitis. Instead, Jock spends his time plotting against the vice-chancellor Ernest Hemingway, who he's convinced is plotting against him, although in reality the vice-chancellor is a corrupt money-grabber who is more interested in fleecing foreign students. And when he's not ignoring patients and drinking himself to death, he dictates his magnum opus, the sick university, a rambling and incoherent treatise on everything that's wrong in society.

What he should be spending his time on is stopping his subordinates stabbing him in the back. The first of which is Doctor Rose Marie, played by Barbara Flynn. Again I reckon this is her best role. Rose Marie is a radical feminist lesbian who has no interest in doctoring, but who has worked out what's wrong with the world, and that's men. No matter what illness her female patients have, it's the fault of men, and her vulnerable patients are ripe for being converted to her world view.

She's a saint when compared to the final, and best, character in the show, the force of nature that is Bob Buzzard. Played by David Troughton, Bob is a man without a single redeeming factor. He became a doctor for the money and the social standing, and he'd never soil his hands by actually looking at a patient. Instead, Bob spends his time wrestling with his rinky-dinky computer, playing golf, glad-handing pharmaceutical reps and taking backhanders. He's a character whose every line is crass, arrogant and ridiculous and he's one of my favourite characters in anything.

There are several running joke characters, including a fourth wall breaking writer who wakes up one morning to find he owes the BBC £17,000 and who can predict every twist in the story as he's writing a drama series about life in a university surgery. And there's two nuns who are always rooting around in bins, joy-riding and getting drunk. The only weak elements are that the show apparently gave Hugh Grant his first acting role, and Daker's girlfriend in the first series, who is supposed to be arch and witty, but who comes over as annoying. Thankfully she gets replaced in the more surreal series 2 by a more interesting Polish girlfriend.

Sadly, the show's perfection is tarnished by the weak spin-off film set in Poland and featuring Daker's continued adventures riding the European gravy train, but that aside, the 14 episodes of Peculiar Practice are a quirky and original tv series. And for good measure it had a great original theme song sung by Elkie Brooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY peculiar DVD, 23 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
At last the BBC has seen sense and, by popular demand, both series 1 and 2 will now become available. It's a brilliant programme and never seems to have received the plaudits it deserves. Until now, those of us who wanted series 2 have had to view pirated versions - this will no doubt be of the quality one would expect. I urge everyone who never saw the original programme live in the 1980's to splash out and buy the DVD - it's worth every penny and for satirical power, relevance and wit, puts much of TV's current output to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nhs for the future, 12 July 2012
By 
Paul Laker (Littleborough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Feral nuns, mad manipulative Doctors, an American run University driven by profit, this was years ahead of its time. Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 1980's classic, 31 Oct 2011
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I remember this series well from when it first went to air back in 1986. For a long time only the first season was available but here is the complete thing: both series and the rather less interesting spin off set in Poland following the fall of communism.

It is set in a red brick provincial university, perhaps inspired by writer Andrew Davie's own time as a lecturer at the University of Warwick. Academics and students alike are all played to comedic effect by a superb ensemble cast all of whom take to their parts with relish. The second series is somewhat darker and more political than the first but none the less funny for that. All the cast are first rate but Graham Crowden's portrayal of the eccentric and slightly scary Jock McCannon, head of the university medical practice, and Barbara Flynn's man (and woman) eating Dr Rose Marie stand out from the rest.

The series had its origins in Andrew Davies discovering that he owed the BBC £17,000. This was due to him being commissioned and paid to write a BBC TV series that he did not ultimately complete. Season two introduces a character named Ron Rust, a writer who, owes the BBC £17,000 and who is trying to write a comedy set in a university in order to pay it off.

This series also reminds us just how life used to be in universities back in those days when students still had grants and academics were content to have a job for life. Happy days.

I recommend anyone who wants to relive those long lost days or just wishes to enjoy a very funny series that pokes fun at both the introduction of Thatcherism to academia and the fascism of Political Correctness. Oh yes, and don't forget Barbara Flynn, she is worth the price of this box set alone!

Do youyrself a favour and buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great release, but a rip-off if you already have Series 1, 11 Nov 2010
By 
Bob Sherunkle (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
See all the reviews, including mine, praising the DVD of series 1.

Many rate series 2 as even better than series 1. It is much darker and emphasises even more the impact of a market economy approach upon higher education. (This review written during the week of the London demonstrations about student grants!) The set also includes the sequel A Very Polish Practice, which is watchable but not up to the standard of Series 1 and 2.

For all those like me who bought series 1 - grrr. At present the only way to get Series 2 will be to buy this release, thus paying for Series 1 which I already have.

Five stars for quality of content, but four stars from the marketing viewpoint for the deliberate failure to release Series 2 on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Classic, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
We loved this series from the first episode many years ago, and in spite of showing its age in the ways one would expect - clothes, hairstyles, perhaps news and current affairs references, language etc etc - the script, the characters and the acting are timeless and no less brilliant now than they were then. Peter Davies has never been better, nor David Troughton and all the women are superb. It's a classic, the like of which we shall not see again, all the more reason to preserve these treasures on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time too!!!, 3 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. C. L. Stobart "stoey_the_bart" (Northampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I'm not usually one for reviewing a product before it comes out but the one thing I can say here is ABOUT TIME TOO!!!!!

This series was a classic, in spite of antagonists having such unsubtle names as Ernest Hemingway and Jack Daniels.

The BBC re-ran the first series twice. The second series which saw things getting a lot more dark and twisted never saw the light of day as a terrestrial re-run or video release.

But now... we get the whole darn lot. For me this cannot come soon enough.

Bob's breathing space.
Rose's therapy group with everyone giving different names for their 'teapot'.
The fall of J G McCannon MD (quite literally).
Joanna Kanska.

Oh and not forgetting A Very Polish Practice. "Dr Daker of the doggy eyes - you haven't changed a bit!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - buy it!, 2 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Amazing! I was thinking about series 2 the other day when I watched Drop the Dead Donkey and I wondered if they could ever issue the second series. I know there were all sorts of contract problems. This is such good news - anyone who has a smidgeon of interest in how we got where we are in education, health, politics etc just look at this. Yes it's funny but it is brilliant dark satire of a very high order. Do not be out off by the inferior (but populist) stuff that Andrew Davies went on to make - this is the real deal. The first series was good but this second one has everything the 80's had and more - Bob Blizzards depression and gay interlude (honest)as for Rose Marie... Barbara Flynn such a gem. - I had to get a pirated video to see this a second time and I am so pleased to see it out there now.
Last word - buy it and realise why satire is so poor these days!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Peculiar Practice still very brilliant, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
A brilliant black comedy with standout performances from a range of top notch (mainly british)actors. While the main underlying theme is the destruction of the humanist university culture in favour of a user pays right wing one that typified thacher's britain,there are many engaging self contained stories and engrossing romantic arcs, especially in second season.has not lost any of it's bite since first aired 25yrs ago. The spin off A Very Polish Practice not as good and more serious in tone, but worth a look just to see fate of those characters depicted--namely Stephen,Grete and Bob Buzzard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that stands up well 25+ years on, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: A Very Peculiar Practice - The Complete BBC Series - [Network] - [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This program was years ahead of its time, and is one of the best black comedies ever made & screened in the UK. Set around a medical practice at a 'new' university, each doctor is expertly played by the cast. It mixes comedy / politics / great storylines together to make a very peculiar, but very funny show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews