Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans
When this series was originally shown I was an avid fan. I watched Wet Job when it was first broadcast in 1981, and vaguely recall it being a satisfying finale to the series.

For those who fancy a spot of nostalgia it is still very viewable - I was pleased to get the opportunity of seeing it again, and enjoyed every minute. But I have to admit, it has not aged...
Published on 27 April 2011 by R. C. Harris

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One More Job, Please - Shoot The Music Producer
Talk about disappointing: Edward Woodward and Russell Hunter try their best with a dull and predictable 'one last job' script, but are equally lumbered with an extremely annoying music score which forgets that background music should stay in the background and underpin the action (or lack of) on a subliminal level. Not a patch on the original haunting theme...
Published on 1 April 2011 by Mr. P. J. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One More Job, Please - Shoot The Music Producer, 1 April 2011
By 
Mr. P. J. Turner "Captain Lard" (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Talk about disappointing: Edward Woodward and Russell Hunter try their best with a dull and predictable 'one last job' script, but are equally lumbered with an extremely annoying music score which forgets that background music should stay in the background and underpin the action (or lack of) on a subliminal level. Not a patch on the original haunting theme.

There is a nice touch where Callan whips off his glasses and cleans them before going into action before the showdown, but overall he trudges through a mediocre storyline with the grim determination of one paying the bills. Not the way I want to remember Callan or Woodward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tragic, 28 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD]I sat and watched this last night and i cant tell you how much saddness i felt at the end.Callan is for me THE best TV show ever made in this country and i have spent many years getting all the episodes available from various sources until the only one i didnt have was Wet Job which i missed when it was shown as i was on honeymoon and we didnt have a video in those days.So i started watching and was annoyed straightaway because they didnt have the wonderful and atmospheric theme tune but my annoyance soon gave way to incredulity as a dreadful,dull badly written and frankly boring tale unfolded.Woodward was as ever superb but he had nothing to work with,Russel Hunter did his usual great job but the rest of the cast were BAD. Callans old boss Hunter was played like Graham Norton on a bad day,Thorn(Callans replacement) was so wooden he gave off splinters and the rest of the cast were so stagey it was almost funny,only it wasnt it was TRAGIC.What a sad sad end to such a magnifcent series,i could have cried.The only solace i draw from having this is that now my Callan collection is complete but i will never watch this again i will stick to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans, 27 April 2011
By 
R. C. Harris "Eden House" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
When this series was originally shown I was an avid fan. I watched Wet Job when it was first broadcast in 1981, and vaguely recall it being a satisfying finale to the series.

For those who fancy a spot of nostalgia it is still very viewable - I was pleased to get the opportunity of seeing it again, and enjoyed every minute. But I have to admit, it has not aged particularly well and is now noticeably dated. (Fair enough, it is 30 years old!).

The acting style of that period is very `stagey'. Presumably treading the boards is where many of the cast spent their time when not in front of cameras. But that flaw lies with the director. TV drama is now light years ahead in gritty realism.

Whilst the story line is fine, the substance,tension and pace falls short of its predecessor episodes.

The casting of the security section's `heavy' was laughably woeful, never for a moment living up to the supposedly `hard man' label, as he is described by the excellent Lonely,(Russell Hunter). Not a patch on Anthony Valentine's sneering and menacing Toby Meres.

Edward Woodward's middle aged Callan is great, utterly convincing. Press-ganged resentfully back into service, he is very much aware of being over the hill. Possibly his weariness seeps into the movie's ambience?

The background music is dreadful. I don't remember it being as bad as that, maybe it's a casualty of dated technique?

The section head, codenamed `Hunter', is as unpleasant, manipulative and devious as ever. Whilst the seedy headquarters set in the rear of a scrap metal frontage, now appears parochial and stone-age against today's complex electronic offices.

Callan was a series of its time. Overall, I'd recommend Wet Job for fans. The uninitiated would probably be left wondering what on earth we ever saw in the programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the train-wreck that it's made out to be, 4 April 2011
By 
Brian S. (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
To start I will go into a brief background as to how I first met ''Callan'' so to speak. Having been a casual fan of E. Woodward through the somewhat cheesy but fun ''The Equalizer'' I happened upon the armchair theatre pilot for Callan that had been uploaded on Youtube last summer. Having enjoyed it I subsequently worked my way through ''Networks'' DVD releases of Callan in monochrome and colour along with the underrated ''Callan the Movie'' and finally finishing up yesterday with ''Wet Job''.

There were several gem episodes from the 4 series of Callan with most of the rest being above average and then a very small number of duff episodes. ''Wet Job'' is better than the duff ones but falls short of the rest of what came before in my opinion. That said I don't think it's bad - I think it's good but not particularly great in any way. Other reviewers here have given good plot synopsis so I just will counter some of what I deem to be slightly unfair criticisms of ''Wet Job''.

First the lack of the light bulb and the ''Callan - man alone'' theme music. Sure it would have been nice to have had it but given that the original series had been off the air for nearly ten years at the time I can see where they were coming from by trying to make it contemporary and up-to-date(for the time at least). The music that is in the episode on the other hand is overbearing at times but the truth is that that was the style at the time that this was made. Unfortunately 1980's style just hasn't aged as well as the 60's and 70's has.

The obvious studio sets and image quality - To tell the truth the original series was mostly and very obviously studio set bound and particularly in the earlier episodes quite cheap looking. ''Wet Job'' is just more of the same to my eyes. The tape quality is a bit dark and the sound is a little off at times but then again the original series was far from perfect in those respects as well. It's just what was available to the makers given the time that these were produced.

The script - It's not a bad script but it does have the feeling that we have seen it all before with the original series. That said I can't say that I found the pace slow or boring at 90 mins. A problem with the original series is that given it's shorter run time some episodes took their time with their stories only to have to tie it all up far too fast and often confusingly in the last two minutes.

The supporting cast - Overall not bad. Some of the supports are a little wooden but to be honest this was the same with the original series in some cases. As with the 1974 movie version a different actress plays Hunters secretary ''Liz''.

To sum up I can't agree with the general consensus that ''Wet Job'' is terrible. It's good but nothing special. It probably would have been wiser to have left Callan in retirement but having said that if you like ''Callan'' then this is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Epitaph, 19 Nov 2011
By 
Paul Pickles (huddersfield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Having bought every episode of the TV series available and having neen a fan of Callan since it was first broadcast I feel qualified to comment on Wet Job.
Like the film'Callan',Wet Job is a welcome extension to the Callan family but it is equally not made to same quality as the TV series.
The Callan in this later episode is still recognisable as our old 'friend' but after that the programme fails to live up to it's heritage.Lonely is sadly misused and feels like an afterthought in the storyine.Why the character of Liz is still maintained without Lisa Langdon in place is very disappointing.No-one could believe that character after watching the TV episodes.That was very poor production.
Overall for Callan fans I feel it is worth watching but like the film version it does not hit the right notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One last Callan..., 26 April 2011
By 
P. Townshend (Adelaide Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Finally 'Wet Job' is released on DVD &, in my opinion, worth the wait. I know this has been criticised in the past for being slow, not gripping enough, the characters were too different, the story unengaging etc... but I found it excellent.
Edward Woodward, it seems, could not put in a poor performance. His Callan of 10 years on is what you'd expect - a happier, more content person out of the Section with his own business & love life, but with that familiar undercurrent of menace.
Russell Hunter as Lonely was very welcome - a more confident man who had finally found his own niche in life & didn't want Callan messing with it & was prepared to stand up to him to get his way.
Woodward & Hunter's chemistry on screen was magical.
The story itself was interesting, with all the twists & turns of the original series. George Sewell was excellent as the (non) protaganist. You never quite knew which way he was going to go.
Hugh Walters was an excellent Hunter, a good replacement to the superb William Squire. Appearing urbane & friendly & frustrated at having to use Callan & wishing he didn't have to, only for him to be shown as a master manipulator just like earlier Hunters.
All in all - an excellent send-off to an excellent series. All we can hope for is the missing episodes from series 1 & 2 one day emerge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For the Completist Only, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
This has been a much sought-after item for fans of the excellent spy series, CALLAN, and, while I'm glad to have it released officially (with the quality much-improved over anything previously available), I fear that many fans of the groundbreaking series will be disappointed with this 'reunion' show once the first blush has faded.

Without giving any spoilers, this teleplay, despite having been written by series creator James Mitchell, suffers from the same syndrome as Mitchell's literary excursions with his creations; he doesn't seem to know his own characters, and how they should behave.

There are certain elements of the original series that creep in, but for the most part, it's little more than a pale shadow of its predecessor.

Still, despite the failings of this piece, the late, ever-great Edward Woodward and his long-suffering foil, Russell Hunter, are both incapable of turning in anything short of bravura. This fact alone makes this DVD worth the price of purchase.

It's also interesting to note that 'WET JOB' seems to be a natural transition for EW into his US debut series, 'THE EQUALISER'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seedy world we don't see, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Yet another superb Woodward performance as the sad & brooding soul whose job is to keep our way of life possible. The DVD is exactly as I remember the original programme with no obvious cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fitting ending, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Read lots of different reviews before I bought this film. some good some mediocre some downright awful. It comes down to expectations and what you want from the film. If you want the haunting theme tune and the swinging light...it is not there except the light makes an appearance on the DVD menu. If you want a deep and meaningful storyline then dissappointment again. Shakesperian acting not there either except in the one area that the film excels. Edward Woodwood is superb in the lead role and does not miss a beat in the character neither does Russell Hunter as his sidekick "Lonely". The depth of the relationship between these central characters is laid out for all to see and it is this that makes the film a must see even though there are a lot of flaws that need to be overlooked. Callan started as an "Armchair Theatre" production and it ends using the same style. If you enjoyed Callan at the beginning you will like Callan at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Callan, the completer video, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a completer, having recently purchased the two boxed sets of Callan. Its a fine episode although it is a reshooting of the first Callan story first done in black and white. The change of some of the key actors - a new Hunter and no Valentine, is a shame but the story still manages to develop that glorious misery and existential crisis that makes the whole of the Callan universe something grimly wonderful. It is the European feel of the whole project that I admire. All of Callan connects the England of the sixties and seventies with the Cold War reality of Europe. It resists the reflex of much British writing that ignores Britain's link to the rest of the world. It also seems to be infused with philosophical thought that understands Sartre and Camus and the lonely alienated people struggling to make sense of a world with little hope, little happiness and an overriding presence of dread. Hell really is other people throughout, and there's always the sense that Callan would really always love just be left alone. Being constantly dragged reluctantly back into a world he despises and which despises him, its a world that many can identify with. The predicament is not between the good and the bad because the moral universe of Callan is too dark to allow for such an easy formula. As always, it is the crisis of morality and existance that confronts the characters in these dramas, and it isn't just Callan who is rounded enough to be understood in these terms. What I like is that it is class conscious and able to give each character a sense of moral complexity that is rare in much tv and film genre drama. I also love the writing which is better than Pinter at times, certainly as good as it. It reminds you that what is sometimes portrayed as literary avant garde writing was happening on tv week in and week out. Public Eye is another case in point - and if you like Callan then get hold of some of the later Public Eye boxed sets - they're pretty reasonable and beautifully written and acted. Another morally ambiguous, abject and haunted character working through the terrors of mundane and seedy existence at about the same time as Callan. Of Callan and the Pinter connection, what you notice is the use of silence, stillness and those long pauses where everything is happening in front of you but is invisible, its an extraordinary achievement. Great performances even on creaky sets! Brilliant stuff.The extras in this particular CD are ok - a long rather rambling interview with Woodward, but its the drama that is fantastic - not the best but hugely enjoyable all the same. If you're just starting I wouldn't start here - go to the black and white world first - you will get the full immersion in that boxed set and everything will become clear after that! You'll want this, but afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD]
Callan - Wet Job [1981] [DVD] by Shaun O'Riordan (DVD - 2011)
7.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews