Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent High Quality Oil For A bargain Price
Bought this when it was on offer for £28.99, for my Saab 93 yr 2000 oil change which was due in March, just done, and before i changed oil and ran engine up to temp, noise from engine was i thought normal, however after using this oil it is now much more quiet and when driving a lot smoother with more acceleration,
Highly recommend but disappointed the cheapest I...
Published on 7 Mar. 2013 by ray goodwin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars love castrol, hate royal mail
Good product. Always use castrol on all my cars, unfortunately was shipped with the royal mail and was delayed by a month. Apparently was inspected as they thought it contained "restricted goods"
Published 1 month ago by Duncan B.


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent High Quality Oil For A bargain Price, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castrol EDGE 5W-30 4L (Automotive)
Bought this when it was on offer for £28.99, for my Saab 93 yr 2000 oil change which was due in March, just done, and before i changed oil and ran engine up to temp, noise from engine was i thought normal, however after using this oil it is now much more quiet and when driving a lot smoother with more acceleration,
Highly recommend but disappointed the cheapest I can find is now £31.99,
Will be using it from now on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castrol EDGE 5W-30 4L (Automotive)
Have used this oil for my last 2 annual services, me supplying it to my mechanic, and it has done everything I would have wanted. While the car doesn't run for more than 6000 - 7500 miles a year, at least 2500 - 3000 of these are crammed into a fortnight abroad on French and Swiss motorways. Never a problem despite this rather extreme use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality RX8 Engine Oil, 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castrol EDGE 5W-30 1L (Automotive)
I brought this oil for my Mazda RX8 because getting the right oil is essential for this type of car. This is a high quality oil that has kept my engine running smoothly with the regular top-ups that this car requires. This 1 litre bottle is useful to keep in the boot of the car for longer journeys or hard drives to make sure the engine is never without oil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for money !, 20 May 2014
By 
Mrs. Carol Dennis (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THis was the grade of oil recommended by BMW for my car and the delivered price was much cheaper and more convenient than buying it from a garage or from a local distributor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Castrol Edge, 5 Nov. 2012
By 
Martin Fawkes (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Castrol Edge is the latest oil with fluid technology. It was recommended for my TDI Golf on a 10 plate so I know its the best.
Don't compromise on engine oil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VW specified for my car., 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castrol EDGE 5W-30 4L (Automotive)
There are other oils which meet the VW spec but this was the one which VW recommended when I bought the car 70,000 miles ago so I have stuck with it. It usually sells at a premium, but on this occasion it was more reasonable so I bought 4 x 4L. Quick free delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This oil is tops, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castrol EDGE 5W-30 4L (Automotive)
I purchased this oil for an oil change in a Mercedes B class and found it a first class product coupled with the use of a sump pump it became an easy job to change both oil and oil filter, the job was completed in 45 mins with no spill or splash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars love castrol, hate royal mail, 10 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castrol EDGE 5W-30 4L (Automotive)
Good product. Always use castrol on all my cars, unfortunately was shipped with the royal mail and was delayed by a month. Apparently was inspected as they thought it contained "restricted goods"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent price for Audi servicing, 24 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castrol EDGE 5W-30 4L (Automotive)
Audi wanted to charge me £75 for the oil on my first A1 service. I ordered Castrol Edge's compatible oil and it arrived 2 days later at half the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Castrol EDGE FST 5W-30 Synthetic Engine Oil - 4L Bottle, 10 Aug. 2014
By 
P. Ward (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Castrol EDGE 5W-30 4L (Automotive)
I bought this oil, as Castrol is still generally considered a premium brand, despite Castrol's Court shenanigans which won them the right to claim that another of their oils is "synthetic", when most people would consider it to be "semi-synthetic" (the outcome was influenced more by semantics, than any justifiable claim regarding chemical composition).
However, there is no doubt as to the status of this "top-of-the-range" fully-synthetic oil. For the price, I could not find any comparable oil anywhere else.
Amazon's price fluctuations puzzled me though. I monitored the price for several days and it was always cheapest in the morning/early afternoon, then would rise significantly before falling back to the original price the next morning!
So if this is still happening, buy it in the morning and save a few quid. As the old saying goes "the early bird catches the bargain-priced fully synthetic oil" (if I've remembered it correctly!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Castrol EDGE 5W-30 1L
£6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews