Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (160)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Deer
Bambi by today's standards of scripting and animation can all too easily be dismissed as a naïve, cutesy Disney standard from a bygone era. However, it survives as a master class in animated film, a major influence on all that came after it, and without any doubt a masterpiece of its time. To demonstrate, here are the three major ingredients in an animated film -...
Published on 4 May 2006 by riteofspring

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GERMAN EDITION!!
The actual film can be played in English, but the cover and the default language is German.
I would not recommend if you want a "true" Bambi DVD.
Published 20 months ago by Sarah Short


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Deer, 4 May 2006
Bambi by today's standards of scripting and animation can all too easily be dismissed as a naïve, cutesy Disney standard from a bygone era. However, it survives as a master class in animated film, a major influence on all that came after it, and without any doubt a masterpiece of its time. To demonstrate, here are the three major ingredients in an animated film - animation, story and music...

The animation is flawless, the character design impeccable, the backgrounds works of art. The fire, water and snow effects today would be credited to a Pentium Processor near you, but in Bambi's day were all lovingly crafted by pen and brush, and stand up admirably in direct comparison. The dreamlike variation of shades to convey moods and emotions is yet more artistic insight that soon became the norm.

Bambi's narrative might seem simple and linear today, but the basic values have been recycled by many modern animated classics. A young creature, son of the king, loses a parent, falls in love with a childhood friend, survives a fire in his homeland before rising to the top, fathering the next generation and completing the circle of life. Replace the B with an S and transpose the vowels... fluke? I think not.

Finally, and this is what is most criminally overlooked about Bambi, the music is utterly beautiful. It is quite possibly the best soundtrack in any Disney film. Disney regulars Plumb and Churchill and have made some wonderful music but this must be some of the best and most credible in its own right. If you like Tchaikovsy, it is worth buying this film just for the music; maybe even Stravinsky-lite by the end. The songs interspersing the orchestral score are truly uplifting and memorable - try getting April Showers out of your head in a hurry. The icing on the cake is the immaculate synchronisation with the animation, the way every note coincides with a footfall, a tail wag, a drop of rain; it must have been a painstaking labour of love.

Once you have collected all the Fliks, Nemos, Sullys and Woodys of this world on DVD, don't forget spare a few bob for dear old Bambi. This disc, with typically convincing Special Edition extras, is the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bambi, 19 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first time I saw this film as a child I cried. 25 years on, watching it for the second time, I cried again. Such is the beauty and power of Walt Disney's classic film which is, without a doubt, a masterpiece. The animation is wonderful (in the days before computers), the animals adorable and the music moving. Walt Disney was able to portray the life of a deer in the forest in such a simple, yet truly touching way, that it parallels the lives of us all growing up and learning about good and bad. One picture very clear from the film is how we, mankind, are seen to be destructive and outside of nature (you will see how well Disney showed this by change of music, colour and words such as "Man...has entered the forest"). But... nature always wins in the end. Watch, enjoy and hopefully be moved by Disney's magical masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're never too old to cry, 31 Mar 2005
By A Customer
No matter how tough or cold hearted you are this movie is bound to touch you in some way. Cute cuddly characters that make you laugh (A macho rabbit, A skunk with a little bit of gender confusion and a naive deer). Each character brings something to the film but when making this film disney had no idea how many issues they would touch upon. It deals with the problems of growing up and dealing with loss. It also shows us the implication that hunting has from Bambi's point of view. The film is about survival and carrying on in the face of such devestating tragedy when he loses his mother at a young age. The DVD is brilliant under special features you even get a sneak peek at the new bambi film which carries on from when Bambi and his father dissapear into the snow filled trees. This is one of the best DVD's ever and if it's possible it's even better now than it was when it came out on VHS. Bambi is the most amazing creation ever and I am grateful to the person who came up with this concept. This film still has the power to make me cry. If you haven't bought it yet i suggest you do so immediately as it will be the most important film you ever own. The best film ever made period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bambi " - My Favorite Film As A Kid - Magically Restored!, 2 April 2005
Of all the animated films I saw as a child, "Bambi" was my favorite. It still is. Disney studios released this artistically advanced classic in 1942. It runs just under 70 minutes. Of course everyone remembers, vividly, the traumatic scene when Bambi, the young fawn, loses his mother to a hunter's bullet. This probably marks the place where many of us cried for the first time during a movie. Although this particular sequence is powerful and somewhat heavy, I was comforted by my mom, and remember laughing, soon afterward, as I watched Bambi at play, with rabbit sidekick, Thumper, and skunk friend Flower. Children seem to intuitively understand the depth and range of this story, which runs the gamut from parental love, loss, grief, survival, friendship and loyalty to the balance of nature and the cycle of life.
This is one of Disney's most emotive movies - one where the viewer is drawn in by the storyline, and loveable characters, great voice acting, gorgeous visual effects and, of course, the music. Along with the wonderful tale of that first year in Bambi's life, where he learns to live on his own, the impressionist style artistic and orchestral representations of the four seasons are brilliant. Nature's beauty is really captured here. Examining the visuals closely, the detailed depiction of reality, now so common with computer animation, is replaced here by suggestion - of light, color, form, patterns - just like a painting.
As with other platinum edition DVD sets, ("Snow White," "Beauty and the Beast"), this set is an assembled mix of restored and digitally re-mastered classic animation with digital extras. Additional commentary from those present during the film's creation, as well as vintage footage has been included also.
The second disc contains a veritable plethora of bonus and historical information grouped into three headings: Deleted Scenes, Games & Activities, and Backstage Disney. Backstage Disney is the segment I like best, which includes: "The Making of Bambi: A Prince is Born;" "The Art of Bambi," showcasing a large quantity of production and character study stills, color keys, and backgrounds - fabulous artwork; "Restoring Bambi," reveals the enormous amount of work involved in restoring the aging film; as well as "Tricks of the Trade," and "The Old Mill," an animated short.
Bambi is a touching film, beautiful to look at and listen to, for children of all ages. You'll want to watch this heartwarming favorite over and over again.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bambi's back and better than ever!, 25 July 2007
You'd have to have a heart of stone not to fall for Bambi. For me, it's Walt's crowning achievement, and when I watch it today, it still gives the same feeling of nostalgia as it did when I was six years old. In fact, I find even more thought-provoking than I did when I was a child.

But what is it that makes Bambi stand out for me? There's magic here alright, but not the fairy magic like in so many other Disney films. There's humans, but they never appear on screen. I think that I was captivated by the way the musicians, the animators and the artwork all become synchronised, like the natural sounds of a real forest. What makes Bambi so wonderful is the feel of being so close to nature. During the scene where it starts to rain, we see Bambi's fascination with the little raindrops. As each little drop lands softly on something, we hear a little note from the orchestra. It is just so well synchronised, and it shows just how much love and dedication was put into it.

Also, Bambi flawlessly flips from mood to mood. We watch a scene that is sad, dark and melancholy. It all fades to black, and we are greeted with something light hearted, colourful and joyful. In many other films, something like that would stick out like a sore thumb, but somehow, in an almost magic way, that does not happen with Bambi.

What really annoys me is when I see people bash Bambi and call it 'anti-hunting pro-PETA trash.' I'm sure that when Walt Disney made this, he had nothing of the sort in mind. It also annoys me when I see people making a big deal out of one of the most touching and heartbreaking scenes in Bambi. (you know the one I'm talking about!) Sure, it's a poignant scene, but it is also only one tiny fraction of the actual film. So why must people take the Mick out of it, if there is no Mick to take? (That doesn't sound right!)

As you can see, I adore this classic. So therefore, I'm overjoyed at how much care Disney has put into this Special Edition. There's plenty of extras here, from games for the young (and young at heart!) to information on how Bambi was made and filmed. We also have the original theatrical trailer (boy has it aged!) and there's a beautiful little short called the Old Mill, amongst lots of other stuff.
Also, the film has been cleaned up and remastered so now we are seeing Bambi as it might have looked when it first came out. The picture quality is a real improvement over my old video tape.

So what are you waiting for? Get this now, before Disney locks it up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your mother can't be with you any more, 5 Jan 2008
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Designed in the Disney hay-day of great movies like "Fantasia" and "Song of the South" this shows what animation and great music was and could be now with a little effort.

The story which is a little easer to take than the book chronicles the life of a young prince "Bambi" his friends and how he grew and matured. He transforms through many rights of passage and takes his place in the forest society.

The down side of the story is the demise of Bambi's mother which though innovative for the time traumatized many children. To this day you hear it is a classic "but I can not bring my self to watch it." How ever this presentation is more of a symphony based on the characters from the story in the Disney tradition.

Many of the uncredited voices were of famous people; many of them were famous after this film was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie is Region A/B/C so, yes, viewable on US BD players!, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This refers to the Diamond Edition Double-Play BD of Bambi, which includes the DVD version.

I haven't popped this in to watch it yet, but it's a familiar movie, so I look forward to loving it all over again.

I wanted to let people know that the BLU RAY film is region coded for A/B/C, so it is viewable on US blu-ray players!!!

However, the DVD version is coded for region 2/4/5 and will only work on your DVD player (or BD player), if the player is region-free or multi-region. (I popped that disc into the computer to confirm this)

I paid a total of GBP21.06 for Bambi and single-disc Diamond Edition of The Lion King, including shipping ($31.xx). (There was a two Disney BD for GBP16.99 special running).

UPDATE 18 June 2014: Film plays beautifully on my Region A, US BD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Major Junior Tear-jerker, 28 July 2003
By 
Mr. M. J. Gamble "MotherGoose" (Sussex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this movie when it was first released. There's no doubt it visits the interaction between members of the family circle extremely well. Bambi, a fawn, is seen through his life-cycle from baby to full adult and through the major traumas he experiences - including the loss of his father in the forest fire. Here the magic of Disney is seen at its best. I can thoroughly recommend this movie. Better than Dumbo (in my opinion) but then Dumbo fans will surely disagree. You'll really like the music - you probably already know some of it without realising its source.However DO see this one. My VHS copy is now worn out and I'm waiting anxiously for the DVD to hit the shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diamond Edition Blu-Ray Special Features, 26 Jun 2014
For anyone who's a Special Features geek like myself!

Movie with Introduction by Diane Disney Miller
Movie with Disneyview
Movie with Inside Walt's Story Meetings

Backstage Disney: Diamond Edition
- Bambi: Inside Walt's Story Meetings
- Deleted Scenes: Two Leaves & Bambi Stuck on a Reed
- Deleted Song: Twitterpated
- Bambi Interactive Galleries

Family Play
- Disney's Big Book of Knowledge: Bambi Edition

Classic DVD Bonus Features
- Deleted Scenes: Winter Grass & Bambi's First Snow
- The Making of Bambi: A Prince is Born
- Tricks of the Trade
- Inside the Disney Archives
- "The Old Mill" Animated Short
- Original Theatrical Trailer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Original Circle of Life, 9 Feb 2011
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Historically, there is a certain charm that Bambi holds since it was the last film of the so-called 'Golden Age' of Disney animation, released in 1942 to widespread acclaim. By this point, we see many of the studios loyal animators hitting a new level of confidence in their beautiful renderings of nature - hitting a fine line that Disney always strived to achieve; "realistic fantasy". And this is to be expected after studying the creatures first-hand, in the studio! But in a word, Bambi beautiful. More-so than any release before (VHS/DVD), it can reduce a grown man like myself to tears for its sheer artist perfection.

Of all the five 'Golden Age' films, Bambi is significant in being labelled, often harshly, as a beautiful-snore, since its calm and often gentle pace is only countered by lush artwork. Personally, I think the term sounds negative, but then again only the patience of the viewer can determine how much action and dialogue is required. Given Bambi neither strives to be an action film nor a laugh-a-minute, it is a venture that holds sincerity that we so-miss today.

As referred in the title, Bambi really was the original 'circle of life'. We have nothing more than a journey throughout all the realities of nature: birth and death throughout both creatures and seasons. On one level, the harsh reality of nature that is depicted in Bambi would be too daring for the modern Disney to reproduce - perhaps even so much that this product has an edit in it. The removal of the line "Man took her away" (following "Your mother can't be with you anymore") signals that the P.C brigade feel we shouldn't be shedding bad light on human beings. Our 'darling' children might get confused, afterall...

Although the soundtrack throughout Bambi is integral to the general structure of the narrative, the standout scene is no-doubt "Little April Showers", in which the sweet protagonist watches rainfall in synchronisation with the most beautiful song of the film, and arguably, one of the best of the Golden Age. Significantly, it was one of the first major uses of collective vocal recordings and is completely original in its ability to mimic the delicate nature of water falling.

As-per-usual, the Lowry restoration is completely flawless. Backgrounds are scrubbed and reveal the most delicate water-colour work I've ever seen in a traditional animation. Likewise, the cel animation reveals gorgeous line work (as well as new line work I have never even noticed before on Bambi himself) and finally the correct colour timing, which as with every Lowry restoration, 'completes' the original experience, and gives the film that rich Technicolor glow that is simply unique to the first five Disney films.

In fact, when one views many of the original character Cels in the 'Interactive Art Gallery', we see that the Technicolor production process brightened these purposefully darker images so that, once photographed, they became the intended colours. Genius!

On the topic of Extra Features, we would expect such a Diamond Edition (marketing tool for Disney's most prestige titles, which makes one wonder why Fantasia was left out...) to be packed to the brim with all kinds of wonderful documents. Unfortunately, it does NOT contain 3 discs as-have previous Diamond Editions and Platinum Editions. Rather, Bambi is the first Diamond release to have just 2 Discs - 1 a Blu-Ray (Film and Extra Features), and a DVD (Film). This is most likely because the unfortunate lack of extras could fit onto the Film disc. Hopefully this doesn't become a future trend, but given that even Disney B.D Live isn't an option on the main menu, I'm more than baffled at how even their 'Special Editions' have sometimes had more features/options.

One possibility (just briefly) is that Disney are simply releasing too many titles for their own good per-year. Since Blu-Ray is a relatively new format thats taken off, the company is taking every step to rush out as many releases as they can, but obviously at the compromise of recording less content for each release. This means that, apart from a daft commercial for the Walt Disney Family Museum, many of the latest products have had little 'new' extra content, and perhaps to save money, they've skimped on an extra Blu-Ray disc for both Fantasia and now Bambi.

The product also contains no up-coming trailers. Very odd for a Disney film!

Regardless, Bambi is a true classic of Disney story telling that, whilst may be slow-paced for some, ultimately offers a higher degree of heart and realism than the studio have released in a very long time. What it lacks in action and gags makes up for in a genuine beauty that has possibly never been surpassed in its appreciation of nature, and the way that humans overlook other circles of life. It took almost 5 years of research, planning and development just to produce, and the resulting product is a treasure that teaches a definitive moral; life can arrive and leave, but it will always return. The Diamond Edition is a welcome arrival, and although continuing the trend of little new documentation on disc, the film is a significant improvement over its previous restoration.

5 Stars for the film, 4 Stars for the product.

Tom Cat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bambi  [DVD]
Bambi [DVD] by David Hand (DVD - 2013)
£11.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews