Customer Reviews


321 Reviews
5 star:
 (270)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Deer
Bambi by today's standards of scripting and animation can all too easily be dismissed as a naïve, cutesy Disney standard from a bygone era. However, it survives as a master class in animated film, a major influence on all that came after it, and without any doubt a masterpiece of its time. To demonstrate, here are the three major ingredients in an animated film -...
Published on 4 May 2006 by riteofspring

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GERMAN EDITION!!
The actual film can be played in English, but the cover and the default language is German.
I would not recommend if you want a "true" Bambi DVD.
Published on 31 Jan. 2013 by Sarah Short


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Deer, 4 May 2006
Bambi by today's standards of scripting and animation can all too easily be dismissed as a naïve, cutesy Disney standard from a bygone era. However, it survives as a master class in animated film, a major influence on all that came after it, and without any doubt a masterpiece of its time. To demonstrate, here are the three major ingredients in an animated film - animation, story and music...

The animation is flawless, the character design impeccable, the backgrounds works of art. The fire, water and snow effects today would be credited to a Pentium Processor near you, but in Bambi's day were all lovingly crafted by pen and brush, and stand up admirably in direct comparison. The dreamlike variation of shades to convey moods and emotions is yet more artistic insight that soon became the norm.

Bambi's narrative might seem simple and linear today, but the basic values have been recycled by many modern animated classics. A young creature, son of the king, loses a parent, falls in love with a childhood friend, survives a fire in his homeland before rising to the top, fathering the next generation and completing the circle of life. Replace the B with an S and transpose the vowels... fluke? I think not.

Finally, and this is what is most criminally overlooked about Bambi, the music is utterly beautiful. It is quite possibly the best soundtrack in any Disney film. Disney regulars Plumb and Churchill and have made some wonderful music but this must be some of the best and most credible in its own right. If you like Tchaikovsy, it is worth buying this film just for the music; maybe even Stravinsky-lite by the end. The songs interspersing the orchestral score are truly uplifting and memorable - try getting April Showers out of your head in a hurry. The icing on the cake is the immaculate synchronisation with the animation, the way every note coincides with a footfall, a tail wag, a drop of rain; it must have been a painstaking labour of love.

Once you have collected all the Fliks, Nemos, Sullys and Woodys of this world on DVD, don't forget spare a few bob for dear old Bambi. This disc, with typically convincing Special Edition extras, is the one to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifull and moving, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Bambi" is one of the most beautifull and sophisticated Disney movie- but also has a valid apeal to Young kids who can follow the actions and images as there's very Little dialouge.
The animation is stunning- probably the most well drawn Disney movie along with Snow White and Sleeping Beauty. The score is lush, draws you in and breaks your Heart several times as human beings destroy the lives of the forest animals. I think we could all learn alot about the impact humans have on nature from "Bambi". This was the first movie I ever watched- and I do believe it taught me about nature, animals and how we are all equally allowed to be on this planet.

The blu ray transfer is fantastic- as I own the original dvd release I tried putting it on afterwards and the difference was incredible. Another impressive blu ray release from Disney- of an even more impressive and beautifull movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bambi, 19 Nov. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first time I saw this film as a child I cried. 25 years on, watching it for the second time, I cried again. Such is the beauty and power of Walt Disney's classic film which is, without a doubt, a masterpiece. The animation is wonderful (in the days before computers), the animals adorable and the music moving. Walt Disney was able to portray the life of a deer in the forest in such a simple, yet truly touching way, that it parallels the lives of us all growing up and learning about good and bad. One picture very clear from the film is how we, mankind, are seen to be destructive and outside of nature (you will see how well Disney showed this by change of music, colour and words such as "Man...has entered the forest"). But... nature always wins in the end. Watch, enjoy and hopefully be moved by Disney's magical masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You're never too old to cry, 31 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
No matter how tough or cold hearted you are this movie is bound to touch you in some way. Cute cuddly characters that make you laugh (A macho rabbit, A skunk with a little bit of gender confusion and a naive deer). Each character brings something to the film but when making this film disney had no idea how many issues they would touch upon. It deals with the problems of growing up and dealing with loss. It also shows us the implication that hunting has from Bambi's point of view. The film is about survival and carrying on in the face of such devestating tragedy when he loses his mother at a young age. The DVD is brilliant under special features you even get a sneak peek at the new bambi film which carries on from when Bambi and his father dissapear into the snow filled trees. This is one of the best DVD's ever and if it's possible it's even better now than it was when it came out on VHS. Bambi is the most amazing creation ever and I am grateful to the person who came up with this concept. This film still has the power to make me cry. If you haven't bought it yet i suggest you do so immediately as it will be the most important film you ever own. The best film ever made period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Original Circle of Life, 9 Feb. 2011
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Historically, there is a certain charm that Bambi holds since it was the last film of the so-called 'Golden Age' of Disney animation, released in 1942 to widespread acclaim. By this point, we see many of the studios loyal animators hitting a new level of confidence in their beautiful renderings of nature - hitting a fine line that Disney always strived to achieve; "realistic fantasy". And this is to be expected after studying the creatures first-hand, in the studio! But in a word, Bambi beautiful. More-so than any release before (VHS/DVD), it can reduce a grown man like myself to tears for its sheer artist perfection.

Of all the five 'Golden Age' films, Bambi is significant in being labelled, often harshly, as a beautiful-snore, since its calm and often gentle pace is only countered by lush artwork. Personally, I think the term sounds negative, but then again only the patience of the viewer can determine how much action and dialogue is required. Given Bambi neither strives to be an action film nor a laugh-a-minute, it is a venture that holds sincerity that we so-miss today.

As referred in the title, Bambi really was the original 'circle of life'. We have nothing more than a journey throughout all the realities of nature: birth and death throughout both creatures and seasons. On one level, the harsh reality of nature that is depicted in Bambi would be too daring for the modern Disney to reproduce - perhaps even so much that this product has an edit in it. The removal of the line "Man took her away" (following "Your mother can't be with you anymore") signals that the P.C brigade feel we shouldn't be shedding bad light on human beings. Our 'darling' children might get confused, afterall...

Although the soundtrack throughout Bambi is integral to the general structure of the narrative, the standout scene is no-doubt "Little April Showers", in which the sweet protagonist watches rainfall in synchronisation with the most beautiful song of the film, and arguably, one of the best of the Golden Age. Significantly, it was one of the first major uses of collective vocal recordings and is completely original in its ability to mimic the delicate nature of water falling.

As-per-usual, the Lowry restoration is completely flawless. Backgrounds are scrubbed and reveal the most delicate water-colour work I've ever seen in a traditional animation. Likewise, the cel animation reveals gorgeous line work (as well as new line work I have never even noticed before on Bambi himself) and finally the correct colour timing, which as with every Lowry restoration, 'completes' the original experience, and gives the film that rich Technicolor glow that is simply unique to the first five Disney films.

In fact, when one views many of the original character Cels in the 'Interactive Art Gallery', we see that the Technicolor production process brightened these purposefully darker images so that, once photographed, they became the intended colours. Genius!

On the topic of Extra Features, we would expect such a Diamond Edition (marketing tool for Disney's most prestige titles, which makes one wonder why Fantasia was left out...) to be packed to the brim with all kinds of wonderful documents. Unfortunately, it does NOT contain 3 discs as-have previous Diamond Editions and Platinum Editions. Rather, Bambi is the first Diamond release to have just 2 Discs - 1 a Blu-Ray (Film and Extra Features), and a DVD (Film). This is most likely because the unfortunate lack of extras could fit onto the Film disc. Hopefully this doesn't become a future trend, but given that even Disney B.D Live isn't an option on the main menu, I'm more than baffled at how even their 'Special Editions' have sometimes had more features/options.

One possibility (just briefly) is that Disney are simply releasing too many titles for their own good per-year. Since Blu-Ray is a relatively new format thats taken off, the company is taking every step to rush out as many releases as they can, but obviously at the compromise of recording less content for each release. This means that, apart from a daft commercial for the Walt Disney Family Museum, many of the latest products have had little 'new' extra content, and perhaps to save money, they've skimped on an extra Blu-Ray disc for both Fantasia and now Bambi.

The product also contains no up-coming trailers. Very odd for a Disney film!

Regardless, Bambi is a true classic of Disney story telling that, whilst may be slow-paced for some, ultimately offers a higher degree of heart and realism than the studio have released in a very long time. What it lacks in action and gags makes up for in a genuine beauty that has possibly never been surpassed in its appreciation of nature, and the way that humans overlook other circles of life. It took almost 5 years of research, planning and development just to produce, and the resulting product is a treasure that teaches a definitive moral; life can arrive and leave, but it will always return. The Diamond Edition is a welcome arrival, and although continuing the trend of little new documentation on disc, the film is a significant improvement over its previous restoration.

5 Stars for the film, 4 Stars for the product.

Tom Cat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bambi " - My Favorite Film As A Kid - Magically Restored!, 2 April 2005
Of all the animated films I saw as a child, "Bambi" was my favorite. It still is. Disney studios released this artistically advanced classic in 1942. It runs just under 70 minutes. Of course everyone remembers, vividly, the traumatic scene when Bambi, the young fawn, loses his mother to a hunter's bullet. This probably marks the place where many of us cried for the first time during a movie. Although this particular sequence is powerful and somewhat heavy, I was comforted by my mom, and remember laughing, soon afterward, as I watched Bambi at play, with rabbit sidekick, Thumper, and skunk friend Flower. Children seem to intuitively understand the depth and range of this story, which runs the gamut from parental love, loss, grief, survival, friendship and loyalty to the balance of nature and the cycle of life.
This is one of Disney's most emotive movies - one where the viewer is drawn in by the storyline, and loveable characters, great voice acting, gorgeous visual effects and, of course, the music. Along with the wonderful tale of that first year in Bambi's life, where he learns to live on his own, the impressionist style artistic and orchestral representations of the four seasons are brilliant. Nature's beauty is really captured here. Examining the visuals closely, the detailed depiction of reality, now so common with computer animation, is replaced here by suggestion - of light, color, form, patterns - just like a painting.
As with other platinum edition DVD sets, ("Snow White," "Beauty and the Beast"), this set is an assembled mix of restored and digitally re-mastered classic animation with digital extras. Additional commentary from those present during the film's creation, as well as vintage footage has been included also.
The second disc contains a veritable plethora of bonus and historical information grouped into three headings: Deleted Scenes, Games & Activities, and Backstage Disney. Backstage Disney is the segment I like best, which includes: "The Making of Bambi: A Prince is Born;" "The Art of Bambi," showcasing a large quantity of production and character study stills, color keys, and backgrounds - fabulous artwork; "Restoring Bambi," reveals the enormous amount of work involved in restoring the aging film; as well as "Tricks of the Trade," and "The Old Mill," an animated short.
Bambi is a touching film, beautiful to look at and listen to, for children of all ages. You'll want to watch this heartwarming favorite over and over again.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bambi Diamond Edition, 7 Jun. 2011
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As far as the film goes this is one of Disneys true classics. A heartwarming coming of age tale, the artwork is breathtaking for 1942 and the characters, music and story make this a film not to be missed.

The picture quality on Bluray is excellent but sadly for the Disney Diamond Edition range the special features are few and far between for such a pivotal film and also considering that their is no second Bluray disc for special features as all Diamond Editions have had so far.

In short the film is excellent and worth having in your collection but Disney have really fallen short on the special features this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Bambi is heavenly in superb new print., 29 Nov. 2005
By 
film fan (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is one of those films that appeals to everybody, young and old alike. On this super DVD, it features in a magnificent and wonderful new print that makes it look as fresh as when it did all those years ago. The special features on the second DVD are well worth looking at as there are among loads of others, deleted sketches, and a look at the follow-up, 'Bambi 2', and a fascinating look at how they restored and cleaned up the original film.

The story of the young foul, Bambi growing up and learning about life in the forest and making friends with the other animals including the ever lovable Thumper and Flower the skunk, is a timeless piece of brilliant animation. The scene when his mother dies at the hands of humans in the forest is still moving to the heart. And when the forest catches fire, that's also dramatic to watch. There's also the thrill and laughter as we watch Bambi slide in all directions on the ice in the winter time along with Thumper and Flower. As far as the songs go, 'Little April Showers' which plays as Bambi, who lies asleep with his mother, is awoken by a splash of rain drops on his nose. It's a wonderful and delightful scene featuring some beautiful animation.

This is a film of absolute joy and delight and I find it a pleasure to sit through 67 minutes of this any day of the week. In fact, when this beautiful and magical film was released, the great man himself, Walt Disney, said that Bambi was "his favourite film". And it's very easy to see why. This film has always been one of my all time favourite films. A magical classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compassionate masterpiece, 26 May 2007
By 
Paul Rance (Whaplode Drove, UK) - See all my reviews
Walt Disney's 'Bambi' is a masterpiece. There are moments where you can nitpick, when Bambi's mother died we then go into a joyful scene very suddenly, and some of the songs sound a little dated in their arrangement, but they're good tunes nonetheless.

Bambi is the star, but Thumper isn't far behind with his infectious joie de vivre, and that irritating thumping greeting!

The film isn't twee, as the death of Bambi's mother is dealt with in almost a matter of fact way, when Bambi's father says, rather coldly, "Your mother can't be with you anymore."

The animation is wonderful, and was groundbreaking for the early '40s. The other magical moments are when Bambi shyly discovers love, and when he reunites with his father again. The dark terror of the animals fleeing the forest, when its's burning, is also impressively conveyed.

The film has quite a strong moral stance, and man is portrayed as cruel. Notably, this was a film made when animal welfare issues were not deemed as important as they are today.

You won't find many better animated films than this one.

The DVD of the film has some very interesting extras, and is especially of interest to anyone interested in the mechanics of animation. We also see how 'Bambi' was made.

- Paul Rance/booksmusicfilmstv.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic animation beautifully restored., 26 Feb. 2005
By A Customer
Bambi: the most beautifully drawn and well-told animation Disney has ever produced. Understandibly, Walt Disney himself was proud of this feature the most. The timeless themes of birth, survival, development into adulthood, love, death and Man's relationship with animals/ the environment are presented without pulling any punches. Set against the visually stunning backdrop of the four seasons in the forest, the extra material on the DVD gives a wonderful insight into the artistry of the animators and how much they achieved (all without computers). 'The Old Mill' (an animated short included on disc 2) is a gem, a masterclass in creating atmospheres and character in a very short space of time. The voices are perfect and although not supplied by superstars the characters are so believable and touching the animals really do appear to "speak". The orchestral and choral music swells and recedes in all the right places. Anyone watching this classic would have to have a stone for a heart not to be mesmerized and moved. Satisfying and very sincere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bambi  [DVD]
Bambi [DVD] by David Hand (DVD - 2013)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews