Customer Reviews


450 Reviews
5 star:
 (350)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


219 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edit
In my option this is the Best Film that Disney have made, the DVD quality has just made the film more enjoyable to watch. The extras on Disc 1 & 2 make this a must have for any Disney Buff or any one with young children.
I did had problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edition DVD, the “play” icon on the main menu just seemed to play the...
Published on 4 Nov 2003

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For those buying the DVD version
This review is of the product, not of the film, which is worth five stars.

I assumed that this Lion King Diamond Edition DVD would be like the Beauty and The Beast one- a 2-disc set full of great extras detailing the making of the film. However there is only one special feature on this DVD- a retrospective with the director. Hardly a Diamond Edition! This is...
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by Miss Scarlett


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For those buying the DVD version, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Lion King (Diamond Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
This review is of the product, not of the film, which is worth five stars.

I assumed that this Lion King Diamond Edition DVD would be like the Beauty and The Beast one- a 2-disc set full of great extras detailing the making of the film. However there is only one special feature on this DVD- a retrospective with the director. Hardly a Diamond Edition! This is just a basic release- Disney are just counting on the fact that Lion King hasn't been available on DVD for almost ten years, so people will pay high prices for something which is just the film.

Luckily I had discovered this before I bought the product. If you want a special edition of Lion King, track down the 2003 2-Disc Version. There's extra material to please adult and child enthusiasts alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


219 of 232 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edit, 4 Nov 2003
By A Customer
In my option this is the Best Film that Disney have made, the DVD quality has just made the film more enjoyable to watch. The extras on Disc 1 & 2 make this a must have for any Disney Buff or any one with young children.
I did had problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edition DVD, the “play” icon on the main menu just seemed to play the New Version of the Lion King.
I called Buena Vista Home Entertainment, they informed me that you need to do the following;
Wait for the main film menu to appear, then go to set-up Icon, in set-up go to the Languages Icon and lastly in Language menu you will find Original Version, (just under Hebrew).
Thank you for reading my review and I hope it helps anyone who thinking about buying this DVD or anyone who had the same problem as me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be careful of some of these reviews, 11 Nov 2011
By 
John A. Stedman (Rye UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lion King Double Play (BluRay +DVD) released in November 2011 is a 5 star product. No doubt in my mind. Picture and Sound quality are superb and the film is a true classic that speaks for itself. However reading through some of the reviews shown here, it appears that they have been mixed up and do not always relate to this package - some relate to Region 1 US read along issues for example. Choose your review with care!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 25 April 2006
By 
Mr. B. Ambrose (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Disney are known for creating amazing tales but this one, along with the animation the powerful voices for the characters, and the amazing music makes this a truly breathtaking Disney classic!

I saw this film when it came out in the cinema, and I have watched it so many times since then as I think it should be regarded as one of the best animated films out there.

I was lucky enough to get hold of this version of the DVD and I would totally recommend adding it to your list today! One of the best Disney films out there.

I grew up watching Disney films, and have seen most of the classis, but this for me is the ultimate classic. Its got laughs its tear jerking moments and above all it's a film that has proved the test of time and deserves its classic status. So buy it while you can because you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wondeful to see it again....., 3 Dec 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The last time I saw The Lion King I was a little girl. Now, at the grand ole' age of 23 it still fills me with the same kind of emmotion that I had all those years ago.
However, as much as I love the film the extra's are a bit thin in actual information and are not as slick and stylish as some recent ones (such as Monsters Inc). For everyone who bought the speical edition of Beauty and the Beast, this will seem a let down on that front.
However, it is a very child friendly DVD, with lots of games and activities.
My favorite part is the international show reel, where they show you all the different languages the film has been shown in.
All in all a very good buy for the fanatically disney fan, but just don't be to disapointed on the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lion King (Diamond Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my 22 year old Daughter........................ at her request! A fabulous film for ALL ages. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent with one disappointment!, 17 Oct 2003
By 
Benson (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is an excellent DVD from Disney. The only dissapointment is the new sequence 'The Morning Report' as it is extremely obvious it is a different singer singing for Young Simba, and this kind of spoils the new sequence. You shouldn't let this put you off though because it is still interesting to see, and the original version of the film is on the DVD anyway.
The lion king never looked better on DVD. The images are crystal clear with the colour more obvious than ever before.
Theres a whole disk of extras as well as many extras on the disk with the film including a new version of 'Circle of Life' (sang by random stars from the Disney Channel), a 'Which character are you most like?' quiz and many featurettes about the making of the film.
If you liked Disney's previous 'Platinum Edition' offers you'll love this, and if you are a huge fan of the lion king, it is definitely for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough to make you hyperventilate, 30 Nov 2003
By 
L. O. Adcock (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Lion King has got to be Disney's best movie of all time. If sales figures are correct, and you already own three copies of The Lion King on VHS, then there's no real point describing the plot of the film, beyond the fact that its wonderful art, award-winning songs, and loveable characters are good enough to make you sob into your Lion King hankerchief. In a good way. And you'll have been licking your lips in frantic anticipation of the Special Edition DVD. And believe me, it's been well worth the wait.
And the Gift Set is no less wonderful. For a start, it contains the Special Edition DVD, with its 2 disks with beautiful disk art, the special features of games, interveiws with the animators and such, the film itself in all its improved glory, and in general, three wonderful hours of bonus material.
After you've enjoyed the film, you can then enjoy up to eight original drawings of the characters to keep in your cupboard in an airtight box so that you don't wear them out by looking at them too much, and most wonderfully of all, the DVD companion Hardback, 'The Journey'. This describes the making of TLK, the making of the TLK Special Edition DVD, and has some lovely pictures in it as well. These are found only in the Gift Set.
All of this is wrapped in a special box with beautiful art.
It takes a lot for me to give any film FIVE stars, but here is TLK in all its greatness.
A small warning - despite being a very limited edition of the Special Edition, the DVD contained within the Gift Set does not contain any more special features than it does when purchased on its own. The extra money is paid for the book, pictures and box. The Gift Set is for adult collectors, not children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lion king 3d, 12 Dec 2011
this film was as good as believed amazing in 3d delivery was exactly as specified and came in secure packaging. kids loved the 3d experience will definatley purchace more 3d films from this retailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who doesn't love The Lion King?, 11 Aug 2007
Ok, who honestly doesn't love the lion king? Im 14 and ive never stopped loving it since i was 2!

You never grow out of it, its such a classic! From the mischevious simba to the hilarious timon and pumba this movie is for all the family!

No matter how many times i watch it (and ive watched it alot of times!) i always cry when mufasa dies, always laugh at timon's jokes and sing-along with all the songs! I really just never get sick of it!

Its such a classic, a must have for anyone who loves disney and even if you dont you'll still love it! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion King (Diamond Edition) [DVD]
The Lion King (Diamond Edition) [DVD] by Rob Minkoff (DVD - 2011)
16.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews