Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For fans and beginners, 26 Feb 2011
By 
M. Joyce (Cairo, Egypt) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
It was with a degree of caution that I purchased this DVD. I feared that it might be little more than an "idiot's guide" to G&S, but while it is undoubtedly a useful introduction to the Savoy Operas, it is rather more academic and insightful in its approach than I had anticipated. This is due in no large part to the writer and host, Simon Butteriss, who leads us genially through the story of G&S and makes more perceptive observations along the way. In fact, all of the distinguished "talking heads" (ranging from Michael Ball and Germaine Greer to Jonathon Miller and Charles Mackerras) have something interesting to impart. Illustrative excerpts from the operas are given; they are sometimes frustratingly short, as they receive persuasive performances from Mr B. and other regulars at the Buxton G&S Festival, Charlotte Page, Victoria Byron, Jill Pert, Oliver White, Bruce Graham and the late Gareth Jones. The latter two offer us some choice (and surprisingly racy) anecdotes from their time with the old D'Oyly Carte Opera Company. There is an equally illuminating bonus DVD , also written and in this case performed by Mr Butteriss, about George Grossmith, the creator of the great patter roles; this too gains my wholehearted recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon's enthusiasm is infectious !, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Simon Butteress is an enthuiast for Gilbert and Sullivan. His obvious joy and pleasure in the operas comes over in these programmes. Simon weaves a facinating story of the two (or four men) responsible for these famous shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful Butteriss, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Like another reviewer I was concerned that I (as a G & S buff) might find this trivial and weak. But no: and the main reason is Simon Butteriss, who presents with aplomb and an engaging (if a little camp) personality. What he has to say about the great ill-matched pair is quite scholarly and contains a number of angles new to me. The musical illustrations are well done, by Butteriss and others, and it is entertaining to see the great pseud Jonathan Miller making a fool of himself. Anyone at all interested in G & S should see this. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh Look at Gilbert & Arthur., 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a really refreshing look at the lives and work of the great duo. Entertaing and informative. Simon Butteriss, is without doubt, a fine exponent of the patter songs and is setting a standard by which all future efforts will be judged. I recomment this dvd to all G&S fans both old and new. Having watched it I hope people will understand why they are treated with such affection throughout the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really enjoyable experience., 5 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. M. Cox "Supernanny" (Nottinghamshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
As an avid Gilbert and Sullivan listener I have several recordings, however this is on a different level. The back stories and interpretations by Simon Butteriss give a whole new layer of enjoyment. I enjoyed it first on TV and was delighted to find it available on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timely Reminder of a National Treasure, 17 May 2011
By 
S. Devereux (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This highly enjoyable set of five 30min programmes by Simon Butteriss helps to dispel the myth that Gilbert & Sullivan's operas were simply cosy comedies for the upper-classes. There is a great deal of sharp satire if the audience is willing to appreciate it. On this DVD are comments from singers, conductors and directors interspersed with specially created dramatic excerpts. An interview with Jonathan Miller is particularly surprising; in the light of his antipathy to G&S it's very hard to understand why he actually directed a version of the Mikado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You couldn't wish for anything more..., 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The charm of the presenter (also a gifted singer and performer) makes this an indispensable guide for the G & S enthusiast. The story is told wittily and engagingly. Of course, we're hungry for more music but that's a minor gripe. It't time we had a real G & S renaissance and this DVD may well be enough to reignite interest in these unparalleled masters of light opera. Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good DVD, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Bought for a Gilbert and Sullivan fanatic who thoroughly enjoyed watching it and found it very interesting and enjoyable. good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Motley Pair, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Good value - highly amusing and very informative in terms of the background to the relationship of G&S which was covered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gilbert & Sullivan - A Motley Pair [DVD] [2011]
Used & New from: £57.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews