Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling sequel
Dead Space Aftermath is the sequel to the Dead Space video game and bridges the gap between the game's ending and the beginning of Dead Space 2, though, perhaps not directly - instead of explaining how Isaac Clarke gets from his escape craft onto the Sprawl, the film goes about explaining what happened to Aegis VII after Isaac destroys the beacon there.

Dead...
Published 8 months ago by Arun

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I was surprised by how much I liked the previous animated film based on dead space so I had high hopes for this one. Sadly, Aftermath is nothing like as good as Downfall. The story it tells could have been so much more interesting, even if it is a rehash of Downfall told on a different ship. I won't ruin the story (although you can probably guess what it is from the...
Published on 25 Jan. 2011 by Mr. N. Wildman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 25 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. N. Wildman "nickwildman2" (Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space - Aftermath [DVD] (DVD)
I was surprised by how much I liked the previous animated film based on dead space so I had high hopes for this one. Sadly, Aftermath is nothing like as good as Downfall. The story it tells could have been so much more interesting, even if it is a rehash of Downfall told on a different ship. I won't ruin the story (although you can probably guess what it is from the previous sentence) but let's just say it ties in with the beginning of the second game.

There are two major areas that let this film down:

1. The animation inbetween the stories of the 4 survivors is a badly done CGI affair. Think of the first form of CGI you ever saw when it first started being used in mainstream media and you have a good idea. The animation of the 4 stories is actually very good, if a bit variable. I don't like the idea of using 4 different artists in the same film, it makes it feel disjointed, I'd rather have one good artist all the way through. They did this for Dante's Inferno and it suffered from the same disjointed feeling.

2. There are hardly any necromorphs in the film at all. Forgive me if I'm wrong but I always thought the main idea of Dead Space is the presence of necromorphs and constant attacks from them. Sadly, this film spends most of the time with useless scenes and when the inevitable infection starts, you hardly get to see any necromorphs or attacks at all. On the rare instances you do get to see them, the necromorphs look like generic hulking brown monsters (no multiple arms, no blades, nothing)and most of the time you only see them as shadows. You also don't get to see many grusome murders which were done so well in Downfall.

Overall, this is a wasted opportunity. The story could have been told so much better because let's face it, Downfall wasn't exactly full of unseen twists, it was a very simple story but it was still done very well.

If you want to see a prequel to Dead Space 2 I would recommend playing Dead Space Ignition (I played it on PS3 via download). This is a comic-style telling of events on the sprawl just prior to and the beginning of the Necromorph infection with mini games. As a game it's not brilliant as it is just a load of mini hacks (you play as an engineer) but it does a good job of introducing Dead Space 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dead Weight..., 25 Jan. 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space - Aftermath [DVD] (DVD)
Dead Space - Aftermath (DS:A) is the story of the first-responder ship USG O'Bannon sent to rescue the planet-cracker USG Ishimura. O'Bannon falls to the same fate as the Ishimura except for the fact that there are four surivivors that have managed to find a shard of the marker. DS:A tells the story of each of the survivors as they recount what happened from their perspective.

The majority of this film is done in CGI, and not very good CGI either. It resembles an in-flight-safety information video as the character models are so mechanical, the textures incredibly bland, the shading simple and the effects laughable - imagine the local news desk had a go at animating the story with their CGI dramatisation software and stock character models and you will be somewhere near the quality of the animation. I nearly turned it off, the CGI is that bad but it is during the interrogations that the hand-drawn animation comes in as each character's section is helmed by a different director, all of the animation-styles and visualisations of the Dead Space world change.

This keeps you guessing, but did ANY of the directors talk to each other?! The first two segments are EXACTLY the same, I imagine they were given a brief of the story but have ended up standing on each others toes. Characters change race between the CGI and animated sections (Kuttner is black, yet his daughter is white in one section and then black in the CGI world...)

Extra content: All there is is a Dead Space 2 trailer, it's the full length unabridged one, but nothing that isn't already on Youtube.

In conclusion, this is absolute rubbish and quite frankly an insult to fans of the Dead Space universe. This is a mere parody of Downfall and should not be viewed as a sequel, run-on or even an affiliate despite being made by the same production houses. Obviously rushed to coincide with the release of Dead Space 2 and it shows. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For fans only, 25 Jan. 2011
By 
Kai159 (psn/xbl) (Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Firstly id like to say that you should only buy this if your a die-hard fan of Dead Space.

The film tells the story of the 4 survivors of the USG O'Bannon - A supposed repair ship to stabilize Aegis 7 after the planet was left devastated by the planet-crack gone wrong.

Of course the recovery mission isnt what it seems and theyre infact after something more sinister.

It tells you the story from the survivors prospectives. Each story is told with a different art-style and director. This could have been great but sadly its not done well at-all...it feels as if the directors were told a story and just did it without liasing with eachother at all. There are alot of inconsistencies and in the end its very sloppy.

The art styles are quite good and its a different feel for each story. The art-style for the wrap-around story that goes on inbetween the 4 prospectives is abysmal however.. its very very old CGI that looks like its from the mid-90's. I expected more effort than this!

In the end, it doesnt tell you anything new from what you already learnt from the first deadspace film and the game.

Ive given this a very generous 2-stars because im such a fan of the series.

My advice, rent this only if your a die-hard fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unspectacular Aftermath, 28 Jan. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space - Aftermath [DVD] (DVD)
First thing to say is: I'm a great Dead Space fan and I was really looking forward to this movie. I didn't watch any trailers beforehand to let it hit me with surprise like it happened with Downfall.
Since there is more than one summary of the story by now, I just start directly with my opinion.
Well, Aftermath DID hit me with surprise but I was really disappointed with the result. Althouth I was watching it in the dark with my headphones on, there was just no atmosphere, no tension building up. After the great and fitting art style they used for Downfall, I had hoped for something that would be on the same visual level at least. But the CGI style just didn't reach me and the different styles they used for the four stories didn't help to build up a steady atmosphere. For me, the first three quarters of the movie were downright boring. And the last quarter, with the fourth story be told and following the Necromorph outbreak on the O'Bannon, wasn't outstanding either. The inconsistencies already mentioned by previous reviewers were also a problem for me. Beginning with just the different designs of the space suits in the first two stories.

I really enjoyed the first movie, the first game and as well the second game so far, so of course I was pretty hyped for this movie which could be a reason for my disappointment. However, in my opinion even Dead Space fans should think twice if they want to buy this movie or if they prefer to give it a rent instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling sequel, 26 Nov. 2014
By 
Arun (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dead Space - Aftermath [DVD] (DVD)
Dead Space Aftermath is the sequel to the Dead Space video game and bridges the gap between the game's ending and the beginning of Dead Space 2, though, perhaps not directly - instead of explaining how Isaac Clarke gets from his escape craft onto the Sprawl, the film goes about explaining what happened to Aegis VII after Isaac destroys the beacon there.

Dead Space Aftermath is the second animated film after Dead Space Downfall, a prequel to Dead Space that detailed the events on the colony and on the Ishimura prior to Isaac and his team's arrival. The only thing that is glaringly deplorable about this film are the 3D sequences...they just look horrible. The characters look like some Pixar intern made them and most importantly, they have no resemblance to the nicely drawn characters in the animated part of this film. Basically the story of Dead Space Aftermath is that another ship - the USG O'Bannon - gets sent to Aegis VII to stabilize the planet and retrieve shards of the Red Marker. Four crewmembers who survive the events are captured and recount their ordeal in an interrogation room. So essentially we have several lengthy flashbacks that detail what happened to the O'Bannon.

Despite the 3D blunder, personally I think the animated parts more than make up for the rest and this film is just as gripping and visceral as Dead Space Downfall, if not a bit better because it has several fleshed out characters that feel tangible and real, and also explains some of the greater forces at work here, while Dead Space Downfall barely had any memorable characters, and also left us with a very unsatisfying ending. Truly, if they had decided to make the entire film animated instead of those ugly 3D sequences, this would have gotten the full 5 stars. Thus, a 4 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars O dear. . . I changed my opinion, 7 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I will leave my original review up tho my mind has been changed quite a bit. The main reason is, I feel this story while still not as well done as the 1st is still enjoyable to watch.

It really is all about (Nolan) Stross, and you simply wont care or know who he is if you HAVE NOT played Dead Space 2. While still trying to do too much, it does tell and show how the marker can effect people. With Stross suffering most. Its dropped in price and for that reason I say give it ago.

*********************************orginal review below*****************************

In short, its terrible. Dont bother unless you are the biggest fan boy/girl and its a freebie.

Like most people who are sitting at this page. I'm a Dead Space fan. I own the orginal PC game, and Dead Space:Extraction for Wii. Both I reconmend.

This film on the other hand, I do not.

I saw the 1st Dead Space movie Downfall and liked it. Certainly didn't love it. Personally thinking the animated comic where the best extension of the story after the Dead Space:Extraction game.

Not this "film"

Feeling like a cheap cash in compared to the 1st movie. You cant rent it (as far as I'm aware!) and with good reason.

Its not a good movie to watch even if your not a fan. Despite the nice opening at the start of the film, it all falls apart very quickly. The story is mostly set around 4 people (who you will fail to care about) and how they recall a incident. What you get is a story told from 4 different view point in a slightly different styles with some god awful CGI space sequences in between. While the ending is predicable, AND achieves nothing.

It feels completely soul less and is hard to believe that the company who made the 1st movie has spat this disaster out too.

Next time dont shoehorn the story and actually take some time with it.

And dont even start me on the Dante Inferno shameless plug!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor CGI, okay story, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space - Aftermath [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a Dead Space fan it's likely you will ignore this review anyway, but to be honest this offering is just not good enough. The story is okay, but I expected more/better action. The CGI is incredibly poor and looks like something you would expect around 10 years ago. Seriously, you could probably make something better on your PC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its good but downfall is better..., 26 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Dead Space - Aftermath [DVD] (DVD)
im a big deadspace fan. have played both games and watched the previous dead space anime "downfall" which is brilliant. however when watching "aftermath" to be honest i wasnt that thrilled. the story jumps around, and sometimes its hard to keep track about what is going on. i also didnt like the style of anime- i thought they should have kept it closer to downfall. its a weird mix and makes viewing it slightly disorientating.

i also feel that i didnt connect with the protagonist character as much as i did with Vincent from Downfall. so i didnt really care what happened to them at the end of the day.

i wouldnt recommend buying this film- just watch downfall instead as you get much more out of it then this one.

some positive aspects about aftermath include: the traditional gruesome blood and gore expected of any dead space franchise. also how the story links to aspects of dead space 2 and adds a different perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of ole' tripe!, 11 Feb. 2011
By 
C. Randell (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space - Aftermath [DVD] (DVD)
I'm no Dead Space fanatic, but the boyfriend is. So i bought him this. We sat down and watched it the other night in hope it would be as fun as the previous film. Which i quite enjoyed!

Yeah... it's really not.
I'm under the impression it's 4 different artists view on the characters? I recently saw 'the signal' which has a similar idea, but not animated and it worked.
This? Really did not work.
The first segment looks like it's made on the cheap by the douchebags who re-did the spiderman cartoons in really bad CGI stuff (which you can find in your local Sainsbury's for £3). After a while, it really did my head in. The changes in the animation were annoying not interesting, arty, or anything like that.

55 minutes pass and nothing happens. Seriously. Very much like playing D.S Extraction for the first time! Dull and full of nonsense!!

I can't tell you what i thought of the last 15 mins, as i fell asleep.

What a load of ole' tripe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only for hardcore collector fans., 4 Mar. 2011
I find it hard to recommend this, it really is a step down from Downfall in every possible way from animation to story (some of the art is nice though).
You barely ever see anything happen when the action starts and it honestly creates more plot holes then it fills, some of the segments are so off in terms of the lore its like a 'mockbuster' rather then a canonical entry into the series.

The only reason anyone should get this is if they're aiming to own all things 'Dead Space'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Space - Aftermath [DVD]
Dead Space - Aftermath [DVD] by Mike Disa (DVD - 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews