Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Creepy
Back in the late 70s ITV was the channel to watch for decent kids' programmes. Magpie, The Tomorrow People and Shadows. In my opinion, there's something about a door swinging open with nobody there or a shadow passing by a window at night that creates more of an impact than the familiar computer generated effects seen so often nowadays. Some of the episodes are better...
Published on 5 Jan 2011 by Johns

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good to introduce your kids to a more patient time....
I am a lifelong supernatural fan, spurred on by watching series such as Shadows, Dramarama, The Ghosts of Motley Hall etc. (who remembers Dark Towers in school too??)
My 4 year old and 6 year old love these stories and they are very gently creepy. They demand a little patience to watch and are subtle and thoughtful. I wish to give my kids the gift of knowing real...
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by Mrs. Lisa M. Griffin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Creepy, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Johns (South-East England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Back in the late 70s ITV was the channel to watch for decent kids' programmes. Magpie, The Tomorrow People and Shadows. In my opinion, there's something about a door swinging open with nobody there or a shadow passing by a window at night that creates more of an impact than the familiar computer generated effects seen so often nowadays. Some of the episodes are better than others, but all are good for the imagination, I reckon. Hopefully the other series will be released also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A full list of the stories, 12 May 2011
By 
Colin Smith "keep on running" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Broadcast in September/October 1975, I found this to be another enjoyable childrens drama series, which features a collection of uncomplicated and entertaining 25-minute supernatural/ghostly stories. As another reviewer has already mentioned, some stories are better than others, but overall this is a good series.
This Thames TV production is reminiscent of some of HTV West's childrens TV productions of the same era. Some of the stories are provided by such esteemed writers as J.B. Priestley, Trevor Preston and Roger Marshall.

This Network release features all seven, series one episodes. Picture and sound quality are very good, no subtitles. The only extra is a short picture gallery.
Here is a list of the episodes, with synopsis (which features on the inside of the DVD case).

*THE FUTURE GHOST - The year is 1875, and Julia Pittman arrives in London hoping to find work as a nurse. Staying in a friend's hotel, she believes she is safe: but as thick fog descends, a voice in the night awakens her, calling her out of her room... and into another world.
Featuring Jane Wymark, Bernadette McKenna, Daphne Slater and John Nettleton.

*AFTER SCHOOL - Bryn Haffes is an ordinary comprehensive school in a Welsh mining village. But when Poodle and Seth are kept behind after school, they find themselves in the grip of a power that they cannot explain.
Featuring Gareth Thomas, Rhys Powys and Lyn Jones.

*THE WITCH'S BOTTLE - Jill might never have discovered the strange powers in her possession had she not gone to stay at her uncle's country cottage. What was the secret of the dead oak tree? And why is the mysterious Catherine so concerned about Jill?
Featuring Georgina Kean, Wendy Gifford, Neville Barber and Jasper Jacob.

*THE WAITING ROOM - Sue and Gerry miss the last train from Burberry Halt and must take shelter for the night in an eerie old waiting room.
Featuring Jenny Agutter, Paul Henley, George Innes and Beth Harris.

*AN OPTICAL ILLUSION - Karen, Dawn and Phil are exploring a Tudor mansion, but the visit turns into a nightmare as the house and its strange inhabitants take over....
Featuring Pauline Quirke, Richard Willis, James Cossins and Susan Parriss.

*DUTCH SCHLITZ'S SHOES - The devilish Mr Stabs sets out with his cringing servant, Luko, to find the black glove of Mendoza. Unfortunately, they also acquire the shoes of the infamous Chicago gangster, Dutch Schlitz... with calamitous results.
Featuring Russell Hunter, Barry Stanton, Gordon Gostelow, Ron Pember and Kenneth Caswell.

*THE OTHER WINDOW - An ingenious lens seems to offer a vivid glimpse of another age. But is it possible to defy the laws of space and time?.
Featuring Sophie Ward, John Woodvine, Roy Jacobs, Gwyneth Strong and Aimee Delamain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 25-minute chunks of 70s goodness, 2 July 2011
By 
Colin D. Robertson (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a series of one-off supernatural dramas. It's very low-budget and very innocent, made in 1975 by Thames Television. Each episode has the old TT clip at the start (and the intrusive Fremantle one at the end!).

Ironically, there is almost no point talking about the episodes individually. They are so simple and small-scale that there isn't much to say. But I mean this as praise. They are delightful little things; 25-minute chunks of drama. Each one sets up a situation very effectively with attention paid to time, place and people, and then plays with it a little. It's delightful to watch. And of course if you don't like an episode, it's over very soon!

The standard line is that 70s drama was "slow and talky", but I found "Shadows" very engaging. It's a kids' show, and the makers get down to business quickly. And they do it well. In every case, I was more drawn into the story than I generally am with "Tales of the Unexpected". TOTU always feels a little disposable, as if each episode is a puzzle to be cracked and, once cracked, there's little point watching it again. The story is rather a cold mechanism. "Shadows" on the other hand feels very warm. There's a real sense of wonder, curiosity, possibility.

Another thing commonly said of modern drama is that it has more character depth. Again I think this is mistaken. In modern dramas, the characters seem to talk constantly about themselves (and their damned emotions). In "Shadows", characters speak about the story and, in doing so, reveal themselves naturally. And because they're talking about the story, you're thinking about it. This is how drama should be done!

Other people have commented on the lack of effects and CGI, and how old TV dramas managed to do without these things. It's true. "Shadows" is technically primitive, and all the more enjoyable for it! The episodes make a virtue of setting. (The sets for "After School" and "The Waiting Room" are especially atmospheric.)

Another reviewer said that the stories are too simplistic and benign to be of interest to modern kids. I tend to think this speaks in the stories' favour.

Sometimes the mysteries are not completely solved, which can be unsatisfying. For example "The Waiting Room" doesn't make total sense, feeling rather like the first half of a story. I'm not sure if these episodes were intended as possible pilots - it seems unlikely but it would explain why we never learn why events are repeating themselves at the station, or what is actually happening in the episode "Optical Illusion".

So the 25-minute length is both a strength and a weakness. But either way, the stories all succeed in their modest aims.

Special mention should go to Gareth Thomas's hilarious cameo in the episode "After School". He plays the most pedantic, patronising and unnecessarily rude schoolteacher you've ever seen in a red tracksuit with white stripes.

The one exception to everything I've written above is the episode "Dutch Schlitz's Shoes". It feels like a different programme altogether. The tone is comical, surreal and whimsical, and I didn't like it. Perhaps kids like nonsensical stuff (an aristocrat who wears a skeleton costume!) but I just find it irritating. This is the episode to avoid!

But for the rest, this is a charming series. Sadly series 2 isn't nearly as good. I'm hoping series 3 will be a return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back from the Shadows!, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit that I didn't really remember Shadows from my childhood; but then again I was only seven when it was broadcast.
As a collection of tea time anthology stories it generally hit the mark and has more then a few childhood thrills.
There are three stories that I really enjoyed. Jenny Agutter and boyfriend are left over night at an old Railway waiting room and relive a fifty year old train disaster. After school, two Welsh boys discover that their school is haunted and hides a disturbing secret.
The Witch's bottle is a creepy tale about an ancient cottage and the horrific death of it's former occupant.
The only dodgy story was the comedic, Dutch Schiltz's shoes which was a let-down as it wasn't very funny or much fun.
The other three stories were all enjoyable both with interesting ideas and well written characters.
As a whole I really enjoyed Shadows and I will most definitely buy the next two seasons and I can say that most fantasy fans of all ages will enjoy Shadows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good to introduce your kids to a more patient time...., 24 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. Lisa M. Griffin "lisamarie" (hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a lifelong supernatural fan, spurred on by watching series such as Shadows, Dramarama, The Ghosts of Motley Hall etc. (who remembers Dark Towers in school too??)
My 4 year old and 6 year old love these stories and they are very gently creepy. They demand a little patience to watch and are subtle and thoughtful. I wish to give my kids the gift of knowing real British drama with heart, and these are a good introduction despite their shortcomings. They provoke discussion, too. I especially found 'after school' poignant because the boys talk about the mining industry, which sadly died a death in Wales about 10 years later. In that way, there is much to learn in a world where our children are so 'Universalised'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing children's series, 10 May 2012
By 
M. C. Nijman "tv junkie" (New Zealeand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Shadows is a thoroughly entertaining tv series.

Of course the series was made with a minuscule budget compared to today's American programs but it beats a lot of today's programs hands down. The directing and script writing is first class. the stories are intelligently written and appeals to adults as well as the younger audience they were aimed for.

Delve into the story lines and one can see high level ideas about family, loneliness, morality.

Not many programs that I can say that I have no problem watching again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this with my 10 year old who was completely enthralled with it. There was only one episode that was completely dreadful - I think it was supposed to be funny, but just didn't fit in with the rest of the episodes. (Dutch Schlitz's Shoes). The rest of the episodes are genuinely spooky or at least have interesting storylines. My son was very taken by some of the ideas - parallel universes, time travel etc. Sparked some interesting discussions after watching. Give the shoes episode a miss but the rest are well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shadows Series One, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
These short stories are for children, however there is much for adults to appreciate. They are about the supernatural, stepping back in time, about good and evil etc. Some are excellent and others are jarring, particularly Mr Shultz shoes. It's clumsy to say the least. "After School" was my favourite. The children (two boys) are a foil to their games teacher. They are compassionate, sensitive, and funny. I saw it with different eyes after watching it for the second time. The child actors (above all - Pauline Quirke and Jenny Agutter comes second) are just naturals. Pauline is in An Optical Illusion and Jenny is in The Waiting Room. The rest are all good and I thoroughly enjoyed the stories warts and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looking Backwards, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Hi, I bought this blind- its a series with which I was unfamiliar.
Spooky stories suitable for younger viewers, I bought this for myself- not as any type of nostalgia- and there are quality cast and writers.
I do not know how modern day children would take to it, but I have enjoyed looking it over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shadows-Superb Supernatural 70s Series for Kids, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD] (DVD)
Well this is yet another gem released by Network!

The 1970s appear to have been awash with tv series aimed at children that had a supernatural theme.

The stories are not scary in the least but a few could prove unnerving for children-a couple of them are macabre.. Interested to know the views of those who saw it when they were kids the first time it was shown.

The scripts are intelligently written, dealing with themes of timeslips/5th dimension; ghostly re-enacting of things past, and even a bit of quantum physics thown in for good measure!.

One episode is a gem from a comedic point of view-Dutch Schiltz's Shoes. The inspired pairing of Kenneth Caswell -whose character, Luko, appears to owe a little something in appearance/facial expressions to Oddbod Jnr and Harry H Corbett's character after the potion (Carry on Screaming) and Russell Hunter as Mr Stabs - "The hand of Stabs"!!
In fact, Luko reminded me in part of Baldrick-wonder if Richard Curtis or Tony Robinson were ever Shadow fans?

The cast includes a young Pauline Quirke; Jenny Agutter; Gareth Thomas-who of course was in Children of the Stones-another gem of a series!; Sophie Ward and Gwynneth Strong (Cassandra, Only Fools & Horses).

Am looking forward to watching series 2 & 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadows - The Complete First Series [Series One] [1975] [DVD]
8.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews