Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic twist on the typical Amish storyline
Barbara Cameron twists the typical storyline of an "English" woman falling in love with an Amish man in her first novel in the Quilts of Lancaster series. Jenny has always felt a special connection to her grandmother's Amish community, despite her father leaving the faith as a teenager. When she's injured while reporting from a war-torn country, Jenny decides to...
Published on 13 Sept. 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A well told story but I am not completely convinced
The highlight of this book for me is that the author understands and describes what is involved in recovering from a major traumatic event both physically and mentally. jennie's condition is real and consistently described throughout the book. So many novels give their main characters physical or mental problems but they recover immediately on finding love which is...
Published on 11 Feb. 2012 by Anne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic twist on the typical Amish storyline, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Barbara Cameron twists the typical storyline of an "English" woman falling in love with an Amish man in her first novel in the Quilts of Lancaster series. Jenny has always felt a special connection to her grandmother's Amish community, despite her father leaving the faith as a teenager. When she's injured while reporting from a war-torn country, Jenny decides to recuperate in Lancaster, where she feels at peace. There she reconnects with Matthew, a man she became friends with on her childhood summer visits, whom she discovers she still has a crush on. But Jenny's still hurting, both physically and emotionally, and she's not sure if she's ready for a relationship - let alone one with a widower who has three children and belongs to a completely separate part of society. It's going to take the help of the handsome farmer himself, his adorable children, his meddling sister and Jenny's ever-faithful grandmother to convince Jenny that God has brilliant plans for her future, no matter how bleak the repercussions of her accident may look.

Jenny is the anti-heroine: she's insecure about her looks, worried about her future and cares more about others than herself. She's a woman that we should all be able to relate to. I loved that Barbara Cameron dared to create a character who struggled with her movements and speech; Jenny struggles with things that we take for granted yet she still manages to make new friends and fall in love. Her lifestyle is also unconventional, having spent most of her adult life in war-torn countries reporting on how children are suffering. Cameron really makes us feel the heart that Jenny has for the children she meets, and how she wonders if she's let opportunities disappear from her life because of her career. More and more women in today's society are getting married late and put off having families because they want to focus on their jobs, like Jenny, which is what makes her an appealing and modern character.

Her love interest, Matthew, is also appealing. He's an old-fashioned gentleman, always eager to help Jenny and constantly looking for opportunities to visit her, which is most endearing! Matthew is father to three children, and I have to admit that I like the storyline of a single woman falling in love with a man with a past and a brood of kids. The children added humour and lightness to the story and served to show us what a loving woman Jenny is. Not only does she fall in love with the Amish and Matthew, but Jenny becomes enamoured with his children. Annie in particular was incredibly cute and I'm sure every reader will have a soft spot in their heart for her.

I was incredibly impressed with Barbara Cameron's venture into the genre of Amish fiction and especially pleased with her unique take on the genre. Jenny had previous connections with the Amish community through her grandparents which made her involvement with the People, and her interest in Matthew, all the more believable. I also loved how Jenny wasn't a typical romantic heroine and had the same struggles that we all have - and much more. This is a fantastic novel and I'll definitely be looking out for the second in the series, A Time to Heal, in March 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A well told story but I am not completely convinced, 11 Feb. 2012
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time To Love: Quilts of Lancaster County| Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
The highlight of this book for me is that the author understands and describes what is involved in recovering from a major traumatic event both physically and mentally. jennie's condition is real and consistently described throughout the book. So many novels give their main characters physical or mental problems but they recover immediately on finding love which is totally unrealistic.

I enjoyed the description of the Amish community and the way in which love grew slowly between Jennie and Matthew. I thought that the other characters, including the children, were well portrayed and the religious element was appropriate to the story.

I did, however, have a problem with the ease with which Jennie decides that she will forsake her previous life and join the Amish community. Having been a big player in television she gives up the lifestyle, etc. for a simpler life. I am not sure that I am completely convinced that she would have done that, the author does not, in my opinion, show clearly enough that Jennie has really thought through what she is doing and truly weighed up what she will be leaving behind.

An enjoyable read despite my reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars \fab read, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read esp if you love Amish fiction. Was gripped from page one, cant wait to read second in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for all, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time To Love: Quilts of Lancaster County| Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
This is a completely marvellous book for any one interested in history a really interesting story that can be enjoyed by all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough read, 20 Feb. 2012
By 
Lazy Lady (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time To Love: Quilts of Lancaster County| Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
This book is well written and as other reviewers have stated does sympathetically portray a feisty woman fighting back from a terrible event. What isn't realistic is the way she then turns in to a total wimp.

Having introduced the heroine and set the scene (ie she returns to her grandmother in the Amish community to recuperate) thats it ....... there is no plot, no real story, it just peters out.
I found it really frustrating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amish love story ......, 6 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time To Love: Quilts of Lancaster County| Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
I have found that Amish stories intermingling with the ordinary American makes for a good story, and makes me want to learn more of the Amish community. This story was well written, and gives a good insight to the problems the Amish face when involved with an 'Englischer'. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a romance story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a read, 31 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time To Love: Quilts of Lancaster County| Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
This book was a wondeful surprise. I knew little about the Amish communities prior to reading, and feel that the author really has done her homework with this novel. The gentle love story was woven into a very real and current situation which left the reader empathising with the heroine. The previous reviewers have eloquently described the plot, so I will not repeat their words.

My only grumble, is the number of typographical/spelling mistakes throughout the story, which are always needless and offputting.

For once, it has been a pleasure to read a 'free' novel. My thanks and appreciation to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Time to Love, 28 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Time To Love: Quilts of Lancaster County| Book 1 (Kindle Edition)
This book is a classic example of the wealth of kindle material tempting you out of your reading comfort zone, I'm not of Amish descent nor a religious person so this isn't something I would readily have picked out of a book shop but I really enjoyed it. At heart this is a gorgeous love story; a reporter's love of her work and the children it brings her into contact with, her Amish grandmother and Amish neighbour Matthew plus his children. Yet at the same time it gives a glimpse into the private world of this Amish community and the values that are paramount to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews