Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Grandmaster Returns
'Ip Man 2' is a martial-arts sequel to the fantastic epic, 'Ip Man', which released in 2008. The sequel released to positive reviews and box-office success, making it one of the highest grossing Hong Kong features of 2010.

The movie continues to concentrate on the life of the martial artist, Ip Man (Grandmaster of Wing Chun) who was the real life Kung fu master...
Published on 26 Nov 2010 by Mitun

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better
I think most people agree that the first film is excellent. Ip Man 2 is perhaps inevitably something of a disappointment. Donnie Yen and Sammo Hung are great and it is well choreographed and shot. The problems (and there are several) are that the story is weak and it is really a series of fights loosely strung together. Also, the performances of the Western actors are...
Published on 15 Oct 2011 by Leeam


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Grandmaster Returns, 26 Nov 2010
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
'Ip Man 2' is a martial-arts sequel to the fantastic epic, 'Ip Man', which released in 2008. The sequel released to positive reviews and box-office success, making it one of the highest grossing Hong Kong features of 2010.

The movie continues to concentrate on the life of the martial artist, Ip Man (Grandmaster of Wing Chun) who was the real life Kung fu master of Bruce Lee. The makers originally intended to focus on the relationship between Ip Man and his student Bruce Lee in the sequel. However, due to a breakdown in agreeing the film rights with Lee's descendants, the idea was scrapped.

The second part shows Ip Man's (Donnie Yen) movements in Hong Kong, which is under British colonial rule. He attempts to promote Wing Chun (specializes in close-range combat) there by tutoring interested students. As he does this, he faces problems from rival students and masters of other forms of martial-arts. His main rival turns out to be Hung Chun-nam (Sammo Hung) who is the master of the martial-art, Hung Ga. This is a southern Chinese martial art associated with the Chinese folk hero Wong Fei Hung, who was a master of Hung Ga. The hallmarks of Hung Ga are deep low stances and strong hand techniques.

I'll start with the flaws first, which are evident if you compare the sequel with the first installment. The story is a bit one-dimensional, the drama is not gripping most of the time and the pace is really slow barring the final 30-40 minutes. As a result, the film struggles to keep the attention of the viewer. Also the performances of the British actors is quite poor. Saying that, this outing still packs a serious punch. The flaws only exist due to the high standard set by the prequel. If watched as a stand-alone feature, this movie is great viewing.

The movie is salvaged by the high-octane and moving/gripping final 30-40 minutes, the strong performances of the lead actors, the action scenes (although fewer than the prequel) and the heart-thumping finale.

Donnie Yen shines again as the hero, he is simply a brilliant actor. He nails the martial-arts scenes with pure energy. Sammo Hung is top-notch and matches Yen in the fight scenes. When both partake in the same scene its a treat to watch. It's clear that both actors have the utmost respect for each other. Watching the two fight is truly enjoyable. Simon Yam who had a very likeable role in the first part, is wasted on this occasion. Darren Shahlavi (Taylor "The Twister" Milos) who enacts the role of the main villain looks the part but doesn't have the acting skills.

The direction provided by Wilson Yip is acceptable. It seems like he played it safe, not trying to better the first installment. He did all the hard work in the prequel and had the ability to make this superior. This is Yip and Yen's fifth collaboration as director and actor, must say their team always produces.

The action choreography by Sammo Hung is not exciting as it was in the prequel. I still enjoyed it, mainly because of Yen's ability to make the martial-arts look fun and thrilling on the siver-screen. Hung does a good job executing the scenes where martial-arts is pitted against western boxing, it's fresh and entertaining. The final fight is worth the wait.

The background music score by Kenji Kawai in 'Ip Man' was superb and added excitement to the feature. On this occasion I thought the music was going to be a compensating factor but it wasn't to be, it was just average. The original soundtrack should've just been used again.

I'm a big fan of the first part, which has become one of my favourite movies of all time. The main question is, does the sequel match its predecessors all-round quality. Unfortunately, the answer is, "No". As a result, Yen and Yip who were planning 'Ip Man 3', have decided against making the third part. However, the sequel is still a competent and enjoyable feature.

In the end 'Ip Man 2' is not as action-packed/intense/emotional as 'Ip Man'. But, I was still a satisfied man once the end credits had started rolling. For me, I was happy just to see Yen back as Ip Man.

'Ip Man 2' is again a fine martial-arts epic that should be witnessed by movie lovers. It's a must-watch, especially for fans of Donnie Yen and the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It one art better then the other? Or is it the practitioner?, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A great film. Many credit Bruce Lee to be the father of MMA (Mixed Martial Arts), before the world was ready for it. I guess that Ip Man the grandfather of the theory. Some people are so passionate about their art they will not hear a word against it. MMA was created to truly see which art was superior. However that asks the question, is it the art that makes the person great, or the person who makes the art great?

Now living in Hong Kong, times still tough for Ip Man, no money no marketable skills apart from teaching Wing Chun. He tries to open a school but does not have any students, till a brash 19 year walks in to see how good Ip is by challenging him to a fight, Ip realises how times have changed, where as before when he held back and did not deliver a punch the person was thankful now it is just assumed he can't. After soundly thrashing the youngster he becomes Ip's first student.

As Ip's popularity grows, the other martial arts masters are threatened, they demand Ip prove himself by facing them in combat. Great fights, great to see Donnie and Sammo mix it up again. Starting as rivals then then earning each others respect.

A boxing tournment has been set up, the world boxing chsmpion is an arigant brit, with no respect for other cultures or martial arts. Sammo standing up for national pride. The aged Sammo, is still technically superior but does not have the stamina or power to face an inshape champ. In Rocky IV style refuses to let Ip throw in the towel. Now Ip must fight where Sammo left off. With a whole country in his corner. Can Ip beat the younger, bigger, stronger champ.

Great film. I really enjoyed it. Loved the mix of Rocky and MMA. Boxing has always been the anti martial art it makes the perfect style for the villan of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True hero, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the movie. And I think this part is even better than the first one. It is not just about martial arts - there is food for the soul here as well. Also, interesting to see how effective 'western boxing' is. I bet if you train 'Twitter' some MMA trick he would kick IP Man's ass in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asian experience, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
fantastic! Watched this 3 times now. Asian martial arts film at its best, with complete action from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as advertised, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
DVD sent promptly and was exactly as described. Excellent service,competively priced and arrived undamaged. Lived up to expectatons, excellent fight sequences accompanied by accurate storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I think most people agree that the first film is excellent. Ip Man 2 is perhaps inevitably something of a disappointment. Donnie Yen and Sammo Hung are great and it is well choreographed and shot. The problems (and there are several) are that the story is weak and it is really a series of fights loosely strung together. Also, the performances of the Western actors are bad. The Western characters are the worst stereotypes and the ending is a Rocky-style good triumphs against the odds over evil and everyone stands up and applauds. I think the script is the biggest problem here. It has some good scenes and the leads are very watchable plus young Bruce Lee turns up at the end but overall I just felt this could have been alot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ip Man 2 dvd, 4 Sep 2011
By 
Alan Rowlands (Northampton England u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched Ip Man 1 [which I can't rave about highly enough as I thought it was excellent].
I purchased Ip Man 2 expecting to be equally Impressed,BUT SADLY was not. You really need to watch number 1 first as they do follow on slightly, but number 2 just didnt do it for me the story line was reasonable, that I would have to say, but the action was far too far choreographed and far fetched in parts which totally spoilt it for me!
Donnie Yen is a superb martial artist in my opinion, but this film was definatly a let down for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Destroyed by the British, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Andy Barnard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ip Man 2 (Special Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Topping the first Ip Man was always going to be impossible- easily the best Kung Fu movie I've seen for years. Despite that, this one has a lot going for it. Fight scenes are again excellent, with a likeable lead and a nice turn in character development from Sammo Hung. I had a bit of a hard time believing that Ip Man couldn't just kick the guy at the end's ass immediately though. The final scenes are a little corny too.
The major, major downside, and the reason I don't think I could watch it again is the British characters 'acting'. I can honestly say I've never seen such diabolical acting in any film, large or low budget. It's not just one person either- it's all of them! Honestly, Steven Segal is an Oscar winner compared to these guys. They make Roger Moore's eyebrow look like Marlon Brando. Cartoonish doesn't even begin to cover it.
It's worth watching but unlike it's predecessor, not one to rush out and buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Largely underrated, 13 Mar 2011
By 
S. Pike "Monsure" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ip Man 2 (Special Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It saddens me that the recent films of Donnie Yen and Wilson Yip have attracted so much underserved negativity. In my humble opinion their work only gets better and better with each successive film.

Donnie Yen's physicality is nothing short of spectacular and he has not slowed one bit even now he is pushing 50 years in age. He and the film makers manage to create thrilling movies on budgets that are miniscule by Hollywood's standards.

For blu ray users the picture and sound quality are superb, which is a great relief since Ip Man one was not given the HD transfer which it deserved.

In short this film is the pinnacle of modern Hong Kong Kung Fu Cinema and it is entirely worthy of a place in your collection.

PS if you are a fan of Donnie Yen I highly recommend Flash Point, his most spectacular mixed martial arts fights ever! Flash Point [Blu-ray] [2007]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ip Man2 Wing Chun film, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ip Man 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The sequel to Ip Man, this one is a must have. if you enjoyed Ip Man then this will not let you down at all. awesome fight scenes, like i say a must have in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ip Man 2 (Special Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray]
Ip Man 2 (Special Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] by Yip Wai-Shun (Blu-ray - 2011)
Used & New from: £7.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews