Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money
Having bought most of the Pixies on vinyl and tape many years ago, I really havn't listened to them for quite a while. Time had dimmed the memory of just how good these guys were, and it was not 'til I forked out for this "best of" that the rush of listening to their 3 minute wonders flooded back. From "Monkey goes to heaven" to "Here comes your man" it was a solid hour...
Published on 15 Jun 2004 by glumer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ' was the only good song. Subjective opinion but there you have it
'Where is my Mind?' was the only good song. Subjective opinion but there you have it.
Published 11 days ago by Amazon Costumer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars True genius!, 10 Jan 2009
The Pixies are quite simply genius, I got this best of album after not having listened to them for years. It was great re-immersing myself back into that teenage world again, the fun and the angst. The Pixies lull you in with a gentle embrace, then when you feel secure, punch you in the face! The songs are a mixture of pop and brutality, I could go on and on, just buy this as a starter, and I bet you'll get the back catalogue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album!, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album has seasons where it's hard to find for some reason so, I bought this hard copy and now I'll never need to look for it again, great buy! Good price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked!, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lots of really great tracks and plenty of them packed onto this CD. Have played this a lot and would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 19 Oct 2012
By 
BJB (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If The Pixies released this album today it would go to the top of the charts. It's hard to believe this music is as old as it is. Very heavy, but very beautiful at the same time, and compelling to listen to. This music covers such a range that I reckon most people would enjoy at least part of it. My only star-loss criticism is that the version of Here Comes Your Man on this album is not as good as the remix version available on iTunes. Otherwise it's the definitive Pixies collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like a pick-axe - not subtle, but ground breaking, 5 May 2004
By 
R. B. Moore "rmoore322" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Only 4 stars? Well, the Pixies were one of a kind, and this album sums up their career pretty well, so it's a good album if you haven't already got the back catalogue. The track listing is above and has the big hitters you'd expect, Planet of Sound being my personal best but if you really like them, you'll have all this already. And this is the crux with this album and with the Pixies, most people either love them or hate them. So you'll either have it all or want none. It's aggressive, it's passionate, it's creative, and noisy. Ragged guitars are driven by a solid bass and the vocals crawl all over the top in a real scream. It's never particularly an easy listen and there isn't too much variety, but it does capture the essence of them.
I got Trompe Le Monde free by saving crisp wrappers and that's how I found them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indespensable., 5 May 2004
By 
Elliot Davies "ahttt" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The legacy of the Pixies is truly awe inspiring. It is fair to say that they are the godfathers of modern alternative rock. Without The Pixies there would be no Nirvana, no Radiohead, even Coldplay would cease to exist. We have to thank the Pixies. Without them we would have no choice but to listen to gareth gates et al.
And now we are blessed with the ultimate compilation of the most essential of Pixies songs. True, most of the existing fans would already own all of these songs, but this is the perfect opportunity for a new evolution of music fans to thank the Pixies for everything.
Every song is a classic. Caribou and Where Is My Mind are truly beautiful. Debaser is a rock anthem. Nimrod's Son is intensity defined. There is something here for every taste, for every mood. The songs are just the right length. They do not go on for too long yet they stay with you forever.
And best of all is Black Francis's songwriting. He simply cannot write a love songs. Instead we get songs about incest, about sending bloody clothing across the country, about surreal films. This may well be the best album ever made. Truly indespensable. Recommended to anyone who appreciates "proper" music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great starter for the new fan, 30 Jan 2011
Well i just wish i'd listened to this band yesteryear in there prime but sometimes things just avoid you. I bought this cos they were talked of as better than Nirvana by quite alot of people i knew so i gave this a whirl to see what the main hits were like. The answer was OUTSTANDING and i have since backlogged and filed up my Pixies catalogue. I just need some B-sides. My thoughts are that some great songs aren't on this best of cd which i usually find with my favourite bands. You buy the big hits but find some brilliant underplayed songs. My favourite album is Doolittle but it isn't head and shoulders above everything else by the Pixies such is rhe quality from this band. They now sit proudly amongst my favourite bands and musicians of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ' was the only good song. Subjective opinion but there you have it, 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Where is my Mind?' was the only good song. Subjective opinion but there you have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pixies - and the devil is six, 17 May 2004
By A Customer
There is another universe in this collection. Genius inhabits it. Pseudo or what. This - and Death to the Pixies (incl live bonus CD!) are as good a place to start as any. The current high anxiety is not for nothing. Pre-rap music started here and be thankful. Listen to Tame and weep (Radiohead, Nirvana, Ash). A whole constellation of your top ranking music simply would never have existed. The Pixes are that good. A top pop song? - no prob - Waiting for Your Man. Finally listen to Monkey Gone to Heaven, the most fabulous 3 mins on this earth, possibly. Rock me Joe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Black is Back, 6 May 2004
By 
Mr. G. C. Cutter "cutter_me" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Compilations are always a cash-in, an ill advised attempt to cash in on a dead band's world reunion tour extravaganza because their current jobs don't cut the mustard, mortgage-wise. Well....not in this case.
It's fitting for a band that made so many wrong things seem right to make a worthwhile compilation. There's no high quality musicmanship to speak of, the singing isn't that great and the lyrics probably wouldn't stand up at an open-mic poetry night, but something about these songs is soooooooo good, you just can't resist them. Undoubtedly, this compilation will have much more essential if you're new to the band, like myself, than if you were there back in the day. I've never heard these songs before, with the exception of one (Monkey Gone to Heaven), but this album has been playing so much on my stereo, it will be a long time before I forget them.
Musically, it's high speed grunge (Broken Face), art rock noise (Alec Eiffel), pre Britpop anthems (Dig for Fire) and straight ahead, surf tinged pop (Here Comes Your Man). And if the music was a prelude to the heavy assualt of Nirvana, it's easy to see where Billy Corgan and Brian Molko borrowed their vocal tricks. But what truly seperates the Pixies from Kurt & Co. is the curious little quirks in the songs; having studied Spanish before the forming the group, Frank sees nothing wrong with dropping a little bit of Spanish into the intro of Vamos, and Planet of Sound rumbles along on a series of squelchy vocal effects and synths. Oh, that and the mysterious Kim Deal adding her own sense of feminine style to the power chords of Gigantic.
And of course, the compilation is in support of the obligitory world tour. But if the strength of these songs is anything to go by, it's a tour worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews