Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wouldnt bother with this version !
The film is great, but I'm afriad its CUT. The infamous razor scene is censored by the BBFC, so if I where you I would by the 'Anchor Bay' version which is fully uncut.
Published on 21 Oct. 2007 by Daniel

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just import the blu underground blu ray version
Still cut in the UK, after all these years. What are we, sissy's? Alot of the content on here is no worse than the kind of thing you see in the Hostel or saw films.

It's an utterly pointless release, the blu underground version (unrated) is far superior in every way, and fully uncut.

I don't get why the BBFC are doing this. There are no animal...
Published on 15 Feb. 2012 by J. Potter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wouldnt bother with this version !, 21 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: New York Ripper [DVD] (DVD)
The film is great, but I'm afriad its CUT. The infamous razor scene is censored by the BBFC, so if I where you I would by the 'Anchor Bay' version which is fully uncut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just import the blu underground blu ray version, 15 Feb. 2012
Still cut in the UK, after all these years. What are we, sissy's? Alot of the content on here is no worse than the kind of thing you see in the Hostel or saw films.

It's an utterly pointless release, the blu underground version (unrated) is far superior in every way, and fully uncut.

I don't get why the BBFC are doing this. There are no animal killings in the film (unlike Cannibal Holocaust) and it's all just special effects. Read that line again, JUST SPECIAL EFFECTS.

If you really want this great, gory little Giallo from the master of gore Lucio Fulcio, buy this one instead. It may be more expensive, but if your a fan, and want the real deal with a great transfer and extras, it would only seem logical (or just get it imported from amazon.com, seems like they are no longer selling the product brand new).

New York Ripper [Blu-ray] [1982] [US Import]

One middle finger up to the BBFC for treating us adults as kids YET AGAIN. Pathetic.

Film- 4.5 out of 5.
Release- ZERO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably only for Fulci/Italian horror fans, 9 May 2009
One of Fulci's exploitation/slasher/giallo movies.
If you are a Fulci fan or a fan of the graphic, violent Italian horror films of the 70s and 80s I suspect you'll like it and would give it more than 3 stars. It is a violent giallo film that has the usual Fulci explicit gore in abundance.
It revolves around a serial killer (who speaks in a Donald Duck-type voice! - yes, really!) and is essentially a violent whodunnit with some false leads and twists.
Not a bad film (for the genre), some good sequences and a bit of tension at points. The reason I've only given three stars is because it feels a bit uncomfortably misogynistic. (I'm a bloke who will quite happily watch Argento films all day long without feeling that he's misogynistic).
If you are a Fulci fan and don't own this it is probably one of his better films and you'd probably like it.
If you are not a Fulci fan there are much better giallo films out there - try some Argento's ("Tenebrae", "Profondo Rosso"/"Deep Red") for example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Odd film. Best left to the Fulci fans., 27 Nov. 2003
By 
mr_ska (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is one of the director Lucio Fulci's 'giallo' films. Giallo being derived from many italian detective and mystery novels being published in the past with yellow (gialli) covers, and on first inspection this is a kind of murder mystery film.
Fulci to be fair was not the world's best director, and all of his films have an element of strangeness to them that cannot be narrowed down to anything like translation problems with the script. Instead it appears that the strangeness was just a part of the way he made his films. Fulci made odd films either by accident or design, with plots that often did not really make sense even after the expected twists were revealed, and often with excessively graphic violence, gore, and general nastiness.
The New York Ripper attained a certain amount of notoriety in the 1980's as it was caught up in the 'Video Nasty' furore, in fact never officially making it to video in this country at that time as the early cinema prints that were sent over were all escorted out of the country as the film was considered too vile! The film has remained banned until this Vipco edition was released. This edition has been censored by the BBFC to remove the worst of the violence, but still retains virtually all of its power to shock and offend.
Many viewers will not find anything to enjoy about the film. It is not rubbish, although it certainly is not good, but will have a certain sleazy charm to some. The plot revolves around a well worn detective hunting a vicious killer. A killer that preys on women and murders them in particularly unpleasant ways. The killer is supposedly intelligent, leaves no clues behind, but for some reason feels compelled to call the detective and talk to him in a duck voice!
Of course, there are a number of twists and turns in the plot, and a fair few red-herrings before the big finale. By this time you may well have given up caring who the killer is, what with the some of the plot twists being bizarre and other parts just making no sense at all. You will also likely have been revolted by some of the odd behaviour of some of the characters and the ugliness of the violence towards the female victims.
On the whole then, a kind of middling film. Worth watching if you are into the more extreme end of Italian cinema, a Fulci fan, or just wanting to find out what all the 'video nasty' fuss was all about, but not really worth going out of your way to see, and definitely one to avoid if you don't like to see violence towards women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Blu Ray Transfer, 8 Oct. 2009
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Why oh why have 2 video reviews been transferred to this product? Absolutely pointless.

I have owned every format of this film from the NTSC VHS to the Anchor Bay DVD, the Another World Restored edition and now the Blu Ray.

I remember watching the restored AWE DVD and being stunned by the transfer quality. I gave it a much deserved 5 stars.

After watching the Blu Ray last night I am absolutely stunned (again), but even more so this time. The quality of the transfer is a thing of beauty for a film that was made 30 years ago and not with top of the range equipment. It is a thing of beauty.

The extras are o.k. but not as good as I had hoped.

For anyone who is yet to watch the film be prepared for some rather graphic and sleazy violence and story. This is one of my favorite films and I find a couple of scenes rather horrid. The locations make the film and I can't think of a film that show's New York in the start of the 80's better.

5 stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quack the ripper, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Richwicz "Vampix" (Chelmsford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New York Ripper - Fan Edition + Booklet [DVD] (DVD)
This is a review for the uncut Blue Underground Blu-ray edition of The New York Ripper. This is a pretty sleazy and nasty slasher flick from Italian director, Lucio Fulci, the man behind legendary video nasties like Zombie Flesh-Eaters, The House by the Cemetery, and The Beyond. The New York Ripper is grittier and more realistic than those horror classics though, and deals with a subject a lot of people would find offensive -- sexual violence directed towards women. The film has always been controversial in the UK and is still cut to this day. There's even a legendary story of the then BBFC head honcho, James Ferman, having a print of the film escorted out of the country by the police because he found it so repulsive. Of course, that was many years ago and times have changed with a cut version of the film now available in the UK, courtesy of Shameless Films. I can only recommend the uncut version to hardcore horror fans, as a regular audience would find nothing to enjoy here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hate Having to recommend Imports, 28 Feb. 2012
This review is from: New York Ripper [DVD] (DVD)
I hate having to recommend imports however if it's the only way to see a film as it was originaly shown it's the only wayThe New York Ripper (Uncut Version) (Special Restored Edition) (Region 2) (Import) I own this version of the film and I have to say it's very good also as it says its uncut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a quacking little nasty, 10 Dec. 2007
By 
Mrs. Patricia Bark "Only me" (Sunny Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New York Ripper [DVD] (DVD)
You either love it or hate it - but if you are going to buy it you might as well buy it un cut elsewhere. see other reviews for details
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film but still cut., 21 Feb. 2011
By 
P. Lockwood (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New York Ripper - Fan Edition + Booklet [DVD] (DVD)
Although different from his other films, I do enjoy Ripper a great deal. However this long anticipated "Fan Edition" is still cut. Buy the AWE edition instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars question, 31 Aug. 2009
By 
vonMoltke (St. Petersburg, Russia) - See all my reviews
Just one question: how comes that this "uncut and uncensored version" runs for 87 minutes only, while the other one runs for 93 minutes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New York Ripper - Fan Edition + Booklet [DVD]
£11.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews