Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2010
An ambassador's wife Julie Wardh (Edwige French) returns home from her trip to America and discovers that one of the men in her life may be a vicious serial killer. Those men include her husband (Alberto De Mendoza), her cruel ex lover (Ivan Rassimov) and her current lover (George Hilton).

Sergio Martino proves once again that he is proberly one of the best Giallo directors. This was his first Giallo and it has to be my personal favourite of the handfull of films he made. The film features a mixture of sex and violence and a great twist ending that I didnt see coming.

Theres a great music score by Nora Orlandi which helps make this film that little bit more enjoyable. Edwige French is great in the lead role as Mrs Wardh and spends alot of the film naked (which I didnt mind) but I felt the best performance goes to Ivan Rassimov as the jealous and vicious Jean.

If you love Giallo films and you havn't seen this then I advise you buy this ASAP!!!!!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
Edwige Fenech stars as Julie Wardh, a beautiful woman with a colorful past, trapped in a dull marriage and stalked by her sadistic ex-lover, Jean (Ivan Rassimov). All the while, a series of savage murders are taking place in the city eventually drawing Julie into a twisted game. Sergio Martino's The Strange Vice of Mrs. Wardh has to be one of the finest gialli of all time - a visually stunning, atmospheric masterpiece that is right up there with genre classics such as Argento's Deep Red and Bava's Blood & Black Lace. It has aged perfectly, unlike many others of it's kind. The film remains very suspenseful, intelligent, creepy and never boring, always keeping the viewer on the edge of the seat, and it often feels like an acid version of a Hitchcock film. Speaking of which, Martino seems to intentionally pay tribute to the Master of Suspense in many of the film's set pieces, the most clear example is the 'murder in the shower' scene. Also, I love the film's dream sequences, which feels like something David Lynch would do. The beautiful soundtrack is also a bonus, and a naked Edwige Fenech doesn't hurt either. Shameless did a fantastic job with this film, the transfer looks great and you also get some extras, an all-new interview with director Sergio Martino, Sergio Martino Introduction, fact track by Justin Harries, Edwige Fenech Bio presentation and some trailers for other Shameless titles. I would say that The Strange Vice is definitely essential viewing for any giallo fan. The acting, sets and settings, plot and "twists" are all very well done. Mrs. Wardh and a few of the other ladies on display in this one are smokin' hot, and one of my only minor gripe is that the violence could have been a little stronger, but this small "disappointment" doesn't drop much in the way of points for this excellent film.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2010
If like me you are in love with the screen persona that is Edwige Fenech this movie is for you. Featuring my all-time favourite giallo soundtrack, yes I love it more than all those incredible Goblin-Argento scores, a perfect symbiosis of sound and visuals elevate the surreal S&M imagery into a hyper-kinetic mesmeric delirium. Sergio Martino peppers his film with the customary abuse metered out to his queen of 1970's Italian genre cinema. Adding an extra layer of perversity, not least in part due to Edwidge being married to his brother Luciano, but because how could you abuse the face of such a darkly luscious angel, even in make believe? Poor Ivan Rassimov he must have been racked with Self-loathing at the end of his scenes, "Sergio do we have to do another face slapping take?"

A beautiful sensually hypnotic dream of a picture oozing style and pizzazz from every frame, with the ever likable George Hilton, the only Italian genre leading man handsome enough to place alongside our heroine in peril, but is nice guy George quite so clean-cut in this tale, you'll just have to tag along to discover: The Strange Vice Of Mrs Wardh; loin pumping stuff.

No Shame films have given the viewer a magnificent uncut transfer which boasts a jaw-droppingly stunning picture plus extensive and exclusive interviews with old Martino, but best of all, the lady herself and by goodness she is ever the picture of spectral radiance she will always be to me. The main feature is presented in original Italian with removable English subs along with alternative English dub track. An attractive liner booklet completes what is for this exuberant viewer my most treasured giallo release so far. Now say her name with me one more time Ed-wi-dge Fen-e-ch, isn't that the sexiest name in cinema history???????
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
Julie Wardh is in a bit of a pickle. She's married to Neil but her saucy past has come back to haunt her in the form of her ex-lover who she had a kinky relationship with. She also starts indulging in some extra-marital bonking with a suave lothario called George. If that wasn't enough to contend with, Julie then begins to receive strange letters and is being stalked by a razor-wielding maniac!

"The Strange Spelling Of Mrs Wardh"... sorry, I mean "The Strange Vice Of Mrs Wardh", a.k.a. "Next!", contains many of the elements that make up a good giallo. The drop-dead gorgeous Edwige Fenech, giallo film goddess and one of Tarantino's favourite actresses (the character General Ed Fenech in "Inglourious Basterds" is obviously named after her), is perfectly cast as the sexy title character and she looks absolutely stunning with or without her clothes on. The film also features giallo film regulars George Hilton, Ivan Rassimov and Bruno Corrazzari. The film was directed by one of the masters of the genre, Sergio Martino, who also directed horror movies, spaghetti westerns and Italian sex comedies and there is an atmospheric music score by Nora Orlandi. The film features generous amounts of nudity and is punctuated (or should that be punctured?) by some violent murder scenes - there is even the almost-compulsory sequence where a naked girl is murdered in the shower. By the way, one of the letters Mrs Wardh receives contains the phrase "Your vice is a locked room and only I have the key" which was later used as the title for another of Sergio Martino's giallo films.

"TSVOMW" is certainly a notch above most other gialli made around the same time but I must also say that I did not find it as interesting or as thrilling as some of Sergio Martino's other giallo films such as "All The Colours Of The Dark" (which throws in elements of the supernatural) and "Torso" (which features some very nasty murder set-pieces) but maybe it will grow on me more with future viewings.

This DVD release from Shameless, in appropriate yellow packaging, gives us a lovely quality print of the film in a 16:9 anamorphic widescreen ratio but I am not sure whether or not it is the full uncut version. The great extra features include an interview with Sergio Martino, an Edwige Fenech biography, a theatrical trailer and trailers for other Shameless releases. There are the audio options of English or Italian with or without English subtitles. So, all things considered, I will give this DVD 4 stars.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
This one features the always talented edwige finch in a true giallo from 1970. It's got all the best hallmarks of that genre too, unseen killers , beautiful women and determined people trying to stop the killer. This one however is perhaps a little more classy plotwise than some giallos but it's still one of the more popular giallos out there. ON dvd this looks great and this surely could do with a blu ray release. Shameless alwsys delivers , just like blu underground with fine prints and good dvd's. their american counterpart No shame also did a great job , but they went out of business years ago. Still we have this fine company keeping these giallo/horror movies alive on dvd for us. Now where's that blu ray!. This is a italian movie with subtitles or a english dubbed soundtrack.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Edwige Fenech is beautiful, this is the first film of her's I have seen, and I will probably look out for more films featuring her. The plot itself is ok and has a twist at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Excellent story featuring this star.Will be looking for other films dvds featuring this star.Recommended to those who are broadminded and like a bit of spice in their viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2016
I didn't find it to be at all compelling. I don't know what to say about it, it just doesn't grab you. I have seen the New York Ripper and found that to be far superior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2011
The Strange Vice of Mrs Wardh an erotic descent in depravity she endures a stiffling marrage in the hope of repressing her past she is disillusioned with her unloved existance so she embarks on a torrid affair with playboy george
played by George Hamilton but her happiness may prove short lived this is a very good movie and I liked the ending I think this is one of Shamless best movies
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Classic giallo, well written and excellent actors. also tarantino recommend this movie. an absolut must for all fans of italian giallo-thrillers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)