Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Godfather of Rock Returns with his 'Theatre of Death' Show
The Godfather of rock, Alice Cooper is back with his latest release, a spectacular DVD/CD 2-Disc collection of his 'Theatre of Death' show filmed at the Hammersmith Apollo, London in December 2009.

The show treats us to over 90 minutes of excellent entertainment from the master showman of rock and theatricals. As always a great band line-up, this time around...
Published on 26 Oct 2010 by Music Mad Me!

versus
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Call it a day now Alice.
I've been a fan of Alice since 1976, and I mean a FAN. I've seen him live most times he has come round and I own all the records.
I think this DVD is even worse than his last one, the Live In Montreux one.
This concert is too brightly lit, the staging is dull and uninspired and the sound is too harsh in the upper register. Alice looks like he's going through the...
Published on 1 Dec 2010 by P. Wilkinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Cooper... enough said..., 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Alice Cooper is legend!
The CD/DVD set is good value for money. Loved both the Audio CD and the live show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Theatre Of Death Blu-ray, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's unlikely, I suppose, that anyone purchasing this won't already be a fan of Alice Cooper and therefore they will already have a good idea what to expect from one of his shows.

If you like his music (and let's face it, what's not to like?) and enjoy his mock-horror performances then the chances are this blu-ray will give you many hours of pleasure. The audio and video are both great, the band are tight and his performance is as good as ever. Indeed, given his age and past indulgences, you might be forgiven to wonder where he finds the energy to carry on touring!

The setlist is a greatest hits of sorts, mainly drawing on his classics but the newer material included stands up well. There are a few treats in the form of lesser performed songs thrown in for good measure, and as someone that has always had a soft spot for his "From The Inside" album the inclusion of two tracks from is certainly an added bonus.

By including not one but four death scenes in the show it becomes something like a "Alices Greatest Deaths" performance and it takes something away from the usual "highlight" towards the end. He has attempted to create a narrative of sorts, for example, after his first death the next sequence is meant to represent him in hell, and how well this works is likely to be a matter of personal opinion. If nothing else, it is a credible attempt to try to do something a little different while sticking to the general format that has served him well over the years.

Downsides? Well, if you are one for bonus features you are likely to be disappointed by the complete lack of them. Not a problem for me, but perhaps it might be for some people.

Overall, if you are a fan, there should be room on your shelf for this release. And, if you aren't but are feeling a little curious, this would serve as a pretty good introduction to his work so why not take a chance?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tried (tired?) & tested track listing but still rockin', 19 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Theatre Of Death (MP3 Download)
I read the DVD review that states over 90 mins length so I was pleasantly surprised when I found that this fits onto one CD and is nicely editted to just over 79 mins. Alice Cooper was never one for in-between song banter (and song intros) so it just flows superbly straight through the 27 tracks and it is difficult to see where they have taken out the 10 mins + that the DVD has...I suppose the intro, the drum solo and the outro is always a target here though.
The performance from Alice is good (one of the DVD reviewers wrote that he sounded strained) & the prevously tried & tested songs from the back catalogue are well mined with only one from the 'Spider' album which was the current 'tour' album...and the track listing could have well been from a gig years ago.
I would have liked to have seen a show with more songs from the 'Eyes' album where Alice was "getting back to his roots"...some "roots" eh with all the songs from that album now dropped...where is Brutal Planet??
Maybe the record company feels that they can sell these live albums with only the older well known stuff on...but with a back catalogue this big you are never going to please everyone.

But all things said , I grew up listening to Alice Cooper...I was only 12 when School's Out hit the UK...and this is another welcome live release and a document of the album tour which I have to have...

I hope that this helps you out there...it was a quick & easy download and you know you are going to get it in spite of the snow!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great gig, 28 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: THEATRE OF DEATH (Audio CD)
Saw this gig in Brighton what a night great dvd good sound quality joins the excellence of other Alice dvds get youll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never disappointed and great to have the CD aswell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Call it a day now Alice., 1 Dec 2010
By 
P. Wilkinson "cleanersvenus" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I've been a fan of Alice since 1976, and I mean a FAN. I've seen him live most times he has come round and I own all the records.
I think this DVD is even worse than his last one, the Live In Montreux one.
This concert is too brightly lit, the staging is dull and uninspired and the sound is too harsh in the upper register. Alice looks like he's going through the motions. There is nothing new here, just more of it and it feels repetitive. To be honest I switched it off half way through and revisited it later.

The best Alice concert DVD is Brutally Live, which was also filmed at the Hammersmith Appollo. Buy that one and you'll love it.

If it has anything going for it it is that he sings more songs from his mid to late 70's period. Goes To Hell and From The Inside. But his voice is struggling badly at times and robs them of any melody.

I hate to say it but I think Alice may have reached the end of the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money., 12 Sep 2011
Unless you are new to the world of Alice Cooper, Don't waste your money! It's the same ol' same ol'. This man has recorded some fantastic work in his long carrer including his album Along came a spider. There was so much he could have done on stage with that album, but sadly, there is just 1 song of it in this show. The show just doesn't stand up to the album it claims to judging by the cover which is from Along came a spider. I would go as far as to say that it's rather fraudulant! Boring. I been listening to this man since I was Eight years OLd, and as a result of this and the last couple of tours, I no longer will go and see him. Albums always, live shows, never again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Theatre Of Death
Theatre Of Death by Alice Cooper
Buy MP3 Album£9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews