Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic?
I can't see too many reasons to buy this apart from the presence of:

- four of Presley's best in "That's all right", "Blue Moon of Kentucky", "I don't care if the sun don't shine" and "Good rockin' tonight"
- three of Charlie Feathers' best in "Tongue Tied Jill", "Get with it" and "Everybody's lovin' my baby"
- two of Carl Perkins' best in "Honey...
Published on 8 Sep 2011 by Dangerous Dave

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars old enthusiast
Nice collection some 3rd rate songs but what value for a 50 number collection,some numbers would not please me if i were to play regularly,so will have to MP3 my favourites.
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Keith A. Hurst


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic?, 8 Sep 2011
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
I can't see too many reasons to buy this apart from the presence of:

- four of Presley's best in "That's all right", "Blue Moon of Kentucky", "I don't care if the sun don't shine" and "Good rockin' tonight"
- three of Charlie Feathers' best in "Tongue Tied Jill", "Get with it" and "Everybody's lovin' my baby"
- two of Carl Perkins' best in "Honey Don't" and "Matchbox" - "Dixie Fried" doesn't quite match up to these but it's still pretty good
- two great Mac Curtis tracks from his King period
- four from the Johnny Burnette Trio - do I need to say more about these?
- Jack Scott's "Leroy" plus another from the great man
- a couple of very nice early Eddie Cochran's
- Gene's classic "Blue Jean Bop
- both of the "big O"'s classic early Sun rockers
- other neat Sun stuff like "Red Cadillac and a black moustache", "Red Headed Woman", "Flying Saucer Rock'n'Roll", "Get Rhythm" and "We Wanna Boogie"
- lots of great one-offs like "Three Alley Cats", "Jungle Rock", "No, no, baby" and the fantastic "Boppin' High School Baby"
- and a few other more than decent ones scattered in between

The word "classic" comes to mind quite frequently when going down this list....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trendsetting and timeless. "Well 'ard" music!!, 15 Jan 2011
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
This is captivating and magical. Even though I have every tune on other compilations, I simply had to buy it. It brought me awesome memories of seeing Cochran and Vincent on tour and of course, you can never have enough of Charlie Feathers or Johnny Burnette. Ignore the neighbours, turn up the volume and ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All You Need Is Fun - And Here It is., 13 Dec 2011
By 
Mark Cheshire (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
If you're fed up with the usual party mix - Dancing Queen, YMCA, Hi Ho Silver Lining, same old same old - you need a copy of this. Your audience may not have heard many of these tracks before unless they're afficianados of the genre, but you can rest assured that if you want toes to tap at your party, this is a surefire soundtrack to that objective; from start to finish too! Everyone knows Elvis and Eddie Cochran of course, most know Johnny Burnette and Carl Perkins too, but there is so much more than just the big names who made it primarily as rock 'n' roll's innovators. Charlie Feathers and Mac Curtis are prime examples of the sadly neglected (in Britain at least), and some barely register a Wikipedia entry. But every one deserves a place on here.

The best thing for me personally was my introduction to the rip it up sound of Sonny Burgess who just makes you want to go back in time and go crazy in the dancehall. We Wanna Dance is a classic, a distinctly American sound of the 50s, but with roots that go back to the 20s, and still manage to be evocative of what the Stray Cats would bring as part of the rockabilly revival of the late 70s.

If you're looking for Dylanesque lyrics or ten minute long psychedelic swirling keyboard trips, you've come to the wrong place for sure here. The lyrics are simple, even slightly silly or downright childish in one or two cases, but this is music for hearing and reacting, not listening and musing. Fifty funpacked tracks that, even if you can't name all the artists, you'll still find yourself coming back to this time and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, 13 July 2011
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
The majority are standard classic rockabilly from J Burnette,Carl Perkins, Elvis et al but nicely put together.Great version of Rakin and Scrapin by Dean Beard .Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect Rockabilly Compilation, 3 May 2012
By 
Stephen Crafts (Boylston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
For the person who is fairly new to Rockabilly, or an old timer who just wants all these great tunes in one easy package, this constitutes an excellent compilation. Everything (including the CD case artwork) is outstanding, except.... where is Jerry Lee Lewis? I just don't get how "The Killer" gets left out of a compilation like this. Three quarters of the "Million Dollar Quartet" are represented here (Elvis, Carl Perkins, Johnny Cash). Even Roy Orbison is on this collection. But Jerry is no where to be seen. Who knows... maybe its a contractual thing. Anyway, this one gets 5 stars from me (even without Jerry Lee). Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rocking, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
its a great cd if you like the rockabilly sound,just cant keep still when being played, ohhhh yes rocking tonight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great JIVE MUSIC, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
PURCHASED THIS CD IT IS ABSOLUTELY GREAT,I THINK IT IS ONE OF THE BEST AROUND, AND FOR THE PRICE WHAT CAN I SAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 1 Jan 2012
By 
L. Waddingham "*Lizzilion*" (Good Ol' England!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
An excellent compilation of some well known classics and some more obscure tracks. A great purchase, I will be purchasing more of this collection in the near future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
brilliant cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hot Rockabilly: 50 Hard Hitting Rockabilly Classics (Audio CD)
Brought this for my partner and he loves it, plays it in the car. Only trouble is he has a few more on the list know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews