Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


208 of 224 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best film I have seen for ages - don't miss it.
I was lucky enough to see this wonderful film at the Bath Film Festival, having dragged two friends along as well. We all agreed it is the best film we have seen for ages.
A film for adults (and a 12 year old can be an adult), no cameras tricks/ CGI/ gory scenes, a simple story of two remarkable men, one of whom just happened to become the King of England - by...
Published on 19 Nov. 2010 by Roman Citizen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The King's Stutter
In 'The King's Speech', the Monarch is no longer an infallible figurehead with power by divine right, but in fact a mere human being. His inexplicable stutter and public nervousness have dogged him since before ascending to the throne, and it is only with the help of an Australian elocution teacher, Lionel Logue, that he is able to fill the role and finally become a...
Published on 7 Feb. 2013 by T. T. Rogers


‹ Previous | 1 2 388 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AGAINST THE ODDS, 26 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King's Speech [DVD] (DVD)
Two speeches demonstrate. 1926. Embarrassment at Wembley, the Prince's serious stammer convincing all he will forever need keeping well in the background. 1939. 3rd September, the day war was declared. He, now George VI, a revelation as he broadcasts to the Empire. Most movingly the film shows what happened in between....

Colin Firth and Geoffrey Bush are magnificent as the stuttering Royal and Lionel Logue, his unconventional Australian speech therapist - protocol totally ignored by the teacher, inhibitions gradually shed by the future king. Loosening up exercises, swearing and singing are all part of the treatment.

Disturbing revelations emerge of how the problems came to be - a little boy, naturally left handed, forced to use his right; legs encased in painful supports; a sadistic nanny; an overbearing father; an older brother everybody preferred. Here is an intensely personal portrayal - essentially an unassuming family man now thrust by fate into the limelight, the rest of his life to be spent outside his comfort zone.

Bonuses include a commentary, interesting contributions by many involved, recordings of two speeches by the monarch. There is an excellent interview with Logue's grandson - unearthed diaries causing much excitement, as well as major amendments to the script.

A gem of a film, illuminating and uplifting. It thoroughly deserves its praise and awards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A compassionate gripping portrayal, 14 Dec. 2011
By 
This review is from: The King's Speech [DVD] (DVD)
A compassionate gripping portrayal of how Prince Albert , Duke of York later George VI (Colin Firth) , with the coaching of the unorthodox and colourful speech therapist Lionel Logue (Geoffrey Rush). Certainly gets to grips with the characters and the frustration and angst suffered by King George. Superb performance as always by Helena Bonham Carter as his wife, Queen Elizabeth. Begins in 1925 where Prince Albert dismally fails to give a speech at a ceremony the Wembley Stadium,a and takes us through his many efforts to correct his stammer. Covers the crisis caused by Albert's brother Edward VIII (Guy Pearce), a decadent and mean spirited Hitler sympathizer and his infatuation with American divorcee Wallis Simpson, which caused him to give up the throne to a reluctant and nervous Albert.
With the help of his family, his government, Winston Churchill (Timothy Spall) and especially Lionel Logue, King George reveals his great ability to lead and addresses the nation in a splendid address at the outbreak of World War II, beginning his role in helping to keep up the morale of the British people against the Nazi enemy during a crucial period of history. Explores a variety of themes including a valuable lesson in how we must always be tolerant of disability, ands how it can be overcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Such Great Acting, 25 July 2011
This review is from: The King's Speech [DVD] (DVD)
Did not know if I would like this film but the acting is so good (Firth, Rush, Bonham-Carter) that you get drawn into a very simple but effective plot; King George VI building an unlikely relationship with Australian speech therapist Lionel Logue as he overcomes the adversity of his stammer. Very Good indeed.

The Spire Chronicle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film worth every award!!, 29 May 2011
This review is from: The King's Speech [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love Colin Firth and this film is one of the best characters he's played, i feel that the casting was very carefully thought out and Colin, Geoffrey Rush amd Helena Bonham Carter all played brilliantly off one another.

It is a very interesting film that also portrays alot of history, and i feel that the use of the 'real' kings speech was very well used. An enjoyable film for everyone and could definately be useful for anyone studying the English Royal history. Fantastic worth every award and more :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb Dramatisation., 19 Dec. 2014
By 
IP - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The King's Speech [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect companion for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

Tom Hooper built a proper historical account about the struggle of a man to become a symbol of national resistance in imminent war times that were about to shape the world. It has been accused of being "predictable" as well. Maybe that's because the story was based on true events? The art of cinema retelling true stories resides in the ability to properly, yet respectfully carry on the task of dramatisation, one of the main successes of The King's Speech.

I applaud the performances and the execution. Dialogue handling was impeccable, and the cinematography was worthy of a disciple of Carol Reed, capturing the size of the scenarios, the tension of the situations and the psychological difficulties faced by King George VI. I wonder, therefore, what would the opinion of the audiences be if this had been a film directed by Carol Reed in the 40s. Perhaps they would have been quicker to applaud. Do not let the debated Academy Awards be distractions to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film but poor blu-ray transfer - beware!, 11 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I won't comment on the film, other than to say it deserves the praise heaped on it. This review concerns the blu-ray transfer. For some reason, Momentum have presented the film at 1080i/50 (an interlaced transfer playing back at 25fps). The picture itself looks fine, but the film suffers from the old PAL speed-up problem, running about 4% too fast. There is absolutely no need for this. Blu-ray allows for films to be encoded at their native 24fps, and indeed all other blu-ray film transfers I have are encoded at 1080p/24.

Why Momentum have chosen to release the film in this way is a mystery. For the film I give 5 stars, but the shoddy transfer gets 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb, 12 Jun. 2011
By 
J D Tilston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The King's Speech [DVD] (DVD)
I thought every aspect of this film was perfect. We saw enough of other characters to prevent it being insular and give us a sense of what had happened/was happening to Bertie and the world around him, but not so much it detracted from the main story behind the film. It showed how someone in the Royal circle would've had to have sought out that type of help and how much they would have to have lowered themselves to let someone in to help them and how hard it would be for them to befriend such a person, as Bertie did with Lionel. I thought it highlighted the differences between Royalty and the common man, which are, to a certain extent, still there now. I thought the filming was excellent, not that I'm an expert, and liked how easily it flowed. The time seemed to fly while I was watching it and that, to me, is always the sign that I have been totally engrossed in a film and enjoyed it immensely, which I did. It's unusual for me to like a film, too, as I'm not really a movie fanatic. I loved it and think anyone who misses it is missing a pearl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'QUITE SIMPLY - 'STUNNING', 4 Jun. 2014
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
So often films that recieve the 'hype' such has 'The King's Speech' has done, you watch with anticipation, then wonder what all the fuss has been about, well, i can tell you, after watching the film i can only say it surpassed all the expectations that i had.
The acting/portrayels throughout were stunning and deserving of the acclaim they receive.
Telling the story of the reluctant King, who feared public address because of speech impediment which was severe.
his wife 'Elizabeth' ( The Queen Mother ) prior to 'Edward the 8th's' abdication sought help from a speech therapist 'Lionel Logue' (brilliantly portrayed by 'Geoffrey Rush ) to help her husband overcome his fears.
Stunning Portrayals by both 'Geoffrey Rush' and indeed 'Colin Firth' who plays 'King George VI '
You do not need to have any particular thoughts, for, against or neutral in regards to the Royal Family to enjoy the film, it's that good it will captivate your attention from the off....................enjoy.
Another film worth re-visiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best 118 min that I spent in the cinema in 2010, 2 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The King's Speech [DVD] (DVD)
This film is about a man who has to overcome his deep-seated fears, not so much because he wants to, but because he has to. He is helped by his devoted wife, and by a shadow; a person behind the scenes who prepares him for the task of being a king - the speech therapist.

Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush play the leading roles. Both are superb as the king and his therapist. Helena Bonham-Carter is magnificent, as always. It is hard to think of a good British film in the last decade without her presence, and in the rare occasions when she is missing I always wonder why. The score is captivating. Tom Hooper did an excellent job at directing this drama, providing quite a few moving moments. David Siedler wrote a terrific screenplay with some memorable one-liners, "Because I have a Voice!!".

This is the best film I have seen this year. You will enjoy every moment. And you will be sad when it is over. The best 118 min spent in the cinema in 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The gift of cinema does credit to the gift of speech., 25 Feb. 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The King's Speech [DVD] (DVD)
The King`s Speech is directed by Tom Hooper and written by David Seidler. It stars Colin Firth, Geoffrey Rush, Helena Bonham Carter, Guy Pearce, Timothy Spall, Derek Jacobi & Michael Gambon. Music is by Alexandre Desplat and photography is by Danny Cohen. The idea for the film came about after Seidler read about how King George VI (Firth) overcame his stammer after a friendship was formed with his voice coach Lionel Logue (Rush). Having himself overcome a stutter problem in his youth, Seidler set about writing his story from informed information. A bonus came before filming started when notebooks belonging to Logue were put forward for use. These enabled Seidler to incorporate works from the books into the screenplay. Plot picks up just prior to George`s brother, Edward (Pearce), abdicating the throne.Thus thrusting the stammering George on to the throne of England. With World War looming, George will be needed to make the speech of speeches to becalm his nation. But first he must work closely with the affable Logue and hope it brings an end to his vocal woes.

Writing this just a couple of days before the Academy Awards so I have no idea how The King`s Speech will (has) performed there. But up till now what we do know is that Hooper`s film has won or been nominated for awards by the bucket load already, including a triumphant show at the BAFTA`s where it won 7 of the 14 categories it was nominated for; including Best Film and Best Actor for Colin Firth. At the time of writing the film has made over $230 million in profit: a figure sure to rise considerably since the film is still playing to packed theatres in the UK.

I myself ventured to the theatre on 22nd February, that`s over 6 weeks since its release in its homeland, and as I approached the cinema I saw there was a queue! A queue? I haven`t queued to get into a film since the halcyon days of Jaws, Star Wars and Close Encounters of the Third Kind! I noticed there was many youngsters in this line, so of course they were going to see the Yogi Bear movie, or that Gnomeo & Juliet film? Surely? Not so. In to The King`s Speech they all rolled, an audience that ranged from 12 years of age to the fragile OAP day trippers. For the next two hours the only sounds I could hear were that of laughter, hushed words of praise for what was on the screen, and even sobs during some of the more tender moments within. No mobile phones, no chitter chatter about acne or the boy next door, just an across the board appreciation for expert film making.

There in is the reason why The King`s Speech is coining it in at the box office and breaking merry records as it goes. It has universal appeal, a film without tricks, just a simple involving story acted supremely by a cast of bona fide thespians. It beats a true heart, whilst doling out a visual history lesson to those so inclined to matters of the British Monarchy and the political upheaval about to surface as Adolf started his surge. Even for a film so chocked full of dialogue and basic human interaction, the pace is brisk and never sags, the quieter reflective moments only bring anticipation of the next enjoyable scene. When all is said and done, The King`s Speech has snowballed because of word of mouth, it started out as an intended independent picture, to be shown is selected theatres only, and now it`s arguably the best film of 2010/2011. Believe me, believe the hype, you owe it to yourself to see this beautiful movie. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 388 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King's Speech [DVD]
The King's Speech [DVD] by Tom Hooper (DVD - 2011)
£2.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews