Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars light entertainment
A nice idea cramed into to short a time to really explore the topics better. It shows that it is made for TV and should be regarded as light entertainment not informative. Pity.
Published on 15 Mar 2011 by M. Steedman

versus
50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American Production
In an unnecessarily large box (not a slip cover) you get 6 separate DVD cases, each containing a single DVD with a single 40 minute programme.
So what might look like excessively good value could easily have fit on a pair of DVDs in a single DVD case, fitting far more easily on your shelf.

The programmes themselves each cover a separate topic:...
Published on 8 July 2011 by John Colman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American Production, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Mysteries (6-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
In an unnecessarily large box (not a slip cover) you get 6 separate DVD cases, each containing a single DVD with a single 40 minute programme.
So what might look like excessively good value could easily have fit on a pair of DVDs in a single DVD case, fitting far more easily on your shelf.

The programmes themselves each cover a separate topic:
Dracula
Big foot and other monsters
The Loch Ness Monster
Jack the Ripper
The Amityville Haunting
Hoaxes - The Piltdown Man

Each programme is what one may assume, an unedited version of an original History Channel broadcast made up of testimonials, newsreel footage and storytelling. Narrated by an American, whose accent I often found laborious, with the obligatory self-promoting pre-ad call-outs (e.g. "in a moment you'll find out who the real Dracula was..."), it lacks the polish of, say, a BBC production.

However, that being said, it still manages to be entertaining and educational, and the topics covered were interesting enough to fascinate my seven-year-old boy.
The DVDs are unrated but not all discs are suitable for children. Jack the Ripper, for obvious reasons, but also the Dracula and Amityville stories, the former making passing references to sex and showing wood-cuts of impaling and mutilation, the latter for horrific description of murder.

Enjoyable yet somewhat throwaway. It would have benefited from increased content or reduced packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars light entertainment, 15 Mar 2011
By 
M. Steedman (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Mysteries (6-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
A nice idea cramed into to short a time to really explore the topics better. It shows that it is made for TV and should be regarded as light entertainment not informative. Pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars something to keep the father in law amused for hours, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Ms. K. Dorcey "Kristen" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Mysteries (6-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Then unfortunately he wants to talk about it all. Nevermind. He thinks there is a city on the other side of the moon with weather systems, so this was a perfect gift. Perhaps even too actual factual. Anyway, he liked it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointed, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Mysteries (6-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
This was to be a gift for a 13 year old boy who is really interested in history. I was disappointed to find that some of the stories were very gorey (Jack the Ripper for instance) and not suitable. The cover details Stonehenge but that wasn't on the DVD at all!! I eventually had to give it to an adult instead. Shame it didn't give this information when purchasing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NO AGE LIMIT???!!!!!, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Mysteries (6-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I have a 10yr old son who is unusual in the fact he would rather watch a documentary than a children's adventure film. So as Christmas was fast approaching, this sort of box set was just the thing (or so I thought). Read the info on the product.... Big Foot, Loch Ness monster, the real Dracula and was happy to order as the content couldn't be too adult because there was no age guide. However, when the set arrived I was HORRIFYED!!. How can you have a box set that contains "NESSY" at one end of the scale and the "Amityville House Horrors" at the other! The result is, I have had to remove the 'unsuitable' DVD's, which completely defeats the object of a box set. I will be writing to The history Channel Stores and asking why they are exempt from displaying an age guide symbol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars History;s Mysteries, 11 Feb 2013
By 
C. W. Rix (Exeter, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Mysteries (6-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased as a Christmas gift - no feed back from the recipient yet but sure that it is okay otherwise I'm sure we would have heard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good creepe dvd, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Visadebit "g roberts" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History's Mysteries (6-Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
best dvd seen for ages all six dvds are allright orgood well worth byeing money well spent cant say anything bad about this dvd box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7cac558)

This product

History's Mysteries (6-Disc Box Set) [DVD]
12.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews