Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious action figure animation
This is a hilarious action figure animation in the style of Adult Swim's Robot Chicken series, particularly the Star Wars and DC features, at least it resembles those productions much more than Team America: World Police, which has been the more obvious comparison piece for most reviewers.

In this hilarious reimagining of the second world war the invasion comes...
Published 15 months ago by Lark

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so good
A brave attempt at comedy that fails on every level. Nowhere near as good as, for example, Team America.
Not worth the purchase price.
Published on 29 Jun 2012 by David Miller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious action movie!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This comedy action movie shows that you can still cram the film with witty, crude humour, guns and a great voice cast (Ewan McGregor, Rosamund Pike, Timothy Spall, Richard E Grant, Richard Griffiths to just name a few) even if it does involve puppets. If you liked Team America: World Police, you will love this too! In terms of its delivery, it came near enough the day after! Therefore, a brilliant service from the company.

I would recommend this to any action enthusiasts looking for an alternative film that includes a British cast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teenage son loved it, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This was such a great film with lots to see and go back over as you may miss bits. Humour is subtle worth watching more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 4 Jun 2011
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Not bad...I do like this movie but...I would have liked to see the puppets a bit more animated. While Team America used puppets, Jackboots uses dolls.

I enjoyed the film and this was my only complaint.

This would also make a good children's film if the occaisional bad language and sex scenes are edited out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Missing Battle Scene ?!, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I cannot believe that my disk is not faulty ! I thought it was my dvd player acting up! I am really disappointed. Had I knew this I would have contacted hmv and got a new one sent.When is amazon going to bring out the new discs ?. However I enjoyed the film and as always ewan mcgregor does a cracking job. I loved the american pilot calling the germans Commies and I especially liked the planes flying over the sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Battle of Britain in one sixth scale, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A great and funny debut movie from the Mchenry brothers.I loved the tanks and other r/c models! the main characters head sculpts were really excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the complete movie on my copy!, 6 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Quite a fun little movie but the disc I received had a big problem. Around twelve minutes of the movie was missing, it jumped from before the battle to the aftermath. Not a skip, as the time index on the player displays didn't jump. Very annoying. On researching this with a web search I found that there was a whole batch of discs with a manufacturing problem and replacements had now been sent out. The seller offered me an immediate refund as they had no more in stock, so excellent service from them at least.

The movie itself has often been comapared to Team America, but this is a lot more subtle. A lot more British, with lovely little comments in the narrative of how Hollywood tends to portray characters and events. The American hero who keeps calling the Nazis "Commies" and Braveheart with an Austratian accent. Classic. Never mind the lack of any historical accuracy, this is for laughs.

The disc would have got four stars from me if it wasn't faulty in manufacture. Something that should have been spotted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film .. Bad Disk, 27 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Great film to a little slow in the middle ... right up to the finale when a 15 min section of the film is missing!

It seems that Amazon have a bad batch of disks. It seems they've now longer offering it for sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missing Chapter!, 25 Jan 2011
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
To explain this film is to think of a British version of Team America: World Police. The film is set in England in the year 1940. The whole plot is that the Nazi's as desperate to invade the UK but all possible routes they thought are impossible to take. So the Nazi's come up with the idea to dig underground and finally break through at Trafalgar Square, London and immediately take over Buckingham Palace with Hitler all dressed up for the occasion.

Winston Churchill sends a message to all that everyone needs to flee to Scotland, which is still populated with a clan, close to the one of William Wallace, 'Braveheat'. Now the film has a build-up on war against the Nazi's but there is a chapter of the battle missing on all DVDs, so you miss all that and see the Nazi's flee leaving the Scots to take over the UK.

The DVDs as of tonight are getting recalled so hopefully the complete DVDs will be re-released soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
By 
Ms (GUILDFORD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Excellent product- Great seller - quick delivery- Good price - Highly recommended A1 *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD HAS BEEN FIXED. FANTASTIC MOVIE!!!!!!!, 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I bought this movie a when it was first released and I too had problems with the DVD. I have since had a new one re issued to me and it is now working fine, no scenes missing.
I watched this with my partner and he ended up in tears of laughter through out. Especially at the part was where the Scots join the battle and you see them carry off Helga and Heidi, even I had a good laugh at this.
This is a great film.
10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011]
Jackboots on Whitehall [DVD] [2011] by Rory McHenry (DVD - 2011)
£3.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews