Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV drama at its best!
This is a stunning piece of television and i urge anyone who is in two minds to just buy it and watch it. It had me gripped - so much so that i watched all 4 episodes back to back in one go. All the cast are fabulous, though if i had to pick a stand out performance it would be Robert Sheehan's. The story has multiple twists that i, for one, did not see coming and was...
Published on 12 April 2011 by J. Daville

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not 5 Star - RTE make a mess again
The demographic of RTE is the rural over 50's who have no taste, intelligence or sophistication. RTE are one of the worst broadcasters in the world and the rural population will watch any old s*** they produce. Along comes love/hate and the stupid Irish think it's wonderful. Dumb RTE produce a dvd with no extras or even scene selection. Only 4 episodes so amateur RTE had...
Published 7 months ago by Kim Fowley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV drama at its best!, 12 April 2011
By 
J. Daville "jcdinc" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
This is a stunning piece of television and i urge anyone who is in two minds to just buy it and watch it. It had me gripped - so much so that i watched all 4 episodes back to back in one go. All the cast are fabulous, though if i had to pick a stand out performance it would be Robert Sheehan's. The story has multiple twists that i, for one, did not see coming and was suitably humorous and heart breaking in equal measures. The soundtrack is also brilliant in helping tell the story.

Series 2 is being filmed at present (April 2011) and i look forward to what is still to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always leaves you wanting more., 23 Mar 2011
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
Don't watch this because Robert Sheehan is that guy from the misfits. Watch it because he's a great actor in a great role, and for the other great Irish actors in Love/Hate.

Personally I couldn't get enough. I hear there'll be a season 2. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love/hate series1, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
enjoyed it so much have now purchased series 2. intend to purchase more series in the future. thoroughly recommended well worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive viewing, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
Be warned you will get hooked after the second episode. The Wire with an Irish slant, great characters, easy on the ears, be warned you will be left wanting to watch the next episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
I like it. Myself and my husband have been watching love hate since the beginning and we think its good. Depends on what your are interested in. Its true to life. It is violent, etc, so I would not recommend it if you thinks its going to be like chick flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars irish gangster film, 19 Oct 2013
By 
D. M. Rothwell (downe in kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
i started to watch this on ch5 and recordedit or so i thought, but for some reason the last episode did not record that is the reason i bought this, it is a very good if violent series, i really enjoyed this and it's well acted superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
A fantastic and gritty series, with amazing acting talent on display. Robert Sheehan and Aiden Gillan are brilliant, and the writing is just superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Extras On Dvd, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
Bought this new so cannot comment on condition as it was perfect. Love this series so of course I am going to be bias to saying how great it is but the only downside was I expecting some extra behind the scenes content on the dvd but there isnt any. For those who havent seen this, its a gritty drama set in Dublin crime underworld and I can honestly say its the most interesting, well directed series to come out of Ireland since I dont know when. Roll on season 4 lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not 5 Star - RTE make a mess again, 8 Dec 2013
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
The demographic of RTE is the rural over 50's who have no taste, intelligence or sophistication. RTE are one of the worst broadcasters in the world and the rural population will watch any old s*** they produce. Along comes love/hate and the stupid Irish think it's wonderful. Dumb RTE produce a dvd with no extras or even scene selection. Only 4 episodes so amateur RTE had no faith in the series. Episode one is crap, in the first ten minutes 4 characters are on mobile phones the whole time. The guy playing Darren's brother can't act. So he gets shot. Good. The second episode is only slightly better. The main actor on this dvd is the mobile phone, it's used every 30 seconds. The producers are trying to hammer home that Ireland has mobile phones. Any scene without dialogue has constant background music which may be post modern but irritates after a while. The church wedding dance scene is a joke in episode 4. The whole dvd is a mess. Overrated RTE programming. People who give this 5 stars are either culchies, teenagers or people who have not seen the Sopranos at it's glorious best. The main actors are good but supporting actors are typical rte fair city types. I have a real problem with Aidan Gillen who sleepwalks through the whole thing. Ruth Negga is stunning though. I have given this one star so as to balance the 5 star idiots who haven't a clue - it deserves 2 stars. Overall not worth buying, badly edited and directed. Watch how RTE milk love / hate and give you dvds with no extras or even scene selection and continue love / hate to the bitter end. Season 4 is showing signs it's going downhill. People love it because RTE is so bad...anything is better than Daithi O'Se isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - must see drama, 27 Dec 2012
This review is from: LOVE / HATE (2010) (DVD)
We have just finished watching series 1 of Love/Hate, and we enjoyed it so much that we can't wait to start on the next series.

It is an excellent must see drama that we would highly recommend.

Excellent story and excellent acting, depicting the realities of some people's lives in gangland modern Dublin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LOVE / HATE (2010)
6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews