Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't confuse Poirot COLLECTIONS and SEASONS....
Confused? Collection 8 is exactly the same DVD as SEASON 12 (apart from the subtitles). There is a set of 'Collections' (9 of these) OR a set of 'Seasons' (13 of these, the first three now quite hard to get hold of). If you're collecting Poirot episodes, stick to either 'Collections' or 'Seasons', then never the twain shall duplicate. This DVD contains 4 episodes:...
Published on 25 Jan. 2011 by dayajit

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A truer reflection of the book would have been better
I'm going to focus on Murder on the Orient Express because that's the reason I bought the DVD. There are a number of good points - David Suchet is terrific as Poirot as always and the set is very good as well.

The issue I have is that the film deviates from the story as it is told in the book quite a lot. It focuses on the themes of religion and justice and...
Published on 14 Jan. 2012 by Jimmy M


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 113 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't confuse Poirot COLLECTIONS and SEASONS...., 25 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Confused? Collection 8 is exactly the same DVD as SEASON 12 (apart from the subtitles). There is a set of 'Collections' (9 of these) OR a set of 'Seasons' (13 of these, the first three now quite hard to get hold of). If you're collecting Poirot episodes, stick to either 'Collections' or 'Seasons', then never the twain shall duplicate. This DVD contains 4 episodes: 'Murder on the Orient Express' 'Three Act Tragedy' 'The Clocks' & 'Halloween Party' plus a delightful documentary about David Suchet on the Orient Express as it is today. These are some of the best Poirot's ever. Excellent. (nb: subtitles are in English HOH)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poirot - Collection 8, 11 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
This eighth individual collection set consists of the complete twelfth series from 2009 and 2010, including one of Agatha Christie's best-loved mysteries, Murder on the Orient Express. The other three stories featured in this set are Three Act Tragedy, The Clocks and Halloween Party. Three Act Tragedy (which guest starred Martin Shaw as Poirot's actor friend Sir Charles Cartwright) and The Clocks were dramatised in 2009 and Murder on the Orient Express and Halloween Party were dramatised in 2010. I remember discovering in 2011 that ITV aired The Clocks as a brand new episode that year, but it wasn't a brand new episode at all as it was released on this DVD set in 2010 along with the other three stories featured here. If I remember correctly, The Clocks first aired the year it was actually made (although I think ITV might have aired this story as a brand new episode when they did in 2011 due to the fact that the actress Anna Massey, who guest starred in that episode, had died that year). Like with the other individual collection sets I have, David Suchet is again in excellent form as the Belgian sleuth Hercule Poirot, who is accompanied by his valet George (David Yelland) and his writer friend Ariadne Oliver (Zoe Wanamaker). Highly recommended, particularly for fans of the Poirot stories such as myself (I must stress that I don't have any of Agatha Christie's Poirot books so I'm only going along by the TV adaptations I've seen).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably last, but by no means least, 18 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
With this collection, the Poirot series is almost an end. If it is, then it will be missed.

The pick of the this season is Murder on the Orient Express. I was hoping that this book would be reserved for Poirot's swansong and given the luxury of a two and a half hour special, which is what it would take to tell the story adequately. Alas, it was not to be. However, the producers have solved the problem of the book by down-playing the mystery (which Poirot solves quite quickly) and highlighting his subsequent moral dilemma. Although I am a little sceptical about using Christie's artificial puzzles as a basis for morality tales, I think this approach actually works quite well.

Hallo-een Party is very atmospheric but is slightly undermined by a highly implausible plot twist towards the end. Nonetheless, it is a good addition to the Poirot canon.

Three Act Tragedy has a somewhat disjointed structure that is dictated by the nature of the story. It is the most conventional of the three shows, but is still good fun.

Overall, Poirot fans should be well satified with this collection (I was) and there is the bonus of some good extras on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A truer reflection of the book would have been better, 14 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm going to focus on Murder on the Orient Express because that's the reason I bought the DVD. There are a number of good points - David Suchet is terrific as Poirot as always and the set is very good as well.

The issue I have is that the film deviates from the story as it is told in the book quite a lot. It focuses on the themes of religion and justice and whether this man deserved to die (rather than who murdered him and how). This took away from the mystery and more time should have been given to looking at how the crime had been committed - issues like the passenger's movements on the night of the murder for example (which there is plenty of detail of in the book) were glossed over quite quickly here.

The atmosphere in this version is also quite dark - this comes through in the background music and in the mood of Poirot (who seems to be a bit narked throughout). This was another alteration that wasn't really necessary.

It may be that they made these changes in order to try and bring the story 'up to date', but great stories are timeless and don't really need to be changed that much. Overall, it's not bad (but with David Suchet as Poirot it was never going to be) and it's certainly worth a watch, but a truer reflection of the story as it is told in the book would have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent entertainment, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
totally engrossing along with the documentary, recommended for non British too, watch in the order as appearing on the dvd for maximum thrills, as some of the actors reappear as 'other personages' later on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Good value for the money and a good dvd to watch + I have still to watch 1 of the dvds but found them interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange interpretation of the Murder on the Orient Express, 5 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the Murder on the Orient Express prior to viewing, I was somewhat surprised of the darkness and the new side to Poirot in this episode. Suddenly the protagonist has become a truly believing catholic, and the episode is focused on moral and "a higher justice". His indifference towards a mob execution in the streets of Istanbul is unexpected. At one point, he even refers to it as justice. The book, as I remember, was entirely centred on the mystery. David Suchet is nevertheless as brilliant as always, but the religious aspect of the episode and the melancholy might not suite everyone.

However, the production quality is very high in all four episodes, and certainly worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chilled and Chilling, 19 Jan. 2015
By 
Hamish Adam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought Collection Eight for `Murder On The Orient Express', so this review is entirely about that.

David Suchet's portrayal starts harsh and stays harsh. In a couple of early scenes (a court martial which is very briefly referred to in the original book but is not a part of it, and a street stoning which is entirely invented), we see this less pleasant side of his personality. I'm guessing that the producer's desire to make credible the moral dilemma faced by Poirot at the conclusion of his investigation meant that they felt they needed those additional early scenes to establish this harsher side of his character. Otherwise, it would be very reasonable for audiences to assume that the Poirot character we know, and that has been firmly established over the years, would naturally and quickly favour fairness and leniency.

Aside from that, the question of how to open `Murder On The Orient Express' seems to have always vexed film makers. The lighter-hearted Sidney Lumet 1974 production, fine film that it was, opens with a painfully protracted flashback montage of newspaper cuttings and newsreel footage followed by Sean Connery and Vanessa Redgrave luvvying it up on a ferry crossing from the Asian to the European side of Istanbul.

This is not how the book starts and for the life of me I have never understood why filmmakers who otherwise, and wisely, copy the Grand Dame's dialogue word-for-word, insist on completely rewriting, or ignoring altogether, her all-important opening scene. In her original opening, on an early morning station platform in Aleppo in Syria, Agatha Christie quickly establishes that it is freezing cold, that a long journey lies ahead, that Poirot is a master sleuth and that crime lurks everywhere.

That said this version of `Murder On The Orient Express' has many magnificent moments. And in some ways it is a far superior interpretation to the 1974 film. The cinematography, sound design, interior train sets and the exterior photography of this `Poirot' version tell us that we are heading into danger and the unknown. And the power breakdown, itself a departure from both the book and the 1974 film, does lend itself to a chilled and chilling denouement that I believe is uniquely artistic, in the `Poirot' canon.

I agree with David Suchet himself who, in the excellent extras, says that he thinks that `Murder On The Orient Express' may be `Poirot's' finest production. It may also be the finest `Murder On The Orient Express', period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suchet's Poirot is a classic, 22 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
What can you say about this fabulous series which has not already been said a thousand time. David Suchet and the full cast of each episode are superb, the acting brilliant and the direction first class.

This is one of those series that you will revisit time and again and still enjoy as much every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot dvd, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Great buy some of thest ever episodes on this one dvd. Enjoyed watching this very much didn't want it to end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Christie's Poirot - Collection 8 [DVD]
£15.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews