Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly authentic
This is a tremendous film. The storyline may sound a bit cliched, but the film just works. The casting is fantastic - the characters are completely believable and although there are some well known actors there they just melt into the characters they play. The film looks and feels so authentic (in the way that the sopranos worked because the characters and locations and...
Published on 11 Mar 2011 by Nellster

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted and credible but not entirely new
If you have not seen HEAT then this is a good movie with generally strong characterisation. If you have seen HEAT then this is almost a remake. The similarities are just too many. HEAT has a stronger cast and the main police protagonist in TOWN is not helped by poor character development and terrible scripting. That said this is a well assembled movie and Affleck is a...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. A. Keeling


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utterly authentic, 11 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Town [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is a tremendous film. The storyline may sound a bit cliched, but the film just works. The casting is fantastic - the characters are completely believable and although there are some well known actors there they just melt into the characters they play. The film looks and feels so authentic (in the way that the sopranos worked because the characters and locations and script were so 'real'). I won't reprise the storyline, but if you like intelligent and authentic action films with fully rounded characters then this is for you. It looks gritty and real, there is a very strong sense of real lives lived in real places and of how brutal some of those lives are. There are threads and layers which run through the film and don't have to be explained, but which add to the authenticity of the finished product. This really has to be one of the best films made in the last 10 years. Go on treat yourself, you're worth it and so is The Town!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why 'The Town' is the bank heist film to rob 'Heat' of its title., 14 April 2011
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Town (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
The Town is an excellent heist film based around a group of 4 young men from Charlestown, America - a Boston suburb which in the real world holds the perverted honour of being bank robber central.

Apparently more bank robbers come from Charlestown than anywhere else. In fact its like a trade handed down from father to son, or even a past time - and this is the kernel of real world truth from which this great film has grown.

Indeed the film opens with a high octane bank heist based on a real robbery that took place in the area. One the cast members (many of whom hail from the area) say they remembered well.

In fact a bank worker, there on the day, was brought in to help supervise the shoot for authenticity, and he said the events were so exact it was like reliving the whole ordeal over again.

The attention to detail in this film made it real for him and its what helps make it real for viewers at home too. Even the masks in the opening scene were copies of ones used by a team of robbers, found in the files of the FBI.

The characters too felt real, and the dialogue and friendship amongst them seemed natural and believable. Ben Affleck's acting shined here in fact - with an accent that really brought his character to life.

In fact, I wonder if he's originally from the area as it seemed so effortless for him - but the delivery of his lines reminded me of a cross between Christopher Walken and Al Pacino. This film has made me look at Affleck in a new light.

Written by, directed and starring Ben Affleck he has pulled of quite an achievement. I watched the extended cut and it felt like a marathon of events, and although the story wasn't exactly ground breaking, that was part of its strength.

It felt real. Like it happened all the time and what we were watching was `the same S**t just a different day'. That said though this team of robbers were pros and took their craft very seriously.

Dare I say it was a joy to watch their military precision and attention to detail. There were some great set pieces throughout the film which were the best I've seen in a long time. And the script and dialogue were a joy throughout.

There were some truly great scenes and lines, as well as great performances - which included some by the late, great Pete Postlethwait - and all in all I can't recommend this film enough.

The Blu Ray Transfer is excellent and the format is highly recommended to make the most of the fire fights, costumes and action sequences. And there are a reasonable amount of interesting extras on the disc too.

These talk, of course, about the making of the film - but also about the area itself and characters involved behind the scenes. The real people of Charlestown; who there as consultants, advising the film makers throughout the shoot.

If I had to criticise it at all, I would say only this - the sound recording was a little lack lustre. But only the dialogue. Car chases, gunshot and explosion all rang out crystal clear. It was only the speech I found a little muffled in places - though this could have just been the Charlestown accent.

To sum up: Heat - eat your heart out. There's a new heist-meister in town and this is it. And if you are a fan of Heat - or indeed Point Break, Killing Zoe, or any other film based around a gang of bank robbers - this is the film for you. It has it all and yet still delivers more. 10/10 from me for all involved. Ben Affleck - I salute you: 'The Town' robs 'Heat' of its title of 'Best bank heist film around'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Town, 20 Jun 2011
By 
S. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Town [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I had never previously been a fan of Ben Affleck, having put him in the rom-com category. So i was dubious about watching this film. Having now watched it over three consecutive nights i can safely say that it is to be recommended. It is tightly plotted, gritty and very 'male' i.e. lots of swearing, car chases and shootings. However, the underlying human interest story, i.e the relationship that develops between Affleck's character and Rebecca Hall's, is what makes the film so great. There is no sentimentality here or mawkishness. And to find yourself rooting for the 'bad' guy (Affleck) creates a real feeling of tension that permeates the film. Definitely one to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You know people get up everyday, tell themselves something's gonna change their lives., 27 Mar 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Town [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
The Town is Charlestown, Boston, a place where crime is a way of life. Following a bank robbery, professional thief Doug MacRay (Ben Affleck) has to keep a watch on bank manager Claire Keesey (Rebecca Hall) because after using her as hostage leverage during escape from the heist, she is the only witness who could possibly identify his gang. But once the two meet they start to fall for each other, forcing MacRay to re-evaluate his life in Charlestown. It's a re-evaluation that will upset a lot of people close to him and the gangster boss who hires him, and all this at a time when FBI agent Adam Frawley (Jon Hamm) is closing in on the gang.

One of the most startling things about Ben Affleck's second film as director is that even with it's conventional plot, and formulaic characters, it's still an exhilarating and fresh picture. With Affleck comfortable in his Boston surroundings, it's evident that he and the team went for authenticity, something which in the main they achieve. Sure there's the odd implausible moments, they are-like it or not-cops and robbers staples, but The Town is not your standard run of the mill actioner. It's is, for want of pigeon holing, a modern day noir, resplendent with bleak mood and well oiled characters. Based on Chuck Hogan's novel Prince of Thieves, The Town follows the formula of a rotten town with rotten people doing their best or worst to live and get by. Into the pot comes the bad guy who meets a good woman who wants to leave his crappy life and crappy home behind. So far so well trodden path, then, but this is not a giant gangland operation, like, say, The Departed or The Godfather et al, this is a small neighbourhood setting, with a small group of everyday dressed young men. It's one of the reasons why Affleck's film feels authentic.

Helping to exude the naturalistic and human feel of the drama is that Affleck doesn't overdo his action sections, yet they are terrific sections for sure. This is not Tony Scott/Don Simpson/Jerry Bruckheimer action for popcorn excess. From the electric kick-start of the first heist, to the mid-section car chase-and to the knock out coup de grāce set in motion at Red Sox Stadium, Affleck shows great skill as a crafter of action: aided superbly by Dylan Tichenor's energised editing. Other violence is swift and to the point, the director knowing not to dwell too long on vicious passages in the narrative, thus keeping his characters free of caricatures. Mind, he is thankful to the great cast assembled for his picture, for this is very much an actors piece. Well written without flabby periods of talk for talk sake, The Town provides proper drama for proper actors; and that includes the director himself.

Jeremy Renner is quickly turning into the go to guy for edginess, here as MacRay's best pal, Jem, he deals out a frightening loose cannon turn. Chris Cooper and Pete Postlethwaite have small roles, but both impact hard on proceedings, both memorable and both adding a touch of classy know how. Hamm arguably has the hardest role, for as FBI Agent Frawley he has to carry on his own the other plot thread that is the investigation. Not just that, but the film lends itself to one which dares you to root for the bad guys, it`s a tough ask of the Mad Men actor but he nails it, with one two-fold scene in a bar, as he grills MacRay's ex , Krista (Blake Lively heartfelt and believable), particularly offering a glimpse of what a good actor he can be. Ultimately the main load has to be carried by Affleck and Hall as the central doomed lovers. There is death and misery every where in Charlestown; and for the protagonists of the story, including Doug & Claire. Their relationship offers hope, a beacon of hope in a murky world, but it's a relationship founded on black secrets and built around falsehoods. That Affleck & Hall draw us in with charm and acting gravitas further serves notice as to why The Town is top draw stuff.

Hardships, hard decisions and hard characters come alive in The Town, a great modern day drama that's showing Gone Baby Gone was no fluke, this lad Affleck really is some director. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted and credible but not entirely new, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. A. Keeling (Thornborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Town [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
If you have not seen HEAT then this is a good movie with generally strong characterisation. If you have seen HEAT then this is almost a remake. The similarities are just too many. HEAT has a stronger cast and the main police protagonist in TOWN is not helped by poor character development and terrible scripting. That said this is a well assembled movie and Affleck is a believable lead. Rebecca Hall puts in a good performance but her accent is a tad flakey at times - veering between a soft Irish accent at times and a mid Atlantic Bostonian. It merits a space in my movie collection but won't get the outings that my copy of HEAT has had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good gritty thriller, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Town [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Recommended by a friend as just seen Runner Runner. Affleck at his best. Recommend to Affleck and Jeremy Renner fans. Gritty thriller but with a decent storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last and about time, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Town [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Never expected much from this and for me it kind of snuck onto DVD without much fuss and borrowed off a friend. One of my top five films is Heat with Pacino and Rob Deniro. Its a great film that for some reason in todays regurgitating market they never seem to have tried to emulate, and those that have, have just been pap.
This on the other hand is a fantastic film. Its no Heat (quality of actors, no comparison), but the storyline is great and the action brilliant. If you liked Heat this is well worth your money, 2nd best bank heist movie for your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Town [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
saw this advertised and glad i bought it fab film with lots of action and good line up of actors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Affleck strikes gold again, 11 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Town [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This film was the film Ben Affleck made prior to Argo and it is every bit of good with a great cast and great action sequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ben's town, 17 July 2013
This review is from: The Town [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Seeing as this film has been on dvd for a couple of years now, i see no point in writing a long review that wont get read and/or rated so i will just say brilliant film and ben affleck has grown into a suprisingly afficient director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Town [DVD] [2010]
The Town [DVD] [2010] by Ben Affleck (DVD - 2011)
£2.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews