Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money
I recently bought the 2007 & 2008 review DVDS to go with my 2009 one & this one arrived yesterday.
The quality of footage is very high & the cut scenes between races is of a much higher standard than previous editions. I've noticed there are now two narrators which makes the usual one a little less irritating.

As you'd expect, it has all the races reviewed...
Published on 9 Dec. 2010 by Mr. James R. Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Visual Quality
Having bought this FIA review every year since inception, I now expect digital quality reproduction if not HD quality. This review, albeit having a content of which is what I expected, the visual experience is similar to a worn out video recording compared to how my current viewing now anticipates. These days I expect at least the same as I have received from a live BBC...
Published on 3 Jan. 2011 by DD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 9 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
I recently bought the 2007 & 2008 review DVDS to go with my 2009 one & this one arrived yesterday.
The quality of footage is very high & the cut scenes between races is of a much higher standard than previous editions. I've noticed there are now two narrators which makes the usual one a little less irritating.

As you'd expect, it has all the races reviewed in high quality with some little bits and bobs you wouldn't see or hear. Like Lewis Hamilton swearing over the radio as he crashes in Spain & a look at Webbers crash in Valencia with Prof. Sid Watkins & the F1 doctor I can't remember the name of.

Extra features: Driver profiles, Celebration of 60 years, Alonsos dream move to Ferrari, On way to Monte Carlo, Jenson & Lewis talk about McLaren, Tyres with HRT & a piece on Webber.

10/10
5/5
100%

However you put it, it's top of the tree!

-@Cubejam, James Williams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but slightly flawed., 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
As with most of the recent season reviews for formula one, this DVD covers all the areas you would expect it to. Races, interviews, qualifying (briefly) etc are all covered adequately plus there's the extra features of interviews with a few drivers/teams plus F1's 60th birthday celebrations held at the start of the season in Bahrain. The whole DVD is put together quite well and the production is very slick. However, there were a few things that I thought could be improved for the next DVD for 2011.

1 - Considering that this is a season review they do miss a lot of stuff out. Okay, you can only fit so much material onto disc so, with limited space, you'll never be able to get everything that you want on there. I'd much rather see a bit more of qualifying than having to watch a load of clips slung together of something unimportant. In fact I'd be quite happy to pay a little extra and have a 3rd disc added to the set so as to allow for more footage to be shown. What about showing the last 5 minutes of Q3 or something?

2 - Why the chopping and changing of the narrators throughout the DVD? Ben Edwards has been narrating and commentating on the races on these DVDs for a few years now. The addition of another voice narrating the bits in between races didn't add anything to the DVD. The new narrator didn't instil any sense of occasion or knowledge when reporting on things. If I had to describe what it was like I'd liken it to listening to reports of F1 by a BBC Newsround correspondent. All the detail is there but I got no sense that the speaker cared one jot about what was going on. I really hope the reason for his addition is because Ben Edwards wasn't able do the all the dialogue for some reason. A small point I know, but worth mentioning.

3 - Why was there nothing filling in what had happened in the off season over the winter? Driver changes, Rule changes, team changes? Nothing, except the brief mention of a new driver/team when they happened to be involved with something on the track.

So, all in all, a good summary of the season. There's just a faint disappointment when you think about what they might have done had they had the right DVD package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Look Inside The World Of F1, 27 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
As a keen follower of the 2011 Formula 1 Championships, I was keen to increase my knowledge of the previous season, having unfortunately seeing just a few races.

The DVD don't just give you the race itself, but also some of the qualifying, and backroom gossip. You gain a knowledge and understanding of the team and drivers through just these two DVDs.

If you are at all interested in Formula 1, then look to try one of these, whether it is 2008 or 2011, you will thoroughly enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good round-up of a great F1 Year, 28 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD covers all the races for the year plus a few extras. As other reviewers have said it's a better format than previous years with some A1 footage of the race highligts that made this year the rollercoaster it was.

Nice extra with Lewis and Jensen and another great one that covers an event when the world champs and the winning cars across the F1 years are bought together- it was such a treat I would have liked it to be a little longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Visual Quality, 3 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
Having bought this FIA review every year since inception, I now expect digital quality reproduction if not HD quality. This review, albeit having a content of which is what I expected, the visual experience is similar to a worn out video recording compared to how my current viewing now anticipates. These days I expect at least the same as I have received from a live BBC transmission. Extremely disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute delight to watch, 13 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
This a very good watch. Offers a behind the scenes heads up. Very good review of a brilliant 2010 F1 season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DOWN TO THE WIRE AGAIN !, 28 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
This double DVD is a comprehensive review of the 2010 F1 season. It shows highlights of every race and also has behind the scenes sequences of the action. Also there are extra features such as interviews with drivers and special action sequences. All in all another great DVD of the F1 season !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastique, 5 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
A fantastic review of one of the most exciting seasons in Formula 1. I was very pleasantly surprised to find it was two dvd's and not just one! Racing, crashes and overtaking highlights aside, the behind the scenes footage is captivating too! 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Quality Once Again, 22 Dec. 2010
By 
V. Warrington "vinniegognitti" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
The F1 Season Review DVD's just keep getting better. There's five hours worth of material on two discs, covering every race in detail plus an 'on-board camera' section from each GP and a few extra features as well. As an official F1 product, there are a few things which are slightly glossed over (Team-order-gate doesn't get as much coverage as you'd think it deserved) plus, with the benefit of hindsight there's a distinct emphasis towadrs Vettel rather than Webber in the last few races (the opposite of the actual coverage at the time).

Still, none of this really detracts from a very high quality product, and there are plenty of gems contained within (such as Hamilton actually being on the radio when his tyre lets go in Spain) to make this an essential purchase for any F1 fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They could have done better..., 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Daniel Radu - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official Review of the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship [DVD] (DVD)
I mean aside the review of the races they could have done a script...somehow like a movie...because it was a film scenario what happened last year in Formula one...
Anyways...good DVD...a must have and a great Formula 1 season...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews