Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dead Redemption: AWESOME
*contains no story line spoilers*

I can't quite possibly put into words how excited I was when I found out there was a zombie expansion pack coming out for Red Dead Redemption. In fact, only days before I had pondered how awesome a cross between Red Dead Redemption and Dead Rising - Read Dead Rising? - would be and then, low and behold, my wishes were granted...
Published on 2 Dec. 2010 by S. Williams

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Glitch ridden garbage
I bought this game with high hopes after playing the original RDR, zombies in the wild west? Whats not to like?

However....

On loading up the game and trying to play it instantly dawned on me that this must have been some quick re-code to make some cash off the RDR title. To say this game is a bit buggy is a massive understatement.

This is...
Published 23 months ago by William Templar


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Dead Redemption: AWESOME, 2 Dec. 2010
By 
S. Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
*contains no story line spoilers*

I can't quite possibly put into words how excited I was when I found out there was a zombie expansion pack coming out for Red Dead Redemption. In fact, only days before I had pondered how awesome a cross between Red Dead Redemption and Dead Rising - Read Dead Rising? - would be and then, low and behold, my wishes were granted. Rockstar games released this expansion pack and suddenly a world of free roaming cowboy zombie mayhem (on horseback) was at our fingertips.

One thing I will say from the off - I don't think you should buy this disc if you haven't played the original Xbox 360 title. While this operates as a mighty fine game in itself, it is in effect a game mode rather than a fully-fledged game. And by that I mean, you really need to have played the main game to fully appreciate the world that this title throws you into. Only having spent hours riding through this landscape, interacting with the characters and completing the quests do you fully experience the feeling of a zombie uprising - coming into this game without that experience simply thrusts you into a zombie world that doesn't take the time to adjust you to the game play as the first title did, and as such you'd likely have an entirely different gaming experience. For example, the B-movie horror contrasts well with the realism of the main title, but may not work so well if it's your first viewing of the world.

The game play stays the same of course, and this mode plays out pretty much exactly as you'd expect it to, which is a good thing. The first time around you occasionally had to defend a few towns from outlaws - here you have to save towns from the zombie hoards in much the same way from the off, and these "safe" zones then provide a little respite from the action and a place to save. You again have the option of fast travelling to locations if exploring the games vast world is not for you but you're truly missing out with all that the zombified landscape has to offer. Pretty much every type of encounter from the original game is duplicated with an undead spin.

One thing about the zombies in this game is that they are a cross between the classic "slow" and "fast" brain munchers, usually in the sense that they stumble around until you get close and then charge at you. What this means is that you can quite easily find yourself suddenly surrounded and it's easy to misjudge a situation. In the original game I rarely used the dead eye function but it comes into play quite a lot here in order to stop yourself being overwhelmed.

My only slight (and it is a slight) complaint is that you're launched into an already zombified world whereas it would have been nice to have seen it gradually overtaken by the undead as the disease spread. This also might have thrown up some nice side-missions too such as getting as much ammo as you can. But overall this isn't anything that takes away from the game too much - perhaps the sudden transformation feels more abrupt because of this game discs physical detachment from the original - and if you enjoyed Red Dead Redemption and love zombie films, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it a blast, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
Craig Finlay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game without having played Red Dead Redeption, and I have to say, the first two-to-three hours of gameplay are utterly compelling.

The graphics are easily the best on any game I have played. But it's the atmosphere that really delivers in cinematic style.

The game is played out in real time, and there's a palpable sense of eeriness when you're out on the prairie with only the setting sun and ungodly groans and screams of the undead for company.

At any given time, all manner of nasty creatures, from wolves, bears, cayotes and wild boars etc will attack you.

The undead also appear in many guises, with some staggering towards you Romero-style, and others sprinting in a crazed '28 weeks later' fashion.

The game does get a bit repetitive after a while, with cowboy John Marsdon riding here, there and every-bloody-where, collecting plants, completing rescue missions etc.

But for anyone sick of the endless wave of war/combat-based first person shooters out there, I'd say give this a blast - at £17.99 you won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nightmare for some... incredibly fun for others!, 7 Feb. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
With Red dead redemption being an amazing game i couldn't resist getting this when it came out. I was not disappointed, there are some down sides hence only 4 stars but ultimately its a really good fun game.
First off the gameplay is excellent. Well thought out missions, good storyline, runs smoothly, the graphics are nice but there are a few glitches i've noticed. There are a good number of cut scenes which i really like.
There are not many weapons in this game i have found, it could have been made a lot better, i'm not complaining though, the weapons you have are good. Keep an eye on your ammo though, there is no money in the game and ammunition is the most important thing. Don't worry though, when you run out there are still ways to kill the zombies.
Most missions involve helping survivors and purging towns of the zombies. You loot dead zombies to get more ammo. There are different types of zombies too which is great.
Did i mention this game is really fun to play. It's not as scary as other zombie games, you seem to have a lot of health in this game but its not impossible to die. The tension is still kept high though and the use of day and night is used really effectively.
This really is a fun game to play but unfortunately does not take that long to complete. The price would suggest this though so i wasn't too bothered.
As most games do now there are multi-player modes with co-op missions, just to add to the fun.
Like in red dead redemption you have a horse, available from the start of the game , just whistle for it. Beware zombies can pull you off it. There are no fast track ways to towns, you have to ride, but your horse is fast and i've only been kicked off it a few times, i think for going to fast. Beware of zombie animals on your travels!!
Overall i think this is an excellent game, a good twist on the original. There is no other game like this that i know of, a western cowboy zombie game that is. It does have some limitations one major one being that a lot of the buildings are boarded up , i guess part of the authenticity but it means a lot of houses are inaccessible. It would be much funner if you could enter more of them, and perhaps encounter a few more zombies. Still this game is really fun to play and in my opinion is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very fun!, 23 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. Liam Wharnsby (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I don't own and have never played Red Dead Redemption so I'm not comparing this to the original. This game is pretty simple. If you've played GTA you'll find learning the controls easy. The 'Dead Eye' (slow mo) makes it feel a bit like Max Payne. Not a bad thing. Free roam is fun but there isn't a whole lot to do outside of the towns. Essentially you go from town to town on horse back and kill zombies. The zombies are not that tough so this is a good game for casual gamers. Hardcore gamers would find this game way too easy. Travelling can be tedious especially if you die half way to a destination and have to do it twice (don't take you're eyes of the screen when near a river...you can't swim). However at all the save destinations you can jump to another destination. I'm not a massive gamer and don't play online. This game would probably become boring very quick if you play for more than an hour a day. I have a girlfriend and a job so play time is limited and therefore I haven't got bored of the game yet. In conclusion, if you like killing zombies and like the wild west then this is the game for you. Much better in my opinion than Dead Rising for zombie fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A helpful suggestion, 18 April 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Buying this game is essentially paying around £15 for an add on or DLC. The GOTY edition (game of the year edition) can be purchased for £14.99 with free UK delivery. With the GOTY edition comes:

Original Red Dead Redemption game with a brand-new hardcore single-player mode

Undead Nightmare single-player campaign and multiplayer modes

Legends and Killers Pack, featuring additional multiplayer map locations, multiplayer characters, and the Tomahawk projectile weapon

Liars and Cheats Pack, including the Stronghold multiplayer competitive mode, Free Roam gambling games, multiplayer horse races with combat, and the Explosive Rifle.

Hunting and Trading Outfits Pack, featuring two outfits with corresponding gameplay challenges for John Marston
Outlaws To The End Co-Op Mission Pack*, including six co-op missions for up to four players

All original pre-order content, including the Deadly Assassin Outfit, War Horse, and Golden Guns Weapon Pack

Solomon's Folly single-player gang hideout and challenges available for the first time on Xbox 360

Just-released Myths and Mavericks Bonus Pack, featuring fan-favorite multiplayer characters and all-new locations to battle in

If you are unsure, check out Rockstar's version of what's included here: [...]

For less money, most would agree you are getting a lot more value for your money. The GOTY option is also recommended over the somehow more expensive original Red Dead Redemption. Hope you all listen to this advice :)

Just follow the link to view the product. Thanks for reading.

Red Dead Redemption - Game of The Year Edition (Xbox 360)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, just wow., 20 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After playing the absolute breath-taking Red Dead Redemption, i was eager for an expansion! See im a zombie game fanatic, meaning this was gaming heaven.

Story- John marston, ex-gang member begins to notice a strange turn of events with the people around him. After witnessing his family turn into flesh-eating zombies, he ties them up, leaving to go find a cure for it. The story is played like a cheesy zombie movie on purpose, alongside several humourous bits here and there. Old friends from the actual story also appear in this.

Graphics- do i even need to say it? The dark atmosphere when your travelling through the seemingly-real rain, alongside an undead horse is truly eye candy. The bright, vibrant colours that are expressed in the daytime are unmatched.

Gameplay- rockstar are famous for one thing- flawless gameplay. this really shows of in this game as players will fail to ever find themselves in glitchy gameplay. However, when i did first play this, i couldn't hogtie marston's wife for some reason. But other than that still decent.

Multiplayer- worried that there won't be anything to do after you finish the story? Don't be, the online in this game is fantastic and is always full in the servers, and i'm writing this on the 20th of may 2012. This game does include every downloadable content to date for this game, so you'll enjoy new features, including poker, to Legend and Killers gang matches, Co-op modes and a particular favourite of mine called 'Hold your own'!

Conclusion- rockstar weren't messing around when they made this content, its incredible and i do recemmend buying it. I'd love to stay and chat, but i've left the game on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow-on game, 9 Jan. 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a good game to follow the original Red Dead Redemption game but with the extra incentive of the Zombies. Same kind of format with the map and moving around solving challenges but only thing to let it down is as yet, not found any saloons or gambling dens that added the 'extras' to the original game. Very playable and Enjoyable,pretty straight forward to follow, probably a good stand alone game but not quite as good as the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game Of The Year Gets DLC Of The Year, 29 Nov. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Amazing DLC for an amazing game but you would be better off buying on xbox live for 800 points albeit minus a couple of expansions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Glitch ridden garbage, 20 Jun. 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game with high hopes after playing the original RDR, zombies in the wild west? Whats not to like?

However....

On loading up the game and trying to play it instantly dawned on me that this must have been some quick re-code to make some cash off the RDR title. To say this game is a bit buggy is a massive understatement.

This is probably the most buggy game I've ever played, and the original RDR wasn't all that great for glitches and bugs as it was.

I never got to even get into the game properly as the the glitches prevented me from progressing any further than the initial few 'missions'. The game is broken.

The textures vanished, the collision interfacing with the ground was off (by about 20 feet in one place, either putting me under the game world or above it), it froze all the time forcing a console reset, characters changed into other characters, vanished, glitched around the world, I could go on.

It's a real shame as this looked awesome. Shame on you Rockstar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but Short..., 6 Nov. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Like the title of this review says, it's a fun game but real short, easy to complete in about 5 - 6 hours of game play. Still it is fun to be roaming around the wild west with tons of undead hordes about out to get you.

If you're considering getting this game but haven't played the original Red Dead Redemption I'd highly recommend that you get the original first, has that is much better longer and more compelling than this title, if you have already played Red Dead Redemption then by all means get this game for a fun experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360)
Red Dead Redemption - Undead Nightmare (Xbox 360) by Take 2 Interactive (Xbox 360)
£9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews