Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting!
I like Michael Cobley a lot - his Shadowkings trilogy was an interesting deconstruction of the fantasy trilogy, and sadly overlooked IMHO.

Seeds of Earth is more conventional space opera. Gutsy, outnumbered humanity - check. A multitude of vaguely humanoid aliens with all too familiar (ie human) motives and politics - check. AIs running amok - check. Early...
Published on 31 Mar 2010 by R. M. Lindley

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Readable
Renowned for his Shadowkings trilogy, its with a completely different tale that he now returns to the fold with this strange blend of sci-fi along with space opera with a touch of star wars built in. Mankind faces extermination from an alien species whose insectoid tendancies focus with their hive mind on the single goal. Interesting in concept, creative in scale...
Published on 12 April 2009 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unacknowledged Plagiarism, 27 April 2012
I'm refering to the thought's of one character on page 515. "...his own intestines which, out of shame, might one day reach up through his throat and throttle him to death.". A suggestion Mr Cobley, you thank many people in the back of your book. It might be an idea to acknowledge Douglas Adams whose lines you've lifted from the hitchhiker's guide. Apart from that, I'm afraid this book is pedestrian at best. a by the numbers story whose ideas have been borrowed from a number of major movies & books from the last 40 years. Understandable I guess. After all, lot's of us love Star Wars & Avatar ( just to name the obvious 2). But this brings nothing new. Cliched, flat characters & a predictable storyline. There are many fine writers out there, in future I'll stick to their books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on Mr Cobley, 26 April 2010
By 
M. Olbrich "SciFi Rules 1" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Surprisingly for the cynical me this book has achieved the absolutely correct balance between 'shoot them up', lots of aliens, frailties of human character and posing of more fundamental moral questions. There is real depth to the descriptive parts - you get a very well defined, clear view of the environment the characters are functioning within. There is also a completely new take of the nature of hyperspace (there are many such apparently, and quite a few are populated, which is perhaps too far fetched). Overall it covers all angles of good Sci Fi we all need to live without overdoing it and with a very neat plot leading to many sequels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broad aproach,to political to be enjoyable,complex and mainly boooorriiiinngg, 16 July 2012
I am a great fun of SF and this is the most boring book I ever read...on page 90 and nothing exiting happened exept of very many and VERY VAGUE explanations about different cultures,mix/mach politics...The stile of writing: It is like you expect to see a really good film on your TV through a sheet that someone put over it.Dissapointing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top drawer Space opera, 8 Jun 2009
By 
this is a classy well written space opera; pacey,lots of novel ideas, the only complaint being that it ends without a full resolution- in other words it'll lead straight into the next installment- which i'm looking forward to already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea, but written with too much ambition and less effort, 28 April 2009
By 
Holger Hallmann "mediabaer" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was pretty much interested in this one, even anticipated to read it.
In the end I would like to put it into three thirds:
1st Third: Promising, enchanting, even innovative. The premise of Earth's struggle with the Swarm is nicely written and it makes one wonder how the Colony Ships made it in the end. It is innovative writing and written with a tinct of detail, a love which I wanted to see throughout the whole book. Esp. how the former colonists evolved in some kind of own culture was captivating.
2nd Third: All of a sudden the whole action comes into motion. Not bad, if the author all of a sudden creates haste and looses the ambitious details which he employed in the first third. The book looses this considerably in this third.
3rd Third: This is really stitched with a hot needle. Having written a book (okay, a textbook, but what the heck ;o) ...) myself it seemed to me like the author all of a sudden had the intention to finish what he started in a haste. The whole love to detail which he showed in the first third (and obviously slowly lost in the second) is completely gone in the third. The story's resolution comes within less than half the page-amount he used in the first third and you can almost see the editor sitting behind the author, tapping on his/her watch.

The last Third ruins the whole experience. While the first one looked promising the second and third ruin the whole... Obviously the author was more ambitioned than disciplined and lost his love for his own subject(s) while writing.

Sad.

I can't recommend the book, even if it would be interesting to know how the story continues. But then in the end abridged version would do (maybe someone offers a plot description in wikipedia then...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 16 Mar 2010
By 
This is a superb book with characters that just come to life. For once it isn't about the all american hero its about people from scotland, norway and russia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable, 2 July 2010
By 
John Tierney (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm a big fan of (well-written) science fiction, but this was terrible. If you are expecting Iain M. Banks don't even bother. I managed the first 85 pages - it's all very readable, but the introduction of lots of alien civilisations is handled in the most un-wondrous way. I forced myself to keep going to p100 but left the other 500 pages unread I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9ce0478c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews