Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing documentary!
What a wonderful documentary this is. I would recommend it to anybody, young or old, man or woman, boy or girl, not only because I am a huge fan of surfing, but because it's a lovely light documentary on the power of nature and how the waves form and how the moon cycle affects us and nature and ever-powerful water in the ocean creating the most amazing Teahupo'o...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by Lola

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough actual surfing
One would assume that this title features more than 10 minutes of actual surfing action, right?

Wrong.

The movie itself is nothing more than a 40 minute tribute to Tahiti, with a little bit of geography mixed into the gorgeous photography. This in itself is no bad thing, and the whole experience is quite an enjoyable one, but this is not a surf...
Published on 2 Jun 2011 by Dean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing documentary!, 22 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
What a wonderful documentary this is. I would recommend it to anybody, young or old, man or woman, boy or girl, not only because I am a huge fan of surfing, but because it's a lovely light documentary on the power of nature and how the waves form and how the moon cycle affects us and nature and ever-powerful water in the ocean creating the most amazing Teahupo'o waves.

I watched this film in cinema in Germany (sadly, it was not released in the cinemas across the UK) and even though the film was dubbed in German I still thoroughly enjoyed it. The scenery is amazingly beautiful and the whole 45-minutes affair with one of the world's greatest nature wonders (Tahiti and surrounding area of other Polynesian islands) leaves you elated and full of positivity.

Even if you don't have 3D-player, I am more than sure that you will enjoy this film on any given day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning 3D, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
Not that much to say about this 3D bluray except that it has one of the best 3D ever seen (I own many other 3D bluray movies to compare).

The 3D is mainly based on depth effects but is really excellent.

I strongly recommend this video to everyone who wants to fully enjoy his 3D display :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough actual surfing, 2 Jun 2011
By 
Dean - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
One would assume that this title features more than 10 minutes of actual surfing action, right?

Wrong.

The movie itself is nothing more than a 40 minute tribute to Tahiti, with a little bit of geography mixed into the gorgeous photography. This in itself is no bad thing, and the whole experience is quite an enjoyable one, but this is not a surf movie, not even close. The shots that you do get of Slater and Co. taking to the water are fairly mundane, albeit with some 3D technology put forward.

As a showcase for 3D technology, Ultimate Way is quite a good way to show it off. Lush countryside, gorgeous water, and impeccable aerial shots. But don't go in expecting a movie brimming with 3D surf shots, laden with manoeuvres, barrels, etc - there's a few, but they're right at the end, and last about eight minutes in total.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible 3D, 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
If you are buying this because you want a surfing documentary, personally, I would look elsewhere as you may be disappointed. I, on the other hand, wanted something to watch in 3D and was definitely not disappointed!

There are moments when the content pops out of the screen which are incredible, and I often found myself wanting to wipe the lenses of my 3D glasses, thinking the water had splashed on them. Depth and clarity are where this documentary really shines though. At a few different points in the film, two men are speaking in front of the camera whilst others are behind them (vague description as do not want to ruin anything) and it looks as though they are quite literally sat right there, as if your tv is nothing more than a picture frame and they are sat the other side. (Not sure if that description is very good, but the scene is mind blowing, me and a friend were just laughing and reaching out to the screen!)

As I said at the start, this film is not an amazingly informative documentary, there are bits and pieces of information throughout, but they may be lacking if you already know your stuff. If, however, you are just looking for an incredible 3D experience, I can safely say this is the best piece of 3D film i have seen to date! I loved this, even though I am not into surfing at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
very good quality and good way to show case your 3d tv. I prefer to buy something like this than a movie. I could watch this over and over and not have to finish. with movies, once or twice seen, I don't think I will ever want to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Let me down, I expected more for that amount of money, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
Too much bland and dull speech in Too many interviews.
Average waves, not impressed by them at all.
Doesn't show much of "paradise" (the islands and blue seas where it was shot).
Not quite good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not much surfing, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
A lot of in fill shots and sequences.
I was a bit disappointed.
Definitely think a surfing blu ray, which was not that cheap, should have more surfing and less talking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3D Waves, 19 April 2013
By 
Mr. John Maslen (High Wycombe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
I purchased this based on the reviews and wasn't disappointed.

It certainly shows the best aspects of 3D TV/film and would recommend it to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really well filmed 3d DVD, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
One of best 3d effects I have seen. The characters certainly seem to come out of the tv. Very colourful story of life on Tahiti. A nice way to spend a cold winter evening enjoying in 3d the beauty of a wonderful tropic island .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Bore, 5 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D) IMAX (Blu-ray)
A bit boring to be honest. Lots of nice scenery but after a while same old same old. Some 3D DVD's are excellent, this one didn't quite come up to scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8da960)

This product

Ultimate Wave Tahiti 3D (Blu-ray + Blu-ray 3D)  IMAX
13.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews