Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars29
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£79.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2013
Very disappointed with this saw, having been a keen purchaser with over 7 different Bosch power tools. The machine was within it's 2 year warranty as was purchased in Oct. 20112. The saw sudennly burst into flames making an approx 10" long cut through a 1" thick scaffolding plank, when says will work to a cut depth of 57mm in the owners manual.
Contacted Bosch, who arranged for saw to be collected and returned to their service centre. After a few days got email back claiming it wasn't a warranty issue as their engineer says it had been subjected to continuous overload, despite it being only used approx 6 times in the past year.

They also wanted £133.74 to repair the product when it only cost £99.99 from Homebase!
Tried to reason with them, to repair or replace it as a goodwill gesture but they wouldn't budge, so I asked them to return saw.

When I got it out of box, still disassembled, it look's like it's been taken apart by a ham fisted 5 year old, bearing casings smashed on both ends of armature. it is clear from the pristine white shattered plastic around bearings, this was not done when the machine failed.
So Bosch wont stand behind their product and their repair centre have left me with an unrepairable saw.
I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER BOSCH POWER TOOL, based on their shoddy after sales service and will also be taking this matter further with trading standards.
22 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
To be honest I am struggling to find any real negatives with this saw. OK so perhaps it doesn't have a rigid case but I suppose it fits on my shelf in the garage a lot easier without one. There isn't a tool supplied to catch the dust, however I use a small cotton bag 12cm x 20cm with a drawstring and just tie it around the ejector tube and it works a treat you can pick these up most places for about £2 or less and it's a piece of cake to empty. Just make sure you get yourself a good set of ear protection as it is very loud when cutting (as are all saws) and of course eye protection. I spent a lot of time reading through various reviews on a lot of saws before deciding to purchase this one and I am so happy I went with this saw now. 4 STARS only though as a rigid box would have been a nice touch for the price I paid.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
Good saw but wish i'd paid a bit extra and got the BOSCH PKS 55A that comes with a
dust etc collection bag instead of having to attach hoover.And also has a better saw cutting guide.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
I have owned this saw for 15 months of occasional use, 5 or 10 minutes at a time and it did good work without problems. However, sawing a 2.4 metre length of 45mm by 90mm wood in half lengthways burned out the motor in a shower of sparks. I suspect that getting Bosch to fix it will cost more than the price of a new saw judging by other reviews of this device, one reviewer was quoted £133 to repair a similar problem. So be aware that this is a light duty saw for short, intermittent use. You have been warned. By the way, this saw is rated at 1200 watts. I subsequently cut a number of other 2.4 metre lengths of 45x90mm wood in half with a 800 watt table saw with no problems, like a knife though butter and I should have done that in the first place, but heaving 2.4 metre lengths of wood was a bit inconvenient in a small workshop.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
Unfortunately PKS 55 doesn't represent the same quality I've used to connect with the other Bosch's devices. There is a track for a guide rail at the bottom plate, but it's useless because of a design error. Sorry my bad english, but there is a hole on the side of the guide rail track and through the hole is penetrating a plastic edge of the angle adjuster, preventing the guide rail from gliding properly.

You may use a grinder to modify the angle adjuster, but it seems ridiculous to require people to modidy their new saw. And in addition it's almost impossible to find a decent guide rail for PKS 55 or 55 A (they have the same bottom plate), even if you fix the guide rail track first.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
An excellent product, does exactly what I wanted it to do at a fraction of the price of other equal products.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I have bought several Bosch tools over the years, because they were reliable and not too expensive. But I am not sure about this saw.

On the first day of use while ripping wood, the clamp holding the blade at a set depth gave way and the saw just fell downwards towards the ground.

Amazon were very good: they took it back and refunded my money.

So handle with care.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
saw is working away very happy with it, would recommend
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
What a brilliant saw this is. It has been well designed and is easy to adjust with the fixings being very secure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This is an excellent saw(recommend it as a first saw) and does exactly what is says on the tin, Cheers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)