Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good return to form
It was difficult to decide on 4 or 5 stars. In the end I settled for 4 as the album is excellent, but just does not capture the same variety as either Elements CD. Much better than Polaris, in fact IMO the best album for some years.

This is a very very good album, but somehow just does not seem to fully capture the magic that they provide on stage...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by ColinD

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please retire before the legend is entirely destroyed
I was a huge Stratovarius fan until Elements Part 1 when they mellowed and ran completely out of ideas. They soldiered on until the brains behind the band Timo Tolkki left. Eventually the other band members were allowed to keep the name and recruited a young Finnish guitarist to replace Timo.

Unfortunately this has not worked at all. There is clearly far too...
Published on 14 May 2011 by Nightman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good return to form, 24 Feb 2011
This review is from: Elysium (Audio CD)
It was difficult to decide on 4 or 5 stars. In the end I settled for 4 as the album is excellent, but just does not capture the same variety as either Elements CD. Much better than Polaris, in fact IMO the best album for some years.

This is a very very good album, but somehow just does not seem to fully capture the magic that they provide on stage.

If you like Stratovarius you will like this. If you like Hammerfall or Helloween you will like this. A less heavy sound than Iron Savior but some of the song writing is similar.

If if doubt and you have not got the elements CDs go for them instead. If if doubt and you already do, then buy this as you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good effort, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Elysium (MP3 Download)
This is the first album I have by this band. I took the plunge because I kept seeing the name crop up in the circles of melodic/power metal which is a genre I love so much. I am not disappointed at all with this album. I gave it four rather than five stars because I feel it doesn't quite reach its full potential. The album starts with a bang with the fantastic "Darkest Hours", which is the best track on the album in my opinion. That's not to say that the album declines in musical quality as it goes on, but there are the tracks which leave their mark and those that don't. However, this album is well worth purchasing if you are at all into melodic/power metal, or other bands such as Sonata Arctica, Dragonland, etc. Stratovarius do seem to have their own unique sound though and are not some cheap copy or replica of these other great bands. The title track is the longest, but most creative, on the album. It is a very impressive song which takes the listener on a musical journey through a multitude of emotions. As a result of this album, I will definately be looking into this band a little bit more and perhaps purchasing some earlier releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant power metal album, 30 Jun 2011
This review is from: Elysium (Audio CD)
This album was the first thing I ever heard by Stratovarius and, when I heard the final section of the epic title track on Spotify, I was hooked. This was mainly due to how wonderful I thought the singing and the vocal melody was. Timo Kotipelto quickly became my new vocal hero!

With the exception of a track or two, this album is absolutely fantastic from start to finish. Particularly the first three songs really pack a punch with a combination of speed, power and wonderful melodic vocal lines. Also, the lyrics are notably very good as they generally are with Stratovarius. There are also some nice softer moments on the album particularly the track 'Fairness Justified'.

But I would say the crowning glory of the album is the amazing title track which clocks in at 18 minutes. But, for all its length, through brilliant composition, it does not feel this long. It sets up a nice theme and then cleverly weaves it into the whole song in differing variations, the final one of these being the moment which made me acknowledge Stratovarius as a potentially brilliant band.

I suppose I'm unusual in that this album is the first Stratovarius I ever heard and I had no preconceptions about whether or not this album sounded like the old Stratovarius, which is quite different. But now hearing a lot of Stratovarius' albums both old and new, I would still say this album is a great place to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MELODIC METAL, 31 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Elysium (Audio CD)
OUTSTANDING BRAND NEW CD FROM THIS FINNISH MELODIC METAL PIONEERS.TWO YEARS AFTER THE MEDIOCRE "POLARIS" STRATOVARIUS IS BACK TO FORM WITH THEIR STRONGEST EFFORT SINCE "INFINITE".FROM MANY REASONS "ELYSIUM" SOUNDS A LITTLE BIT DIFFERENT.SONGS ARE VERY BEAUTIFUL WRITTEN WITH MUCH MORE PROGRESSIVE AND NEOCLASSIC INFLUENCES WHICH REMINDS ME ALOT OF SYMPHONY X (V) AND ROYAL HUNT (PARADOX).THE TITLE SONG IT'S PROBABLY THE MOST AMBITIOUS EPIC MELODY FROM THEIR ENTIRE CATALOG.TRUE FANS OF THE GENRE WILL LOVE THIS RECORD AND I HOPE TO ATTACHED YOUNG NEW FOLLOWERS.HIGHLY RECOMMANDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Piotto Luca - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium (Audio CD)
GREAT ALBUM
I really liked it, and the cover is just fantastic!
I hadn't it, so I needed to get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful album, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium (Audio CD)
For those who are already fans of the band, this album is a splendid return that doesn't disappoint; it is, in my opinion, their best yet. For newcomers, it is sure to impress any lovers of melodic or power metal. This album sounds quite different to their many others; whether this is a good or bad thing depends on individual taste, but you can't deny the talent behind the music.

"Darkest Hours" is a strong, positive start to the album. The lyrics suggest a fresh start, making it an appropriate first track.

The album wastes no time, following that with the powerful "Under Flaming Skies". It's fast-paced, heart-pumping stuff, and in my opinion the most under-appreciated track. It has that epic feel to it, desired by the majority of power metal, and is definitely worth a few listens.

Next is "Infernal Maze", probably the most well-known song on the CD, and with good reason. The first minute is deceptively calm but not lacking in strong vocals, and then the tempo picks up with very some catchy riffs. The typically metal lyrics are powerfully delivered, and there's a delightful guitar solo to break it up.

Following that is the beautiful "Fairness Justified" which is a perfect example of how melodic metal can be. A good balance of soft and bold vocals with incredibly romantic and meaningful lyrics makes this song a pleasure to listen to.

"The Game Never Ends" is a more up-beat track with darker lyrics, but not once becoming superficial. Perhaps not quite as catchy as previous tracks, but certainly not to be ignored.

"Lifetime In A Moment" starts with peaceful chanting to set the mood. The rest of the song does not hold back on the drums and powerful beats, and has some very strong vocals. It's another track which deserves more attention than it gets.

"Move The Mountain" is the track which always slips my mind, as it's much gentler than the rest of the album. Upon listening to it, the delicate vocals accompany the mystical, charming music effortlessly, making it a pleasant, relaxing listen.

The penultimate track "Event Horizon" brings back the energetic pace and insane guitar solos, but doesn't manage to match the feeling of the album's first half. It tries to emulate the evacuation procedure for some kind of space or science facility, which is reflected in the song's title, but its meaning isn't entirely clear.

Finally, "Elysium". At over 18 minutes long, it requires time to be put aside for just one listen. Don't let the length put you off, as it's worth every second. With a three-part medley structure it's like three songs in one, and as such the melody changes too often for it to get boring. The first part starts gently but steadily gets stronger, while the second part mixes edgier riffs with a catchy chorus. The third and final part is simply enchanting, bringing together delicate music and vocals that be only be described as magical. The result is a truly epic and unforgettable end to the album.

Overall, it is a necessary addition to any melodic metal or power metal collection. I have given it 5 stars because even the couple of tracks which make less of an impact are good songs, and every track on the album is great to listen to individually or as an album playthrough. The entire album feels genuine and meaningful, and Stratovarius have succeeded in everything they set out to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STRATO/AWSOME!, 4 Jun 2012
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elysium (Audio CD)
I haven't many cds of this band ,but this one is my 4th ,I will be getting all of their output ,Superb power ballads on this album ,and guitars WOW! ,never heard of
these guys until I bought a copy of 'Visions' in mint condition from my local market
man who sells (DVDS/CDS) took a chance bought it ,and was hooked ,so now getting all
of their CDS ,I would definately recommend ,told a friend of mine ,now he's hooked as well ,BUY THIS IN FACT BUY ALL STRATO ALBUMS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please retire before the legend is entirely destroyed, 14 May 2011
By 
Nightman (St Albans UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elysium (Audio CD)
I was a huge Stratovarius fan until Elements Part 1 when they mellowed and ran completely out of ideas. They soldiered on until the brains behind the band Timo Tolkki left. Eventually the other band members were allowed to keep the name and recruited a young Finnish guitarist to replace Timo.

Unfortunately this has not worked at all. There is clearly far too much inflence in the song writing by Jens Johannson resulting in an abundance of insipid boring ballands and meandering songs with basically no balls.

They are equally poor on stage with this new lineup - no stage presence whatsover and simply boring.

Barely one song worthy of the Stratovarius name here and even worse than Polaris.

For those Stratovarius fans who yearn for the highlights of the pre Elements days then I strongly suggest you purchase the debut albums by SYMFONIA and REVOLUTION RENAISSANCE (New Era) oddly enough they both feature Timo Tolkki. But don't bother with the 2nd and 3rd albums from the now defunct Revolution Renaissance as Timo quickly lost the plot with that band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elysium
Elysium by Stratovarius (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews