Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer briliance.
I personally thought that this was an extremely accessible album, though a tad long. Songs such as Teenage Riot, Silver Rocket and Total Trash will enter your head and refuse to leave, while some of the Kim Gordon sung ones (the Sprawl) might take a few listens. Just buy it. It was the first Sonic Youth album i bought, and though it isn't really a typical one (since...
Published on 22 Aug. 2000

versus
11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dare I say it... overrated. Now hate me.
I've been seeing a lot of fuss about this record recently, especially since Sonic Youth played it in it's entirety at a festival in the US this summer. I've had this record for quite a long time now, but I'm afraid the penny has never quite dropped for me. I keep returning to it every once in a while just to see if I'm ever going to join that legion of SY fans and critics...
Published on 28 Sept. 2007 by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal album from American art-rockers, 28 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
This is a masterpiece. I could have just said that and left it, but i'll go into more depth. This is one of the greatest albums you could ever get the chance to hear so you must try your damned hardest to do so. From the very opening track you get this feeling that you've just let yourself in for an absolute classic. Stand out tracks are opener "Teenage Riot", "The Sprawl" and "'Cross the Breeze". This is a beautiful marriage of punk rock, grunge, dischordant detuned guitars and four of the greatest musicians on earth. What are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cross the breeze, 13 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Vinyl)
Anyone who doesn't like this song needs some hearing aids, I must admit i've only been introduced to sonic youth recently with this album and i loved it dearly, i don't know what else to say except buy this album for 'cross the breeze and the sprawl, you'll love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 29 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
i got this cd about a month ago and at first i wasnt to surre. its not very accessible.you have to listen for quite a while before you really appreciate the songs.teenage riot,candle,silver rokket and basically all the songs are absolutely great.i agree with the other reviewer if your new to sonic youth as i was buy this and then buy all the rest like i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Progressive Rock Band It's Okay To Like, 30 May 2008
By 
A. Mee "amee" (Kildare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
Although I loathe the ridiculous hyperbole that surrounds this album I've resisted the urge to give it a two star rating. Thanks to the music press, Sonic Youth's bloated double album Daydream Nation has been revered as the holy grail of 1980s non-stadium rock. However, I have never been a fan of this album.

To give them their dues, Sonic Youth have a unique sound. There are parts of this album that are incredibly dissonant, and the band are able to create impressively dense textures given the fact that they're a four-piece. They are known for utilising alternate guitar tunings, as well as playing behind the bridge on their Fender Jazzmasters. In fact, the instrumentals are most interesting part of the album, especially the first two parts of the Trilogy. My problem with Sonic Youth is that they try to incorporate their guitar innovations into songs. Terrible, terrible songs. Thurston Moore sings like a bad Iggy Pop impersonator and Kim Gordon squeals and grunts like a pig being slaughtered. The songs themselves are very poor, and the lyrics in particular are awful; check out Gordon's pitiful attempt at beat poetry on The Sprawl.

I'm of the opinion that the songs are actually just set dressing for the band's instrumentals. This is one of the main problems I have with this album; it seems very cynical, as though it has been contrived to impress critics and hipsters and to alienate fans of pop music. The likes of The Velvet Underground, The Ramones, The Jesus and Mary Chain and My Bloody Valentine have succeeded in making music that is both accessible and groundbreaking. Bands like these, however, are few and far between. On the other side of the coin, bands like Sonic Youth and Big Black found that it was easier to create music that was crude and jarring, and become darlings of the music press than to create something genuinely beautiful. On the whole Daydream Nation is an album of interesting sounds and poor songwriting. File alongside Frank Zappa and Captain Beefheart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total trash, 17 Jun. 2011
By 
A. RAMM "Derrick" (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Daydream Nation (Audio CD)
This album is total trash. It's starts out at the top, but then just seems to spiral down into garbage. Basically, the album works best when the songs are lost, almost, one could say, digging under the ground. Total trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daydream Nation
Daydream Nation by Sonic Youth
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews