Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brain Box!!
I bought two of these as Christmas gifts. A friend has another one in the set which I have played with my son. He is not a keen reader but the fun of the game meant that he really enjoyed studying the cards. I think these games are great fun and good value.
Published on 26 Dec. 2011 by Flo

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gift
This was bought as a gift at Christmas so I have absolutely no idea if it is any good or not, sorry.
Published 14 months ago by Nanny C


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brain Box!!, 26 Dec. 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
I bought two of these as Christmas gifts. A friend has another one in the set which I have played with my son. He is not a keen reader but the fun of the game meant that he really enjoyed studying the cards. I think these games are great fun and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This could be so good for you, 12 Feb. 2013
By 
Hal Marshall "It wasn't me!" (Brentwood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
I bought this, the latest in rather a long and rather illustrious list of BrainBox purchases, for my little relative's recent 8th birthday. She was headed off to The Smoke for the weekend in order to see the sights. Not the regular tourist sights either, but a trip that was designed to incorporate as many as possible of the locations used during the making of 'Minder' that are still in any way recognisable. She's got a bit of a crush on Terry McCann you see. And sometimes Mr Chisholm. Mind you, her four year old sister refers to Arthur Daley as her 'boyfriend', which may just be ever so slightly more eccentric.

Anyway, back to the game. As with all of the Brainboxes that we have so far had dealings with there are various ways of playing this, lots of ways of adjusting things in order to maintain interest / prevent sulks of epic proportions. I believe the family approached this particular one as some sort of tourist guide to begin with. Each card includes a fascinating fact about a part of London together with a map of that area, details of the buses that visit it, significant buildings to be found there etc. They dumped the box and its associated die and egg-timer in their room, as it was a lot easier to simply shove a few of the cards in their pockets and head off out in search of adventure. The four year old wasn't interested in any way whatsoever, but then the game is supposed to be for ages eight and above anyway so that is not all that surprising. She was far too excited by the prospect of a photo-opportunity down at the Albert Hall, accompanied by her own eight year old minder.

I'm told that these cards proved very useful as talking points during the long and sometimes arduous bus trips around the city, or while waiting for meals in the various restaurants. Naturally the grown-ups took part - and were soundly thrashed by their much younger opponent. According to them, this was a deliberate ploy to 'raise her self-esteem', but personally speaking I think that's a load of hogwash. Oh, the four year old did finally show some interest when they got back to their room and she discovered that the cards could all be rather cleverly put together to form a map of London. It's quite a challenge to do, but they did tell me that once their parents stopped trying to 'help' things moved at a far more rapid pace.

Since they've been back they have been enthusiastically raving about the game. They did try me on a few of the cards but, like their parents, I made myself look as thick as two short planks in a rather noble act of self-sacrifice. I too wanted to 'raise their self-esteem'. No - really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brain Box Lodon, 9 Jan. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
On Christmas day 8 of us enjoyed playing the game. We were aged 12yrs to 80 and it was suitable for all. I look forward to playing it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 9514juliem, 28 Jan. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
WOW what a fantastic game. My daughters were very impressed. It is a fun memory game which can be played by a group or solo. You can choose how long you wish to play for and will also help your childs concentration and memory skills. We were so impressed that we bought another 4 brainbox games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great,, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
My son loves these BrainBox games - pick a card and study the picture for a limited number of seconds, then answer a question to see how observant you are and test your memory. This London edition is one of several but is extra cool because it makes a map of London when you set all the cards out on a table. It would be a fun game for Christmas Day for all the family to share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little game, 18 Oct. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
A really simple game that is surprisingly very fun to play for kids and adults alike!! Hope to try others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 8 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
Bought these for some International Students they seemed to really enjoy it - better than sightseeing on a wet day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
great game for ages and is quite fun when you have to reach from a to b. everyone got quite competitive though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good puzzle and map, 15 Aug. 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
Product arrived on time. Good puzzle for kids and you can fit pieces together to make London map and educates famous London icons and locations and helps with memory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift..., 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BrainBox - London (Toy)
This was a gift for my friends young children, in an effort tpo get them excited and interested in visiting London. I had a note back informing me that theu loved it and were excited about visiting. So worked I guess!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BrainBox - London
BrainBox - London by The Green Board Game Co.
£6.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews