Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Keeps Me Hoping Still..." - Strange Kind Of Love by LOVE and MONEY (2010 Expanded CD Remaster)
LOVE and MONEY had popped out their debut album "All You Need Is..." on Mercury Records in 1986 to critical acclaim, but only slight public interest. All of that changed for the Scottish soul rockers with their sophisticated and smart 2nd album.

"Strange Kind Of Love" was UK released on LP, MC and CD in October 1988 on Fontana SFLP 7, SFMC 7 and 836 49-2...
Published on 17 Jun. 2010 by Mark Barry

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit too 80s
This album is so much of its time (& it was a questionable time). I'd give it TWO AND A HALF STARS because it stands above so many of the bad records being made, but time has been unkind to it. The slightly stark ear-jarring sound and mannered (soul pretentions) of the vocals ruin some potentially good songs (he has a good voice, but it's the style that doesn't last)...
Published on 10 May 2012 by johnny outlook


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Keeps Me Hoping Still..." - Strange Kind Of Love by LOVE and MONEY (2010 Expanded CD Remaster), 17 Jun. 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Strange Kind Of Love (Audio CD)
LOVE and MONEY had popped out their debut album "All You Need Is..." on Mercury Records in 1986 to critical acclaim, but only slight public interest. All of that changed for the Scottish soul rockers with their sophisticated and smart 2nd album.

"Strange Kind Of Love" was UK released on LP, MC and CD in October 1988 on Fontana SFLP 7, SFMC 7 and 836 49-2 respectively. In keeping with the times, both the cassette and the CD carried a lone bonus track - "Scapegoat" - to entice people away from the 10-track vinyl version. It was also produced by GARY KATZ of STEELY DAN fame and carried the then desirable DDD code on the rear (a Full Digital Recording). I picked up on the title track's CD single and have loved the album ever since - even hoping it might one day get Universal's 2CD DELUXE EDITION treatment...but alas.

Which brings us to this Cherry Red April 2010 reissue on CDMRED442. It's the 11-track CD version with a further 6 bonus demos added on (79:21 minutes). This new version features involvement from two principal members of the original band - lead singer and songwriter JAMES GRANT and Keyboardist PAUL McGEECHAN. The booklet's not bad (Halleluiah has been properly spelled as Hallelujah), but disappointingly its 12-pages excludes the lyrics and a few pictures that came with the original issue and although both of the boys and Katz have provided new comments on the album, they're short and strangely uninformative.

But the really great news is the SOUND...

Paul McGeechan has handled the remaster himself using the original tapes and he's done a fabulous job. The original CD (despite being DDD) used to sound ever so slightly subdued - clinically clean even... Well now it has real muscle and on some tracks is hugely improved to a genuinely thrilling level. The punch out of the slinky "Shape Of Things To Come" is just brill, while "Axis Of Love" has huge guitars and drums now. It's a massively improved remaster and makes the aging original redundant. Guests included Jeff Pocaro of Toto on drums and Timothy B. Schmidt of The Eagles on backing vocals.

The big letdown is the extras. Ok, the six demo tracks are new, but they just sound like lesser run-throughs to me and aren't really that interesting or even different. The pick of the crop is a more brass/harmonica version of "Up Escalator", but the others sound way too much like INXS rejects. Which brings me to what could have been on here...

In the UK Fontana released 4 singles off the album - "Halleluiah Man" (September 1988), "Strange Kind Of Love" (January 1989), "Jocelyn Square" (March 1989) and finally "Up Escalator" (June 1989). As well as CD singles there were a plethora of 7" and 12" single versions - almost all of them with exclusive non-album tracks and extended remixes. Some were truly fantastic songs and have remained firm fan favourites ever since. There's the original 1988 version of "Looking For Angeline" from "Strange Kind Of Love", the lovely "Wanderlust 2" from "Halleluiah Man" and "Saint Henry" from "Jocelyn Square" - it's these that I would have preferred to see on here in upgraded remastered form. Like Deacon Blue, The Silencers, Kate Bush, Lies Damned Lies and Prefab Spout - Love And Money B-sides were always worth collecting. Pity Cherry Red chose not to use some of them here.

To sum up - a fantastic remaster then, disappointing extras and an adequate booklet.

The third member of the band Bass Player BOBBY PATERSON (ex Primal Scream) died in 2006 in Glasgow and he is recalled in the liner notes as their 'absent friend'. It's great to see both him and the album he was involved in remembered so well after all these years in the wilderness...

What a great little band Love And Money was - I remember them with such affection. From here, it was on to their true masterpiece - "Dogs In The Traffic" from 1991 and hopefully Cherry Red will tackle that too.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Forgotten classic!, 29 May 2006
This review is from: Strange Kind of Love (Audio CD)
It pains me to say that this gem of an album housed some of the best peices of music from the late eighties that was barely heard by the masses. True music fans heard the single 'Halleluiah Man' and then set about finding this album. Released in 1988 it was the follow up to 1986's 'All You Need Is..Love and Money' which spawned the much played singles 'River Of People' and 'The Candybar Express'. This set was obviously more sophisticated, a top producer in Gary Katz was drafted in to bring a more produced sound rather than the raw edge of the debut.

The songs were more melodic and the lyrics more attuned to everyday people's experiences.
'The Shape Of Things To Come' is a beautiful ballad of the highest quality, heartfelt lyrics which depict the absolute helplessness of the heart when without the object of its desire.
'A Strange Kind Of Love', another single is a cracking dance track, not that my local DJ ever played it, he was far too scared that he'd clear the dancefloor, better to stick with the boring manufactured drivvle that was around!
'Axis Of Love' is a clever use of words to describe the turbulence surrounding the struggles of keeping a relationship. On to another single
'Jocelyn Square' where we get the best lyrics " I still think about you, but only really when it rains" In Scotland it rains a lot!
'Walk The Last Mile' is another slow, moody ballad where we find songwriter James Grant in absolute awe of someone, " In your light I crumble" "Your at the centre of everything I do, wherever I go, I'll walk the last mile with you" A modern day poet indeed!

I agree with the previous reviewer, this reissue should have included the rather great b-sides that are not so available now, especially 'Love Is A Million Miles Away' 'Wanderlust' and 'Set The Night On Fire'. There was a 4th single released 'Up Escalator' which was aimed at the Christmas market, showcasing three brand new songs, the best of which was 'Soon'

This was the band's most successful album, selling over 250,000 copies worldwide if I remember correctly, going silver in the UK. It deserves to be triple platinum, more people should be aware of this album, Buy it now in your thousands!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last - available again, 17 May 2010
By 
Dan Glaser "danglase" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strange Kind Of Love (Audio CD)
After many years of being unavailable, this wonderfully atmospheric album finds its way back onto the shop shelves. All credit to Cherry Red Records then for giving it a new lease of life. I have one issue though. The original album had the lyrics to the songs but this time round, they've been omitted. Why, oh why, do they do this to us? They have researchers who look into these sorts of things, so why is the booklet now coming up short? How much more would it have cost to include a couple of extra pages to accommodate the lyrics? It's really annoying. To be fair though, the same omissions have been made with ELO and Alan Parsons Project rereleases, so other record companies are guilty of this practice too. Perhaps someone from the record companies might read this one day and respond accordingly on future reissues. By the way, 5 stars here of course for the music itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shimmering!, 17 Aug. 2005
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Strange Kind of Love (Audio CD)
Strange Kind Of Love was one of my absolute favourite CDs of the late 80's and I still have the original CD release on Fontana. It's nice to see it get a well-deserved re-release, but it's a shame that some of the tracks from the album's singles were included too. More on that later.
Onto the album itself. There are just so many great tracks that's it's difficult to know where to start. The album is certainly helped by the discipline instilled by Gary Katz, who was also Steely Dan's producer. James Grant's voice has never sound sweeter than on this album and I think that has a lot to do with Katz's style.
"Halleluiah Man" kicks the whole thing off and is a superb, swaggering thing of beauty - this was the first single from the album way back in 1988 and it really deserved to be an almighty hit. As with the rest of the album, the lyrics are superb and would stand up on their own without music, which you can't say about too many songs: "I'm the back sheep while the shepherd sleeps, I'll do anything to bring the government down".
There were quite a few singles culled from this album, the aforementioned "Halleuiah Man", the title track, "Jocelyn Square" and "Up Escalator", which I think was one single too far.
These singles featured songs which were absolute corkers and for some reason were left of the album. Tracks such as "She Carved Her Name", "Set The Night On Fire" and "Saint Henry" would have set quite nicely along with "Inflammable" and "Avalanche", which are the two best tracks on the album for me. Both are sparkling tracks with Grant's usual clever lyrics.
I can't recommend this album enough. One of the best "lost classics" ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desert Island Disc, 18 July 2002
By 
D. Rees "reesd63" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strange Kind of Love (Audio CD)
I bought this album after hearing 'Halleluiah Man' in my local pub back in '89. Every track is instantly likeable, a rare quality in an eleven track album. For as long as I've had it, it has been the one album I can honestly say I would select to live on a desert island if I could only take one. Good lyrics when you get past the brilliant sounds, buy it, believe me! When you have heard this you will want more and the other L&M albums are also very good but this is my favorite.Easily worth six stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Class, 22 May 2001
By 
A. McGhie "musikjunkio" (East Kilbride) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strange Kind of Love (Audio CD)
Over the last few years James Grant has proven himself as one of Scotland's leading singer/songwriters. Admittedly his best work can be found on the album's after this, most notably L&Ms 'Dogs In The Traffic' and his two solo records to date, however this record contains most of L&Ms best knows songs, minor hits like 'Jocelyn Square', 'Halleluiah Man' and the title track. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the money!, 11 Dec. 2008
By 
This review is from: Strange Kind of Love (Audio CD)
I remember a friend including the song 'Strange kind of love' on a compilation tape he recorded for me in high school in 1989-ish. I loved it and saved up enough pocket money to buy the album on cassette. I played it endlessly, learnt the lyrics, and even based an art project on the song 'Shape of things to come'... some kind of collage thing featuring a marionette as a fortune teller gazing into a crystal ball. I still have it in a folder and looking at it now makes me cringe a little. It hasn't aged well. Unlike this album.

'Strange Kind of Love' is, to use a cliche, a slice of pop perfection. It's unmistakably Scottish and unmistakably 80's but not in a bad way, as it never actually sounds old or outdated. James Grant's lyrics and delivery are razor sharp, the songs are beautifully crafted and the superb production really took the band from their previous album (All you need is) to a whole other level. I've always considered this to be a perfect album in a technical sense, in that every line, every beat, every slap on the bass or little twang of guitar is so well considered and perfectly placed. But far from sounding soulless, cold or contrived it's full of feel and emotion.

Think mid to late 80's Scottish bands and the likes of Big Country, Simple Minds, Wet Wet Wet and Deacon Blue spring immediately to mind due to their great commercial success. But at the same time there were a number of other brilliant bands creating absolute gems of songs and albums, bands like The Blue Nile, Hipsway, The Big Dish, and above all... Love and Money. This album remains one of my all time favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece - one of the best albums ever released, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Strange Kind Of Love (Audio CD)
The is no doubt this album is one of the lost masterpieces in music and still resides in my all time top 10. Its great to see it re issued and no mater what you think of the extras, the music sounds better than ever. Although James Grant has brought out some fine solo work, especially Sawdust in my veins, My Thrawn glory & his latest Strange Flowers, in my opinion this is his finest hour.
I recently saw James play at the Queens Hall, Edinburgh and the crowd wouldnt let him leave the stage. He finally said ok, any requests to which someone shouted Strange Kind of Love. Despite being unreheased and have never played live for years he said he would have a go..... one word sumed it up - Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not strange but quality, 8 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Strange Kind of Love (Audio CD)
I never really had any dealings with this group in the eighties apart from the hit single Strange kind of Love which i loved and it inevitably ended up with me purchasing this album at a later date.
I have to say it is one of the finest in a rather large collection which i own. So good in fact i bought it twice (in error)as i was horified to discover it missing one day.
The guitar rifts are exquisite and James Grant's voice makes his namesake David a poor relation.
The opening track Halleluiah Man has a political edge as after over a decade of Tory rule, they like a lot of us at that time felt like taking a torch to it all.I am pleased they never as this is head and shoulders above anything else from that era.
It is difficult to pick tracks out as they are all superb but gems are Strange Kind OF Love,Walk the last Mile,Inflammable,Jocelyn Square, and Halleluiah man.
Trust me if you have any better albums they will be very few and far between.
The production on this is immense.
Enjoy. I know you will.Quality Quality Quality .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic albums ... Oh yes!, 12 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Strange Kind of Love (Audio CD)
The quality of James Grant's song writing is simply breathtaking. A music collection without this and the later Dogs in the Traffic album for me is un- thinkable. Buy this and any other Love andMoney / James Grant solo material and you are buying music that will be on your playlists until you breath your last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strange Kind of Love
Strange Kind of Love by Love & Money
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews