Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A claustrophobia-inducing thriller
Buried features Ryan Reynolds (The Nines) as Paul Conroy, a man who wakes up in coffin with little idea how he got there other than a vague recollection of his supply convoy being attacked by insurgents. Buried in the desert with no way out, he resorts to the contents of his pockets for a life line and chance of escape.

Buried is an excellent concept, faced...
Published on 18 Jan 2011 by J. Morris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure
The artwork for this film was fantastic however its left me in limbo....the film in itself it fantastic considering its just about a guy stuck in a box for 2 hours but the end divided me it was just too simple
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by RossBis


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A claustrophobia-inducing thriller, 18 Jan 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buried [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Buried features Ryan Reynolds (The Nines) as Paul Conroy, a man who wakes up in coffin with little idea how he got there other than a vague recollection of his supply convoy being attacked by insurgents. Buried in the desert with no way out, he resorts to the contents of his pockets for a life line and chance of escape.

Buried is an excellent concept, faced with the option of certain death, how far would you go to get out? Ryan Reynolds plays the role fantastically as he goes through the full range of emotions, from the initial terror, rage at being put on hold whilst in a life or death situation or even the joyful release when he finally gets in touch with his wife. He should be commended for carrying this entire film on his shoulders and making it a plausible and dramatic experience to boot, really inspiring empathy for his character.

Whilst one might find it strange to praise the cinematic direction of a film shot entirely inside of a coffin; the limited space and claustrophobic environ is used to absolute perfection. The film has marked themes signified by the colour of the light inside the coffin changing, moving from the yellow of a lighter flame to the screen-glow blue of the blackberry to the green of the glowsticks and finally the red of the signal-filter on a flashlight. Each motif is fitting with the pacing of the scene and resultantly I felt that Rodrigo Cortés' direction was truly impeccable.

Extra content: There is a making of featurette called "Unearthing Buried" which was pretty entertaining seeing how they managed the swooping shots inside of the coffin over the actor. There is also an interview with Ryan Reynolds on why he wanted to do Buried called "What attracted you to the film Buried" and finally there is the cinematic trailer. Nothing overly special, but wrapped up in a neat menu system.

All in all, a tense and claustrophobic thriller with excellent production values and a brilliant performance from Reynolds. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half the terror being buried alive, half the terror being put on hold., 13 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Buried [DVD] (DVD)
If you're even vaguely claustrophobic, you will experience one of the most relentless and nerve shredding 95 minutes of your life. Even worse for me was the frustration, panic and anger with the people Paul deals with on the phone; this movie is not only incredibly intense, but has a resounding political message on how different departments and institutions deal with situations like these.

The directing and writing is absolutely excellent, which is two of the main aspects which make this film a success; I've been a Ryan Reynolds fan for a few years, and I've watched and loved him in various comic and romantic movies, but this really proves what a fantastic actor he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Innovative and well crafted - yet scope too limited to entertain, 2 July 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buried [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A bold move, making a movie set entirely inside a coffin.. full of innovative ideas to keep the action as fresh as possible, with an involving performance from Ryan Reynolds.. however, all that effort just doesn't quite get over the fact that this is a movie - set in a box.
We open the movie with Ryan Reynolds waking up in the titular state, and becoming aware of his surroundings. As he calls on his phone for help and tries to contact his family, we learn how it happened, and Reynolds convincingly portrays the different stages of emotion one might expect to feel under such circumstances. A multitude of camera angles, a surprising variety of lighting and varying tones as his conversations switch from his potential rescuer to his family to the perpetrator, do their best to keep involvement at its peak. In the end though, it ultimately seems a somewhat shallow affair - it is clever and intelligent enough to be thought provoking, but the premise limited enough that the thoughts provoked don't go far.
Plaudits to all concerned, not least Reynolds for holding his own throughout the movie, and to the imagination of cinematographer and director - I love to see movies that experiment like this being made.. but it doesn't stop me finding in the end that this particular experiment didn't quite cut it. (4/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buried - Under Ground., 18 Nov 2012
This review is from: Buried [DVD] (DVD)
If you don't like a film that is set in the one scene this won't be for you.

As I've said in some of my previous film reviews despite being only one and a half hours long it feels a lot longer for the majority of the film. As is often the case in a lot of films, the last fifteen to twenty minutes are really good and I won't spoil it for you but I quite liked the ending.

I can imagine some people out there not liking the movie, but for me it was a worthy watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Dark Burial., 22 Jun 2012
This review is from: Buried [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I very much enjoyed this film. However ALL the 'action' taked place inside a coffin and so I'd advise NOT to buy this one IF you're looking for a film to demonstrate blu-ray, visually. It's realistic so as you can immagine the lighting throughout the film is very low even absent, briefly, at times. For this reason I suspect that you'd not notice much diference viewing it on dvd, either. Don't get me wrong: it's as it should be but as stated don't buy if you're looking for a demonstration of blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for taphophobics!, 25 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Buried [DVD] (DVD)
Do you remember that scene in Kill Bill where Uma Thurman gets buried alive? This film takes that idea and - amazingly - manages to stretch it to a feature length movie. It sounds impossible but is actually very clever, endlessly inventive and uses some amazing photographic tricks and turns to make a coffin a claustrophobic but `big' setting. It's incredibly tense and exciting and Ryan Reynolds puts in an amazing performance. There's also has the funniest put down to an annoying telephone operator since Bruce Willis told 911 emergency services he wasn't ordering a pizza. Recommend - but not for taphophobics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars C A P T I V A T I N G !, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: Buried [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A well made 2010 film, with a difference. A guy buried in a wooden box. But he's alive - that's the difference! And that terrifying scenario makes up the entire film. Yes, the entire film!! But I was 'captivated' for that duration. And I really couldn't wait to get to the end.

I found myself closing my eyes and stopping my breath for as long as I could, trying to feel what the guy was going through. Cremation came to mind several times as a preferred method of eventual disposal. Anything but the horrifying risk of being buried alive.

Not a film that one can watch more than once (or twice if you're stuck on a desert island), but I still suggest that you see it, unless you suffer from severe claustrophobia or depression, in which case decline all offers at all cost.

One thing is for sure though - you will thank God for your existence after seeing this. Your complaints about life in general will subside too (for a while though), 'cos you now know that things could be much much worse.

Another certainty is that you will not forget this film. It will haunt you for a long time. Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Sure, 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Buried [DVD] (DVD)
The artwork for this film was fantastic however its left me in limbo....the film in itself it fantastic considering its just about a guy stuck in a box for 2 hours but the end divided me it was just too simple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Brilliance, 7 July 2011
This review is from: Buried [DVD] (DVD)
A first I was a little reluctant to watch this movie as I had heard the whole movie takes place in a coffin underground. However I couldnt be more glad I did.

Paul Conroy, An American truck driver working in Iraq wakes up to find himself 6 feet underground in a coffin with one tool for any chance of rescue, a mobile phone quickly running out of battery.

I don't understand why some people greatly dislike 'Buried'. And to give the reason that it was rubbish because the 'whole film takes place in a box' is an unfair statement. For me this is what made the film great. From the moment the film begins it sucks you in to the convincingly acted character Paul Conroy's horrific situation.

Like many others my ultimate fear is being buried alive, which made me occasionaly think of what it would be like to be in Paul Conroy's position giving me an overwhelming sense of terror. It steers away from the usual cliche hollywood plot of heroes and villains and without spoling anything, Paul soon learns that everything about his situation isnt as black and white as he first thinks, delivering the audience with a disturbing political message.

See this film! It's not to be missed. Reminded me a little of phonebooth but with less of the hollywood directing and plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seems that this movie divides extremely the audience, 4 May 2011
By 
as "as" (dilbeek ,Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Buried [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
this is a special movie, that's for sure : better not reveal anything about the storyline, nor the end,in order to preserve the (dis)pleasure of the viewer.I would say that this movie respects the uniqueness of time, of place and of action, so it deserves to be presented as a "classic antique tragedy". It is also very empathic, which to my eyes is a must for a survival movie. Even if the action is restrained (well what had you expected?), there are enough twists in the storyline, to make you pass through the whole spectrum of human emotions going from total despair, to avenging anger , passing by deep anguish and sadness....add to it a droplet of cynism, and you get a masterpiece.this movie has worked perfectly for me, but I sure understand that it won't do it for everyone. But wait for "Buried II",realized by James Cameron, maybe there will be more action in this one.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabe18fe4)

This product

Buried [Blu-ray]
Buried [Blu-ray] by Ryan Reynolds (Blu-ray - 2011)
6.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews