Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing masterpiece
After the brilliant cover versions of classic punk era on 'Yan, Tyan, Tethera, Methera' it it's hard to produce a second album that comes anywhere near the same standard.

All I can say is 'By Hook or By Crook' not only meets this standard, it's surpasses it. None of the tracks are sub-standard to the originals, they only compliment them and, dare I say, better...
Published on 15 Nov 2010 by Billy Boy

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Crap
Don't like it -no..............words too slow and boring- he's a good comic though and a good presenter ang good comic
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing masterpiece, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
After the brilliant cover versions of classic punk era on 'Yan, Tyan, Tethera, Methera' it it's hard to produce a second album that comes anywhere near the same standard.

All I can say is 'By Hook or By Crook' not only meets this standard, it's surpasses it. None of the tracks are sub-standard to the originals, they only compliment them and, dare I say, better some.

This blend of Irish style folk with the raw (and in some case not so raw) lyrics of the punk bands produces a sound that is melodious and, being able to hear the lyrics, thought provoking.

The star track must be 'Ever Fallen in Love with Someone (You Shouldn't've).

If you are a fan of punk and folk this is a must for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, toe tapping tunes!, 5 Mar 2012
By 
S. Ford (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
This is the second album from the Bad Shepherds that I have purchased. Really enjoyed it. Didnt know as many songs as the last album I bought (sorry, too young!). But great anyway. Keep 'em coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
This is a great CD to relax to, though I'm betting you won't be able to resist singing along ;-) loved the version of Ace of Spades and Making Plans For Nigel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New life in old bottles, 4 Dec 2013
By 
John (Brighton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
Their version of Friday Night, Saturday Morning is wonderful - beautifully rendered, full of pathos, longing, regret and even better than the original.
Ade Edmondson is a really fine singer and its obvious that he loves and understands his material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BAD Shepherds, 14 Jan 2012
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
Love this group, seen them live several times, really great music, great concept, Folk Punk, great change from Folk Rock! Shame they're taking a break!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Bad Shepherds, 9 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
Very decidedly a "not bad" CD, [definitely 'listenable'] but not as strong as their previous offering "Yan, Tyan, Tethera, Methera!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh folk! They've done it again............., 17 Nov 2010
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
Nice one chaps!

Was a bit concerned that a second album might fall short of the standards set by the first. No need to have worried though. This is another gem.

Not alot to say except to say it's fun, it's fresh, and it's damned good. Classic tunes given the Shepherds treatment. Shouldn't work this time either, but it does.

White Riot is the standout for me. It tops the album off.

This will be getting played rather alot. Do yourself a favour and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
Great Album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Greenlaw, Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
I used to think the whole punk movement had passed me by, but it turns out I remember and still enjoy, the classics (if you can call them that), albeit folked-up in a delightfully foot-stomping manner. This will get you drumming on the steering wheel and make you want to go to a Ceilidh within minutes of hitting play. I've seen these guys live too and they've left nothing of the excitement or playfulness out of the studio. Buy it - it will make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. P. J. Simmons "Phil" (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: By Hook Or By Crook (Audio CD)
Great listen and I will show it to my mates. I sure will buy more like this with no worries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

By Hook Or By Crook
By Hook Or By Crook by The Bad Shepherds
Buy MP3 Album£7.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews