Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A whale of a good time
Whenever my faith in The Asylum begins to waver, a movie like 2010: Moby Dick comes along to remind me why I am, in all probability, the world's most unabashed admirer of this film company's low-budget wares. I'm certainly not saying this modern cinematic adaptation is going to supplant Herman Melville's epic masterpiece of literature, nor am I nominating it for any...
Published on 3 Oct 2011 by Daniel Jolley

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Renée O'Connor and a giant Dick...
Whilst it's certainly not the worst straight-to-syfy-channel movie I've seen, Moby Dick 2010 still suffers from the usual rather cardboard acting and downright dodgy CGI that blights most of these movies.

Updating the Moby Dick tale had potential I suppose, but they made this whale so ridiculously gigantic that any semblance of reality flies out the porthole...
Published on 1 May 2011 by Cartimand


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A whale of a good time, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Whenever my faith in The Asylum begins to waver, a movie like 2010: Moby Dick comes along to remind me why I am, in all probability, the world's most unabashed admirer of this film company's low-budget wares. I'm certainly not saying this modern cinematic adaptation is going to supplant Herman Melville's epic masterpiece of literature, nor am I nominating it for any "best" of film awards. What I am saying is that 2010: Moby Dick is just great fun to watch. So what if Moby Dick could never be easily mistaken for an actual whale? Heck fire, Moby Dick has always been - more than anything else - a metaphor for any number of things dreamed up by literary critics. The same can be said of Ahab and his mad quest to exact his revenge on the great whale. This movie, in my opinion, actually manages to explore some of the same themes as the original novel - it doesn't get very far or do it all that well, but I was surprised just to see the effort made along those lines.

For all of its fakeness, Moby Dick is really a sight to behold - over six hundred feet long, battle-scarred, and bristling with the remains of dozens of harpoons over the years. Even a military submarine is no match for this beast of the sea - and that gets us to Ahab. Having seen the whale first-hand back in 1969 and blaming him for the loss of his leg, this young navy man overcame his physical handicap (and the fact that he is pretty much insane) to rise to the command of a nuclear submarine in today's American fleet - a submarine he personally refortified and redesigned as the final step in his master plan to hunt down and kill the whale that took his leg. Now he's gone rogue, telling his crew that he has orders to hunt down Moby Dick and boat-napping "whale language" expert Dr. Michelle Herman (Renee O'Connor) to help him track down the beast. The Navy doesn't take kindly to a madman with stripes leaving the reservation with a nuclear submarine, leaving Ahab little time to find the whale before the Navy finds him. Modern-day versions of Queequeg, Starbuck, and Stub are just along for the ride.

I actually liked the ending, even though it's the type of ending that most viewers will find incomplete and disappointing, and there are some great moments along the way. It's great fun to watch Captain Ahab (Barry Bostwick) stomp around (with his artificial leg) and chew up the scenery as he proclaims the deadly menace of Moby Dick, and the whale has some pretty good scenes as he basically toys with the man he knows to be his mortal enemy. There's even one point where the whale surfaces purely in order to laugh at Ahab's latest failure. That, to me, is entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Renée O'Connor and a giant Dick..., 1 May 2011
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Whilst it's certainly not the worst straight-to-syfy-channel movie I've seen, Moby Dick 2010 still suffers from the usual rather cardboard acting and downright dodgy CGI that blights most of these movies.

Updating the Moby Dick tale had potential I suppose, but they made this whale so ridiculously gigantic that any semblance of reality flies out the porthole the first time you set eyes on the great mass of blubber. If it wasn't for the ever-gorgeous Renée O'Connor (who still looks as hot as she did in Xena!), I would probably have rated this a lone-star movie.

Disengage brain, get a few beers in and Renee O'Connor in some skimpy swimwear (and a big whale) may just about hold your interest for 90 minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charity Shop, 1 Sep 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moby Dick [DVD] (DVD)
"The Asylum" - The name of the Production company says it all really. This is up to their usual standard (ie - not very high). The biggest problem of course is their lack of funding, so when CGI is a must they can't come up with the goods. Frankly "Moby Dick" is a CGI disaster, particularly in the ridiculous 15' climax which beggars belief in it's stupidity. There are no "stars" as such - Barry Bostwick is way better than the material he has (or in truth, doesn't have), and Renee O'Connor is just, well, let's just say "miscast". (Secretly-I was curious to see what she looked like after "Xena", and, yes she is 12 years older, but still looks OK and is worthy of a better part.) I have to say there are some quite effective shock moments, particularly in the first 45' or so and I almost had high hopes, but they were sadly dashed. Dialogue daft, SFX poor, but if you have a few quid to spend and some beer/wine/whatever, and aren't too particular there are bits to enjoy, hence 3 stars, but only just, and you won't want to watch it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Proverbial Fifth Wheel Not Required, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moby Dick [DVD] (DVD)
From Asylum Pictures - the company that brought you 'Titanic 2', 'Mega Shark Versus Giant Octopus' and ...erm... 'Nazis at the Centre of the Earth' - comes a modern retelling of Herman Melville's classic novel.
Now I don't want to insult anyone's intelligence here (that's the film's job) but if you're expecting an intelligent and psychologically penetrating reinterpretation of the original source material you've come to the wrong place. (Just look at the DVD cover: it tells you everything you need to know about this turkey.)
Buuuuuut(!), if you're a fan of Melville's work and - more crucially - have a sense of humour then you could do a hell of a lot worse than this travesty. There's a fantastic drinking game for English Literature students in this movie. (Rennee O'Connor's opening line, "Call me Michelle"; the remote Typee atoll and the grave of Father Mapple; the nuclear missile 'Fedallah'; etc)
If you want the definitive film version of 'Moby Dick', check out John Huston's magnificent 1956 film. If you want to see all the bits Huston left out, check out Franc Roddam's impressive 1998 TV mini-series with Patrick Stewart. When the takeaway Pizza arrives and your third beer calls, check out this production. Think of it as knowing homage rather than dumbing down, otherwise you'll go crazy. Trust me, I KNOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Renée O'Connor and a giant Dick..., 13 Oct 2012
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Moby Dick [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst it's certainly not the worst straight-to-syfy-channel movie I've seen, Moby Dick 2010 still suffers from the usual rather cardboard acting and downright dodgy CGI that blights most of these movies.

Updating the Moby Dick tale had potential I suppose, but they made this whale so ridiculously gigantic that any semblance of reality flies out the porthole the first time you set eyes on the great mass of blubber. If it wasn't for the ever-gorgeous Renée O'Connor (who still looks as hot as she did in Xena!), I would probably have rated this a lone-star movie.

Disengage brain, get a few beers in and Renee O'Connor in some skimpy swimwear (and a big whale) may just about hold your interest for 90 minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars strangely watch-able, 21 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Moby Dick [DVD] (DVD)
the Moby Dick story like you have never seen it and will probably wish you never had, did make me laugh a couple of times though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars MELVILLE ROLLING OVER IN GRAVE, 24 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is an Asylum production, known for bad films. The technical aspects of the movie are about zero accurate except for the fact submarines go under water. You can not extend a periscope at 1700 feet beneath the water and see anything, let alone take a picture. You cannot poke a periscope through ice, nor can a submarine do a 90 degree up bubble without uncovering the reactor core and immediately going right back down the way they came. They don't then splash on the surface as the Seaview used to do. The list is endless of the gross technological impossibilities.

How did Ahab rise from an enlisted sonar technician to becoming the Captain of the Pequad? I think after losing his leg, he would of had a medical discharge. The movie stars Renee O'Connor (whale scientist) of Xena fame who wears a bikini top in the beginning, sporting her new set of love handles. She manages to do some decent acting amidst a sea of bad actors and stolen lines from the original "Moby Dick". Like Supercar, Moby Dick appears to be at home both on land, sea, and in the air. Ahab is obsessed with finding the white whale that took his leg while he was an enlisted man and goes rogue.

There are worse film out there, and most are produced by Asylum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's cool but a bit boring, 16 Dec 2012
This review is from: Moby Dick [DVD] (DVD)
well iv never seen such an cool but boring film in my life.
I fort this film was amazing but when iv looked at the intro i fort yeah ok I will get it.
so when i got it iv watch it all the way and the film was cool as i really loved where one man will do anything to get his revenge on something that big but if that was me I wounder Do the same thing but Try and find a way to become friends with it :P but come on why would you not try become friends something that big :)
The sounds where really awesome and why would you use Torpedo's to attack something that big that's hard and not easy to Kill but at least they have try'ed there dam best to find a way to stop it.
the Poor thing about the film is the ending you know they attack it but how do we know if they Killed it or is it still alive Really they so need to think of making a better ending for this film or make a better film in the same name but call it something like

The revenge of Moby dick 2
With a better ending where Moby dick will 100% die in the 2nd film that's if they are going to make a new one witch i hope like :)

my star rating

film rating 6/10
Poor awful ending and they really do need it!

acting/directing 10/10
the acting really was Grate they was nothing wrong with them witch is good

special effects 10/10
well the special effects are Just Hell
They really had a high top special effects to make this film awesome job people Keep up the good work

story/plot 10/10
this story is was Hell Amazing job

it's really yes and no that I would recommend this movie to a friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moby Dick [DVD] (DVD)
Fast del and good product. Would reccomend to any one that uses them in furture. Bought as gift for my dad and he loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews