Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars flowers in the blood
Fabulous book! I loved the Indian context and the historical story of Indian Jewry.
T he book certainly had parts that were gripping, but I personally felt it was too long.
Definitely worth reading.
Published 19 months ago by Leora Zehavi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting story
I loved the first part of this story a page turner however the middle was too many facts and details that I felt I was in a class!! The second part wasn't as good as the first but a better read after all the heavy detail I ploughed through where I nearly didn't bother to finish it.
Published 18 months ago by Sally Bushnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars flowers in the blood, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
Fabulous book! I loved the Indian context and the historical story of Indian Jewry.
T he book certainly had parts that were gripping, but I personally felt it was too long.
Definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 12 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
A really great read. It gave one a really good idea of the history of the Jews in India in the 1800's with a compelling story line. I would really recommend this super book. I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written and a must read!, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
C. Shear (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
Not often that a book like this comes along - Impossible to put down as you are transposed into another time, another world. So sensitively and cleverly written that you truly step into the shoes of the main character, Dinah Sassoon and experience a very privileged life in 19th century India, gaining an insight into family dynamics, politics and the opium business. From the very beginning Dinah's life is built on the profits of the opium trade, and yet devastated by it, and we see her transformed from a girl whose life is arranged, managed and manipulated to an educated and intuitive woman who takes control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flowers in the Blood, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
Amazing story. It was s though the author was writing her own biography. Maybe her ancestors were involved in the opium business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
LOVED THE STORY AND AT FIRST THOUGHT IT WAS A TRUE LIFE STORY THE AUTHOR JUST GOT IT RIGHT.
CANT WAIT FOR HER NEXT BOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real find., 22 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
I find it difficult to pick a really good read. I like quirky, interesting books based more in fact tan fiction. If there's a bit of history thrown in, all the better. I also like to try different authors. So, for me,
Flowers in the Blood, ticks all those boxes. Dinah is a woman in a man's world. Her story is believable and her family is made up of characters recognisable in most families. I really loved this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully written book about the opium trade, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It keeps your interest from the opening lines to the very end. A dark secret lies within this descriptive book which the protagonist is unaware of until she has grown up. The book takes you through her life with lots of twists and turns and you are never short of wondering what else could possibly happen. A thoroughly great read which I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing historical detail, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
Well researched story written as a journal written years after the events. Didn't need her married sex details which were unlikely to be reported in a jounal which Dinah left to children after her death. Amazing details about the Jewish trading community in 19C India and the opium trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting story, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
I loved the first part of this story a page turner however the middle was too many facts and details that I felt I was in a class!! The second part wasn't as good as the first but a better read after all the heavy detail I ploughed through where I nearly didn't bother to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Indian history explained, 10 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Blood (Kindle Edition)
very long but fascinating book on the history of the Heroin industry in India and China and the personal stories that go with it which describes the hypocrosy between profit and the morals of selling highly addictive drugs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flowers in the Blood
Flowers in the Blood by Gay Courter
£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews