Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes at last!!!
I was very dissapointed with Jac Rayners first two efforts for the ninth and tenth doctor range of books, and wasnt expecting much of The Last Dodo. But I have to say this story is definitely miles better than those two put together.

So the Doctor and Martha go in search of the living dodo but end up in the museum of the last ones. A good and cool imaginative...
Published on 8 Sept. 2007 by big mad doctor who guy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - The Last Dodo
After a trip to the zoo, the Doctor and Martha go in search of a real live dodo, and are transported by the TARDIS to the mysterious Museum of the Last Ones. There, in the Earth section, they discover every extinct creature up to the present day - billions of them, from the tiniest insect to the biggest dinosaur, all still alive and in suspended animation...
Published on 19 April 2013 by kk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes at last!!!, 8 Sept. 2007
I was very dissapointed with Jac Rayners first two efforts for the ninth and tenth doctor range of books, and wasnt expecting much of The Last Dodo. But I have to say this story is definitely miles better than those two put together.

So the Doctor and Martha go in search of the living dodo but end up in the museum of the last ones. A good and cool imaginative setting. This story has a moral tone to it. The horrible stuff involved with animals and fashion and money making. This story is highly enjoyable, with good twists and turns. All the characters are pretty good and memorable too. Making this story one of the most accomplished of all the stories in this range.

So im glad that i can say that Jac aint so bad at writing after all. I hope she does more stories like this one in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars natural history lesson, 15 Jun. 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
An original novel featuring the tenth doctor who and his companion martha jones. As with all of these it tells a story not seen on tv, runs for roughly 243 pages, and can be read by those of all ages. the characterisation of the two main characters is spot on, especially considering this one was writtn before martha was seen on tv.

the story involves the two of them finding a museum that preserves extinct species, and dealing with thefts from it. that lead to a whole lot more.

a slight format breaker in that portions of each chapter are narrated by martha in the first person. this is an approach you quickly get used to. same goes for the prologue which is from the point of view of a dodo. each chapter also ends with a descrption of an extinct species. these are pretty informative.

this is a book that sets out to educate as well as entertain, and it deals with the moral issues surrounding extinction and whether animals should be in zoos or allowed to roam free. in a nice moment the doctor acknowledges there's social commentary around. It's never terribly preachy, though, and it does offer food for thought.

plot wise though this does take a while to get going, and the first one hundred pages are very episodic. it's difficult to see where things are going. but the second half of the book does a great job of tying all this together, along with some genuinely original concepts.

a very good enty in the range. if the first half was as strong as the second it would be a five star review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 21 May 2009
Jacqueline Rayner's latest Tenth Doctor and Martha novel is a poignant and well-observed dig at the way we neglect and thoughtlessly destroy wildlife on our planet. The Tenth Doctor, as played on TV by David Tennant, is appropriately restless and frenetic, while his medical student companion Martha is less adoring of him and more interesting than she ever was on TV. The story is fast-paced and accessible, and overall this is a decent entry in the BBC Books' original series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: The Last Dodo, 1 Aug. 2011
This Doctor and Martha book introduces Martha in book form quite well, of course there were probably others before this one, but it's the first one I have bought.

The Last Dodo: The Doctor and Martha go in search of a real live dodo, and are transported by the TARDIS to the mysterious Museum of the Last Ones. There, in the Earth section, they discover every extinct creature up to the present day, all still alive and in suspended animation.

Preservation is the museum's only job - collecting the last of every endangered species from all over the universe. But exhibits are going missing...

Can the Doctor solve the mystery before the museum's curator adds the last of the Time Lords to her collection?

This book is a fantastic Martha Jones story and sometimes speakes in first person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like a lost episode...in book form!, 8 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Dodo (Kindle Edition)
I've never read any of these new adventures and so, seeing this in my local library, thought I would give one a go. I must say I really enjoyed this! Reading it, I could hear the voices of the Doctor and Martha in my head and the author caught their characteristics and mannerisms down to a tee! The story is great too- telling the story of a museum where all the last members of every extinct species are kept.
A highlight for me was when the curator mentions the fact that the Daleks have been on the verge of extinction more times than she can count! It is little touches like this that true Whovians will enjoy and that make reading this a sheer delight!
Hopefully now I can discover more of these books but this one was fantastic....and you know what? So was I!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great on Audio., 31 Aug. 2007
I really like the idea of Martha telling half the story in the first person. It's an original and unique idea which admittedly needs a certain kind of plot for it to work, but with this, it's great.

I've actually only got the audio CD, read by Freema Agyeman who plays Martha in the series, and the 'Martha in the First Person' bits are really brought to life with her lively voice.

I really like that in this book, the friendship between the Doctor and Martha is shown more. This didn't happen as strongly as it did in the Doctor'n'Rose books, probably because those were all written in the third person.

Any way, I really enjoy listening to the audio cd. I'm currently listening to it for about the 20th time. Cant wait to read the other two 'Martha' books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who - The Last Dodo, 19 April 2013
After a trip to the zoo, the Doctor and Martha go in search of a real live dodo, and are transported by the TARDIS to the mysterious Museum of the Last Ones. There, in the Earth section, they discover every extinct creature up to the present day - billions of them, from the tiniest insect to the biggest dinosaur, all still alive and in suspended animation.

Preservation is the Museum's only job - collecting the last of every endangered species from all over the universe. And for millennia the Museum has been trying to trace one elusive specimen: the last of the Time Lords...

Featuring the Tenth Doctor and Martha as played by David Tennant and Freema Agyeman in the acclaimed Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, sad, emotional, 3 Feb. 2010
Great book. Intriguing premise, a touching, emotional message, and a few false ends to keep you guessing. The story is also seen from different perspectives - diary, recollections as well as the normal third person, whilst Martha clocks up points on her 'last animal' list, which intersperses the chapters. It gives you things to think about as well as being a good old Doctor Who tale, and though the message is quite depressing at times it made me determined to do better. See what you think when you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dorothy the Dodo Saves the Day, 30 April 2007
By 
Poldy "Paul" (Darwen, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Although a long-term Doctor Who fan, [...], mainly because there are so many of them. However, I have kept up with the books since the new series started and, although they have been patchy at best, the most recent three have been the best so far.

The Last Dodo is a very good adventure, in which Eve is in charge of a museum which takes the last member of the species just before that species becomes extinct, thus ensuring that all species are represented before they can die out and be forgotten. [...]

There is a palpable sense of anger in this book at the way humans casually destroy animals just for their own enjoyment. The Doctor is suitably doctorish, and Martha is also well-presented. The writing is clear and pacy, and the story zips along. This really is the first time that all three new Doctor Who novels have hit the spot. Well done all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not spellbinding, 15 Nov. 2012
By 
Jackie Brown "Mum" (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Last Dodo (Kindle Edition)
This Doctor Who book was OK but not as interesting as the previous one my daughter read - Wishing Well. She is still working on reading this one but only reads a few pages at a time, where the last one she read the whole book in a few days. If the last one was 5 stars, I'd have to say this is two or three on her scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Last Dodo
Doctor Who: The Last Dodo by Jacqueline Rayner
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews