Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2011
Well I've been playing this game for a few weeks now so I feel it's probably about time to write up a little review. I'm a HUGE fan of the Harvest Moon series in general and am always disappointed at how unknown they are over here - they are excellent games and really deserve more attention.

Harvest Moon Animal Parade is an excellent addition to the series, with many great features some old and some new. As usual your goal is to rebuild a run-down farm by growing crops and raising animals, but this time you are also tasked with restoring the whole island to it's former glory by ringing the 5 bells which are scattered throughout the land. This overarching quest will take quite some time to complete and gives a nice sense of structure to AP that is often missing in other games from the series.

So far I only have a few minor niggles with the game:

1) The camera. While most of the time it is fine, sometimes when you are travelling to a new area it jumps to an overhead view meaning you can barely see anything around you. This makes several areas very difficult to find and unless you already know they're there you may well run straight past them every day!

2) Many villagers shops are also their houses, meaning that you cannot speak to them on the days that their shop is closed. This can be really frustrating because inevitably whenever you are trying to find someone to complete a quest they are inside their house on their day off!

3) The island is big. Too big. You really need to plant your day out right from the beginning because you'll spend a large portion of your time just running from place to place. This does get sorted at least a little in the later stages when you can ride animals to get to where you're going much faster.

Overall I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of the series, or who is a newcomer likely to be interested in the relaxing pace offered by HM games. With no time limits you can play as you please, there's no right or wrong way to run your farm. Such charming little games (with an astonishing amount of depth) really do deserve a chance :)
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
I'm not exactly the most experienced Harvest Moon player but I wouldn't say I'm new to the series: my previous haunts have been Harvest Moon DS and Island Of Happiness. Having played these games and found them good fun, I was expecting a high standard, and Animal Parade didn't disappoint.
The storyline isn't the usual save-the-harvest-goddess appeal but something a little different about helping your village find their resources and restore their lifestyle to it's usual easy way. The graphics and animals are extremely cute and with the fairly new options of changing your clothes, taking photos and having various unusual pets, there's never a dull moment.
My only mild criticism is that the controls are hard to master: but apart from that, it's a no-brainer. Animal Parade is possibly the best Harvest Moon game yet!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
I love, love, love this game, I really do - I play it all the time. Its basically a slight better (in some ways worse in others) game than Harvest moon/Tree of Tranquility.

Background: The game is basically a farming game with a great deal more. You get to play either a girl or a boy (2 of each character to choose from). You arrive on an island and you get an old beaten up house, barn and chicken coop and a free cow. Eventually you can upgrade your house/farm and buy animals (chickens, cows, horses, goats, ostrich, silk worms, sheep) and grow a variety of seasonal crops. The weather changes each day and you have different seasons with a different extremes of weather each season. There is a main quest for you to do which involves ringing bells to save the island. You can also follow your own goals which include buying properties, making money, making friends, cooking, winning competitions, getting pets, falling in love, getting married, having children.

Bad Stuff:

Camera angles are slightly annoying, it would be really great if the camera was angled from behind the character.

You get to play as your child, only you don't look like your children. It would be ideal to have an island that changes and ages along with the new child/player

Empty island - the characters don't walk to work or from place to place, they just appear at a designated area which means you don't get to follow them or meet them around the island like in Tree of Tranquility

You can ride most animals however sometimes you want to whistle your horse and you get a very slow cow which is annoying.

The furniture placement is terrible. I really want the bed in the bedroom! I hope they fix this in newer games.

Good Stuff:

There are loads of cut scenes and extras like the circus. You can get to know each of the villages and it feels like the town is really alive

You get to have 2 children

You can now marry the harvest king/goddess although they don't live with you.

An endless game. You can complete the main quest and carry on playing forever, when you get bored you can see the harvest king and play as your child. However, I have yet to get bored with it. I am still playing this game as I love it so much and I've had it for quite a while now, there always seems to be new things to do and new cutscenes to see.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2011
I would highly recommend this game to both fans of the Harvest Moon series, and those who have not yet experienced the joy and satisfaction of being a virtual farmer! This game seems to be the most thought out and adventurous in the series of HM games so far. This is down to a much broader range of character emotions and customisation, the huge game map and just over-all game plot and possibilities! It is amazing fun whatever your age, and I would perhaps even argue that some aspects of the game are more angled to older players than young, what with the game revolving around economic crisis and opportunities for romance!
I woulld give Harvest Moon Animal Parade five stars, no question about it! :)
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
I have played three previous Harvest Moon titles including A Wonderful Life (N64), Magical Melody (GC) and Harvest Moon (DS). The main aim and structure of Animal Parade are true to the series, but for someone who has experience with previous titles this game represents a serious leap forward. The world is nice and BIG, you are no longer stuck in one tiny village, you have your own farm with plenty of space, there are two other farms to visit, a coastal city, a mining village, a forest, a mountain and a tropical island. Secondly the graphics, whilst perhaps not exquisite, are beautiful. The gameplay shows significant improvements, technically the farming has become more comprehensive, the story line is good with plenty of hoops to jump through to advance, land and buildings are significantly more expensive, the other characters in the game are more responsive and interesting, you can RIDE your cows like horses! Negatives with the game are all minor, the frame rate issue is real (although was not something I could not get over) the camera angles can be poor at times but the saving grace of this version of the game is that you have your own camera and can use that to look around, it is very frustrating trying to arrange your own furniture and some of the interiors of your house are horrible, and lastly there is no detailed overview of your shipping records so it is difficult to work out what each item is worth with a view to maximizing profits. For a video review that I found useful check out [...]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
For anyone who has ever enjoyed a Harvest Moon game before :)
I only ever had the DS version of this game and when I saw this, I wanted it straight away because it looked like it would be a good game, and it is :)

Pros:
-Lovely imagery
-The story line is really interesting and this game is immediately addictive
-There is plenty to be doing, so you'll never be bored while on this game (I was on it for 6 hours today xD)
-You can chose to be either a boy or a girl, which is a good change from the DS game were you're just a boy
-You can have more than one child in this game
-It's a multiplayer game, but I haven't quite figured that out yet :')

Cons:
-Controls are hard to work at first, took me a while to learn how it all worked
-Some parts of the game really hold you still for a while. You wonder where to go next (You can always press 1 and ask your sprite friend, but he isn't always very helpful)
-The loading inbetween each part of the places you can visit does take a while
-And there is also a lot of distance between some parts of the town.

I only got this game today, so sorry if this review isn't very helpful :(
But I do recommend you buy this game. It is very good and it always keeps you thinking, some parts of the game I really think 'wow' as the imagery is very pretty and the music is also very relaxing.
This review is if your debating whether to get the game or not as it hasn't been out for very long. So, I'm saying..
Get the game! You know you want to! :) xx
33 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2011
This is an excellent game, a real upgrade on the last Harvest Moon, and whats even better is, its great whether youve played before or are completely new to the series.

Mind, if youve played before you will have certain advantages (being able to get your farm started before it tells you to, knowing what to plant where etc)

But BIG bonus, you can walk over crops! No more having to leave space between your squares of crop. It makes it so much easier.

This game is a great farming game, has a fairly interesting storyline to keep you active that way, and has to usual family (take a wife, have a kid) aspect of the other Harvest Moon games.

Definate like from me, and I havent really played one of these longer than a few weeks since the GBA days lol.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
Thank you for the fast shipping Games_Collector. Item arrived yesterday (7/6/2016), in a fab shape as described! In terms of controls, this game is far better than Tree of Tranquility. But when it comes to the game itself, each has its own unique story line...but all down to a similar objectives, save the harvest goddess. As a harvest moon fan, I find Animal Parade to be the best so far. Farming is very much the same. You have the four seasons and each season has its own crop. Fishing is another lovely activity. Making friends with the villagers if a fun progress... Graphic is superb. Only one small niggle I have with the game itself is, the camera angle. Could have been improved! It is minor though...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
kids totally love the simplicity and ease of play. great for their imagination too and thinking about caring and looking after their animals.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
I was looking for a new animal crossing type game and came across the Harvest Moon series. I was pleasantly surprised.

In addition to being much more detailed in the everyday tasks to be completed there is a meandering story-line that you can dip in and out of. I'm not going back to animal crossing now!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)