Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Mellow Magic
Harmless Records has recently reissued 15th Anniversary Crystal Editions of specifically themed compilations held by the label, 'The Breaks', 'Pulp Fusion', Jumpin' and this, 'Mellow Mellow'. For this edition the very respected Dean Ruldland takes the helm to compile two un-mixed cds of music drawn from the catalogues currently held by the Demon Music Group, including the...
Published on 15 Jun 2011 by Music Lover

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars As it says on the tin . . .
Slightly misleading title as some on the tracks aren't what I would term mellow. Pleasant enough but not really anything to stir the soul.
Published 6 months ago by Paul Devereux


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Mellow Magic, 15 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition (Audio CD)
Harmless Records has recently reissued 15th Anniversary Crystal Editions of specifically themed compilations held by the label, 'The Breaks', 'Pulp Fusion', Jumpin' and this, 'Mellow Mellow'. For this edition the very respected Dean Ruldland takes the helm to compile two un-mixed cds of music drawn from the catalogues currently held by the Demon Music Group, including the mighty Philadelphia International and Brunswick records labels.

The album opens with 'All Because Of You' (1975) featuring the vocal talents of Leroy Hutson, delivering a smoothly laid back vocal over stabbing strings and a deep winding groove. 'Why Can't We Be Lovers' (1972) by Holland & Dozier features a wonderful vocal over a production that reeks of quality, and this is followed by Jae Mason's 'Cloud Of Sunshine' (1975) and Al Johnson and Jean Carne's 'I'm Back For More' (1980). This is a track that has featured previously on the Original Mastercuts series in the early 1990s, and it remains a beautifully produced groover, understated and always appealing. The 1970s continue to figure predominantly with 'Give Me Some Emotion' (1979) by Webster & Lewis and Lou Courtney's 'What Do You Want Me To Do' (1973), complete with opening vocal vamp that takes you back to an entirely different time of social and sexual politics. Al Green's 'Call Me (Come Back Home)' (1972) is typical of his output from that period, with the Memphis production providing an earthy rawness over which his angelic voice hovers. Dexter Wansel (featuring Terri Wells) provides 'The Sweetest Pain' (1979), wonderfully evocative and a perfect example of Wansel's softer production stylings. 'Ain't You Had Enough Love' (1986) by Phyllis Hyman immediately stands apart from the preceeding records because of the mid 1980s production, with a lovely vocal delivered over a drum machine driven groove. This hasn't been featured on too many cd compilations, and if you are unfamiliar with this little gem you are in for a very real treat, particularly if you like Nick Martinelli productions with Loose Ends from the same period. Patti LaBelle's 'If Only You Knew' (1983) is a softly delivered paen to love, whilst Dee Dee Sharp Gamble's 'Just As Long As I Know You're Mine' (1977) returns the listener to the strings and groove driven production of the late 1970s. Other highlights include the ever popular 'Darlin' Darlin' Baby (Sweet, Tender, Love) (1976) by the O'Jays and another 80s love staple, 'Gotta Get You Home With Me Tonight' (1984), another track that featured on the Original Mastercuts 'Classic Mellow' series.

CD 2 opens with the Mantronik produced 'Come Into My Life' (1987), here wrongly identified as the album mix (when it is clearly the single release edit), followed quickly by Paris' 'I Choose You' (1984) - which has also featured on previously issued similarly themed collections. This is joined by material provided by Teddy Pendergrass, The O'Jays, Jean Carn and Billy Paul, which is quite a roster of names. One of the highlights, however, is Claudia Barry's 'Love For The Sake Of Love', which has been sampled numerous times, but perhaps most successfully by Montell Jordan for use in 'Get It On Tonite' (1999). Beginning with a beautifully swaying groove, it opens up to reveal Barry's spoken vamp, and a lush orchestrated chorus of which Grace Jones would be proud.

So. Do you buy?

Seasoned collectors could argue that there isn't much on offer here that has not featured elsewhere on assorted similarly themed collections, whilst others might point out that this is a collection with its heart firmly rooted in the 1970s, despite the odd foray in to the 1980s. This means that the Joyce Sims, Phyllis Hyman and Eugene Wilde tracks do not sit comfortably and are clearly from within an altogether more electronic view of the world. However valid this might be it surely misses the point that for under £6 the buyer gets 37 tracks, with more than acceptable liner notes and accompanying photographs. And seasoned collectors should always remember that what may be familiar or classic to their ears is awaiting a fresh pair of ears and discovery by a new generation of listeners - which is to be encouraged.

Harmless and Dean Rudland are to be congratulated for continuing to issue quality driven compilations in a tangible format, for which they deserve your support.

An excellent compilation and worth every penny. Simply buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mellow mellow right on, 23 May 2011
By 
alex duffy (coatbridge. scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition (Audio CD)
well harmless records, have gone and done it again, a collection of laid back soul ..including a fair amount of classic philly trax....and the added bonus of eugene wildes GOTTA GET YOU HOME WITH ME TONIGHT...the full 5.19 12"version. all this for just over a fiver...great value !!!this album is so good that you just press play...an let the music play....non stop ,no fillers..just quality 70 & 80s soul music. anyone who loves rare groove will enjoy the amount of top class tunes on display.....THE SWEETEST PAIN..DEXTER WANSEL/ ALL BECAUSE OF YOU..LEROY HUTSON /IM BACK FOR MORE..AL JOHNSON /GIVE ME SOME EMOTION...WEBSTER LEWIS /AINT YOU HAD ENOUGH LOVE...PHYLLIS HYMAN / SPEND IT ON LOVE..SIDE EFFECT....the list goes on. Agreat mixture of well known and lesser ( hits )trax, that ooze class. great for summer evenings, chill factor ( quiet storm ) relax and enjoy the music.all n all a super collection, and dean rutland take a bow....for trawling through the soul archives....and giving us a great insight into our music......5 STARS..guys...enjoy and let the music play....go buy ( its wotrh it for EUGENE WILDE ...alone )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MEEEELLLOWWW, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition (Audio CD)
Calling all original soul-heads, this is a fantastic collection of soulful rare grooves, and tunes. Excellent 2 cd compilation to nourish the nation.....TRUST x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow Mellow - 15th Aniversary Crystal Edition, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition (Audio CD)
I was mots pleased with the mellow mellow CD as it lived up to my expectaions and more with a nice varied smooth soulful and philly type sound - excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a massive collection, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition (Audio CD)
as a soul and rare roove lover this album is one of the best buys I've made in a long time. A huge selection of rare groove, soul, groove and mellow disco this album should be right up the street for anyone with that taste in music. A days worth of listening for whatever ambience you'd like to set. A recommended buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes you right back, 8 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. C. J. Fitzgerald (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition (Audio CD)
I bought this after an Amazon recommendation and I'm very glad I did. It's a brilliant 2 disc compilation of a number of songs I remember from the late 70s & early 80s soul scene. As I played it, I kept telling myself that I remembered each track in turn from listening to the likes of Greg Edwards and Robbie Vincent on Radio 1 on a Saturday and Sunday night as I was getting ready to go out.

Anyway, track by track, I have been transported back to happier days when I didn't have a care in the world.

Two stand-out tracks are: I'm back for more by Al Johnson & Jean Carn and The Sweetest Pain by Dexter Wansel & Jean Carn. Brilliant! I keep hitting the 'replay' button on both of those when I am in the car.

Whoever put this together must have actually thought about it. When choosing tracks by more famous artists, they chose lesser known songs but, in my opinion, better than the usual Top Ten stuff. For example: Al Green; Call me (come back home) and The O'Jays; Darlin' darlin' baby. Inspired choices.

I could go on analysing each track one at a time but it would be better for me to just say: "buy this album" (Especially if you are a 50 something like me.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars As it says on the tin . . ., 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition (Audio CD)
Slightly misleading title as some on the tracks aren't what I would term mellow. Pleasant enough but not really anything to stir the soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!, 7 July 2011
By 
Postepay (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition (Audio CD)
Fantastic collections of Philly sounds pearls! I was amazed when listining to all tracks (2 cds). The recording is so good and you cannot but listen and listen all tracks. Really great! Thanks to the people who put all these masterpieces together in this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition
Mellow Mellow - 15th Anniversary Crystal Edition by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews