Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some precisions
A few weeks ago I wrote this already, but only in the 'comment' space to respond to the first reviewer. I think it will be clearer posted here.

It's easy to be confused about whether this is really the SEQUEL to Haley's ROOTS, because it doesn't pick up where Roots left off.

However, this is indeed meant as a sequel in the sense that it continues...
Published on 5 May 2012 by A Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Been looking for this film everywhere, haven't watched it ...
Been looking for this film everywhere, haven't watched it yet, but the language at the back isn't English so Abit hesitant :/
Published 3 months ago by Cherrelle Skirritt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some precisions, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alex Haley´s Queen: The Roots Saga Continues [1992] (DVD)
A few weeks ago I wrote this already, but only in the 'comment' space to respond to the first reviewer. I think it will be clearer posted here.

It's easy to be confused about whether this is really the SEQUEL to Haley's ROOTS, because it doesn't pick up where Roots left off.

However, this is indeed meant as a sequel in the sense that it continues Alex Haley's biographic saga of his own family roots, but this time it's from the OTHER side of his family - his father's side -, and that's why you don't see the same people as in the Roots series.

I've been watching this mini-series, and it's really good. Well worth my money for around 5 hours of watching!

It's also a sequel in the sense that Haley's family bio is advancing in time: you get a feeling of Queen being closer to us in time than where Roots left off.

( Actually not sure if it is really supposed to be closer in time (*) - can't remember where in time Roots left off ... it may just feel this way for being filmed more recently, and therefore in a more vivid, modern way than at the time of Roots - brighter colours perhaps, real locations rather than in-studio, etc...).

(*) The time: when Queen is around 19 and leaves "home" (disc 1, Epi 2), this is just after the American Civil War (1861-65), when slavery is abolished.

+ IMPORTANT NOTE:
Be careful to buy the right version of it: some have been shortened to 269 minutes only, leaving out 15 important minutes (
See reviews on Amazon.US http://www.amazon.com/review/R1Q7XSJQ6YJBYZ/ref=cm_cr_pr_viewpnt#R1Q7XSJQ6YJBYZ ). The complete version is of 283 minutes duration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 4 May 2011
By 
Anne Marie O. Dwyer "showtime" (tipperary, ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i love period films and also films that depects the life of slaves around the time of the american civil war. this film is true to fosm from that time. halle berry is one my favourite actors and takes her characters serous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen, 27 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another slice of Alex Haley's history an important view into a difficult period in time, where slavery was coming to an end and and love across the cultures produced children of mixed blood. Queen is born into a world where her father is a slave owner and her mother a slave. Queen's parent's share a strong love for each other but can never be together publicly.

Queen begins life in a slave shack with her mother and grandfather, while her father lives in the big house on the plantation with his parents. Queen does not know who her father is at this point.

Her father is forced to marry and has a child with his wife, Queen is taken from her mother (at the age of 4 approx) and moved to the house to become the slave to her half sister, but is hated by her fathers wife.

The story continues to take you on an epic journey that is compelling and heart breaking.

A very worthwhile watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Haleys Queen, 2 Aug. 2010
By 
D. Weaver (Wales. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like 'Alex Haleys' mini series 'Roots', you will like this one, this is about a young girl born from slavery into being a free women, with all the troubles that go with it for those times, I also found that the lovely 'Halle Berry', who plays 'Queen', is brilliant in this,she really put her heart & soul into this part, it is one to watch.I would highly recommend this DVD for most age groups. Also would recommend this seller.The only thing I would like to add is: that this is a region 1 DVD, but will play on a mulit DVD player in UK if you have one, I watched it on my one with no problems at all, so just be aware that not all UK DVD players will play this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alex Haley's Queen - Roots Saga Continues, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alex Haley´s Queen: The Roots Saga Continues [1992] (DVD)
Very sad and heartwarming makes my cry but enjoyed it excellent story The acting of H Berry but it really doesnt spoil the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alex haleys queen dvd, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enyone who liked roots and roots the next generations will like this. i enjoyed the dvd very much.
the dvd arrived in the allotted time i would recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alex Haley´s Queen: The Roots Saga Continues [1992] (DVD)
Used to have this film on video but when I see it on Amazon I had to buy it on DVD. Such a sad film but also so very funny. Love the fact it is a true story and that makes it all the more special .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roots collection complete, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alex Haley´s Queen: The Roots Saga Continues [1992] (DVD)
Finally my roots collection is complete. Hally Berry is very good in this film, such a sad but happy story. I would recommend getting this if you have the other 2 installments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... a welcome addition to complete what is probably the best mini series ever on TV, 4 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alex Haley´s Queen: The Roots Saga Continues [1992] (DVD)
I already had Roots and Roots The Next Generation so this is a welcome addition to complete what is probably the best mini series ever on TV. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Been looking for this film everywhere, haven't watched it ..., 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alex Haley´s Queen: The Roots Saga Continues [1992] (DVD)
Been looking for this film everywhere, haven't watched it yet, but the language at the back isn't English so Abit hesitant :/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews