Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got kids? Got virus? Dead hard drive? Get this thing!
The person who first came up with an idea of putting Ubuntu on USB stick deserves Nobel price. It is like having dishwasher or laundry machine: once you have it, you can't be without it. Having Ubuntu on USB stick is so convenient, secure and portable! People who are unfamiliar with Linux and see it for a first time, they think I'm kidding.
Do you have kids or...
Published on 12 April 2011 by Wilko

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, but expensive, and....
...there are a couple of potential problems.
.
This is indeed a grand idea, since Linux is a rugged industrial-grade Operating System that is used on the worlds fastest supercomputers (see Wikipedia) most of the server farms (Google, Amazon) as well as the majority of smart-phones (Android) and tablets.
It's not unhackable, but it is pretty darn good and...
Published on 4 July 2012 by Big Ben


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, but expensive, and...., 4 July 2012
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ubuntu 13.10 on 8gb USB Stick Flash Drive and Complete 3-discs DVD Installation and Reference Set, 32 and 64-bit (DVD-ROM)
...there are a couple of potential problems.
.
This is indeed a grand idea, since Linux is a rugged industrial-grade Operating System that is used on the worlds fastest supercomputers (see Wikipedia) most of the server farms (Google, Amazon) as well as the majority of smart-phones (Android) and tablets.
It's not unhackable, but it is pretty darn good and needs no aftermarket anti-virus or firewall to make it work safely.
.
Ubuntu is an entirely free flavour of Linux that started out around 2005 iirc - we had it running in late 2006 alongside SuSE Linux, which is where we started. Switched to Ubuntu in 2007 and wiped Windows shortly after that.
We've been using various flavours of Ubuntu (Kubuntu, Lubuntu, Xubuntu eg) that have slightly different desktops and pre-installed applications ever since. I've done well over 100 installations, lost count years back.
We also have a posse of friends for whom I've done installations and for whom I act as occasional administrator when they have a problem. Amazing how very few problems there have been.
.
Ubuntu's theme is 'Computers for Human Beings' and we've had a wonderful ride up until late 2010, when we started to see some flakiness in version 10.10. But we were using 10.04, the Long Term Support release (recommended for stability) and waited for things to get better. They didn't. The next release was 11.04, which refused to boot on 4 out of the first 6 machines we tried. On the two which did boot it ran unreliably, and had this new interface called 'Unity' that used a ton of memory and kept going wrong. Six months later 11.10 was a lot better, and this year 12.04 is better still. But still flaky - it still will not run properly on 2 of those 6 original machines, and it still has this memory-hungry Unity interface that glitches on this Core 2 Duo T5600 laptop with nVidia graphics. It's also pretty slow.
.
So.... whilst other reviewers have enjoyed a good experience with Ubuntu 12.04, we did not, and still do not whenever we check the latest updates. I cannot in good faith recommend it to newcomers to Linux. If it works well on your hardware, great! But Ubuntu is no longer the best Linux to start out with, in my view. Its unreliability and inability to run on older hardware is an obstacle to its general acceptance. Since then 12.04, 12.10 and 13.04 have emerged (but they are not LTS - long term support releases). They still do not like our older hardware, and may not like yours. Other releases run fine on this hardware.
That's the first potential problem.
.
The second prob is the controversial 'Unity' interface that continues to evolve. It breaks away from traditional menus and has proven divisive in the Ubuntu community. Think Windows 8, only different. You may love it, of course. But what if you don't?
.
It's easy enough to install the Xubuntu XFCE desktop onto Ubuntu in Synaptic, if you know how. But if you're comfortable with that, it's a doddle to download and burn 'buntu to a CD/DVD or transfer it to an USB stick.
But it is probably easier to start with Xubuntu in the first place, or maybe Linux Mint? Or Bodhi Linux - very fast indeed.
For something to run from CD/DVD/USB try Knoppix or Puppy Linux
Until Ubuntu gets its act back together again, that is what I would recommend.
.
Linux is wonderful. Ubuntu has been truly wonderful for years, but I cannot recommend this version and the price is high - an 8GB USB stick is currently around 6 :- Kingston DataTraveler 101 G2 - USB flash drive - 8 GB - USB 2.0 - red.
Another 20 for free software and some DVDs at 17p each from AmazonBasics (today's price) seems a bit steep.
Your mileage may vary, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 24 for free software, you've got to be kidding!, 8 Dec 2012
This review is from: Ubuntu 13.10 on 8gb USB Stick Flash Drive and Complete 3-discs DVD Installation and Reference Set, 32 and 64-bit (DVD-ROM)
I couldn't believe this product when it popped up on a search. This is a waste of money pure and simple.

Ubuntu is free, there are very simple instructions on how to set up a live DVD or live USB system on the Ubuntu website.

There is an abundance of guidance and help available for you within the Ubuntu community courtesy of the forums, I was a complete amateur when I made the switch and didn't need to spend anything to find, install and run a better operating system. Since switching to unity I feel Ubuntu took a serious step backwards though still significantly superior to Windows, I have since switched again to Linux Mint which although still an Ubuntu based system is more suited to my preferences and also readily available free of charge.

I appreciate that Windows users are accustomed to being conned out of their money but don't let a switch to a linux based operating system treat you this way, it is completely against the ethics of Free Open Source Software!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got kids? Got virus? Dead hard drive? Get this thing!, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Ubuntu 13.10 on 8gb USB Stick Flash Drive and Complete 3-discs DVD Installation and Reference Set, 32 and 64-bit (DVD-ROM)
The person who first came up with an idea of putting Ubuntu on USB stick deserves Nobel price. It is like having dishwasher or laundry machine: once you have it, you can't be without it. Having Ubuntu on USB stick is so convenient, secure and portable! People who are unfamiliar with Linux and see it for a first time, they think I'm kidding.
Do you have kids or seniors in a family? Get this thing! You give them the USB key and when they done, you just pull it out and your precious programs, files, all are untouched. I got from my work old (it is new but very outdated) laptop. Under XP this laptop takes 3 minutes to wake up, and it takes another 3 to 5 minutes to wake up.
With this USB stick it boots is under 20 seconds. It is save for your computer(and kids) to plug it in and let them use the computer. For as long as this Ubuntu USB is plugged, the hard drive is not accessible.
It also turns any publicly available computer into secure private machine for as long as you use it. After removing the USB drive from the USB port, nothing of what you have been typing, browsing etc., remains on the computer! It is immune to viruses. It can be plugged into dead, unbootable machine with dead hard drive, or killed by viruses system, and it will start and be ready for work.
The best part is, that you really don't need knowing anything about computers in order to use it. Plug it. Then boot from it. It is simple like that. It works like magic! The stick in the set is high quality Kingston 4Gb very strong and well made. It is not some cheap rebranded junk, it is the real thing. It also includes complete DVD installation in a case you need not merely desktop but complete installation. The set also includes brief video DVD with introduction to Linux. While it is brief, it is informative and shows many commands that will be beneficial to beginner. It also includes printed reference card of various Linux commands. I appreciate quality of this set and manufacturer's attention to needs of new Linux users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Ubuntu set, makes Linux accessible to mere mortals, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Ubuntu 13.10 on 8gb USB Stick Flash Drive and Complete 3-discs DVD Installation and Reference Set, 32 and 64-bit (DVD-ROM)
Ubuntu makes great operating system for desktops and laptops, and I enjoy it on my computers for soon eight months. This recent release is great. I installed in on few computers and it completed installation fast without issues. Ubuntu installation recognized and set up all hardware and installed all appropriate drivers. My friend was using it for first time in his life and it took him about 10 minutes to get comfortable, then get online and check his email. Time when Linux installation was a struggle is over. Windows is more hassle to install these days. My computers under Ubuntu run really fast. Nothing pops up and no antivirus eating CPU and memory.
Few people aware of the fact that it comes equipped with complete Office suite! The whole thing is there and it gets installed from the disk together with Ubuntu. I can open Excel files, Word documents etc. Use to be Windows was safe from Linux because Linux was so difficult to use. Today, as Linux got some very cool and advanced interfaces like Gnome and KDE, it is as easy (if not easier) than Windows. For most people who use their computer in a same way as I do: web, email, pictures, music and writing, will be happy with Ubuntu. You just get used to its interface and explore some software that all comes with it.
The USB set is very cool as you can take your Linux with you. Just plug it in, boot, and you enjoy completely secure system on any computer. Browse internet, email, anything, as soon as you done and unplug USB stick, you leave not a trace! Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Money, 25 May 2013
This review is from: Ubuntu 13.10 on 8gb USB Stick Flash Drive and Complete 3-discs DVD Installation and Reference Set, 32 and 64-bit (DVD-ROM)
This is big waste of money, Ubuntu OS is free and an 8GB USB sticks are cheap. This does not say which type of USB this is but my guess is that its USB 2.0 which may make your Ubuntu experience very slow. The amount of space given is very small which means you will not be able to fit many additional programs on to it. I much more recommend for you to spend money on better USB stick with more space and USB 3.0

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Integral-Courier-64GB-Flash-Drive/dp/B008QJ1EIE/ref=pd_sim_sbs_sw_h__7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ubuntu flash drive works well, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ubuntu 13.10 on 8gb USB Stick Flash Drive and Complete 3-discs DVD Installation and Reference Set, 32 and 64-bit (DVD-ROM)
ideal way of sampling Linux without affecting other systems, presented nicely, I am senior citizen and wished to do just this, it worked well and was put away in the loft, I have had computers since 1983 and dont have room in my head for taking on new complications.. otherwise it looks great and works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ubuntu 13.10 on 8gb USB Stick Flash Drive and Complete 3-discs DVD Installation and Reference Set, 32 and 64-bit
Used & New from: 26.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews