Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book with a wide variety of characters
I loved this book! I first read it a couple of months ago and have read it twice again since - it's fun to revisit the characters and the events.

Mercy Thompson is a car mechanic who has a secret - she's a Walker, which means she inherited the ability from her native American father to turn into a coyote. This is unusual, but her neighbours and friends are even...
Published on 15 Oct 2006 by Helen Hancox

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side of the Moon (3.5 stars)
Mercedes Thompson is a mechanic and runs a garage in the Tri-Cities. She also delights in annoying Adam the local Alpha werewolf and spends her spare time karate training and tinkering with a VW bus that just so happens to belong to her vampire buddy.

Mercy is a shapeshifter, more specifically a coyote. As such, she's tolerated by the wolves but definitely low...
Published on 6 Aug 2009 by Persephone


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book with a wide variety of characters, 15 Oct 2006
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book! I first read it a couple of months ago and have read it twice again since - it's fun to revisit the characters and the events.

Mercy Thompson is a car mechanic who has a secret - she's a Walker, which means she inherited the ability from her native American father to turn into a coyote. This is unusual, but her neighbours and friends are even more unusual. Stefan is a customer in her repair shop - and he's a vampire. Her next door neighbour is a werewolf. She knows a Russian Witch and also a number of other fae people. The fae have come out into open society but the werewolves, vampires and some others are keeping quiet still, to see how it goes.

Mercy's life is turned upside down by the arrival of a young lad at her garage asking for work. Mac isn't all that he seems - pretty soon Mercy realises he's a brand new werewolf, and with his arrival in her life comes a great deal of trouble. Her next door neighbour, Adam, is seriously injured and Mercy has to rescue him at great personal danger. Mercy has to return to the place where she grew up, amongst werewolves, and there is murder and kidnapping and danger for her as she has to rely on other people to help her.

What's so brilliant about this book is the cast of characters and the way that Patricia Briggs portrays their lives. Yes, people are werewolves but she shows how they fit in to the modern world, how they try to maintain relationships with humans and yet the times when they know they have to keep separate. There's a slow-burn love story between Mercy and a very attractive character (I won't give away who it is!) and also an exploration of what it must be like for Mercy as a weaker shape-shifter than the werewolves around her. Her brush with the head of the vampires is pretty dodgy too.

I'm really looking forward to the next book in this series - if it's as good as this it will be brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a new paranormal/fantasy series..., 10 Feb 2007
Set in a world where the minor fae have 'come out' to humans, whilst the more powerful fae, and supernaturals such as werewolves and vampires keep themselves hidden from human eyes. Moon Called is an impressive start to a new werewolf / shapeshifter series. When a newbie werewolf arrives at Mercy Thompson's garage looking for work, it sets a chain of events in motion that will bring her past and present together, and have repercussions for all those around her.

Mercy makes an appealing heroine, not least because as a skinwalker she changes into a coyote (much weaker than a werewolf); meaning she has to rely more on her brains and cunning to get her out of trouble. And sometimes she just has to deal with the consequences of her actions.

This is a wonderful story, populated with well-drawn and interesting characters. One of the things that makes it so fascinating is the detail in the complex relationships between the members of the various werewolf packs and how Mercy fits into that equation.

The only problem I had, was that the vampire section seemed a little superfluous to the plot. (As the second book deals more with them, this was probably to serve as an introduction, but I thought it took the action away from the werewolves and wasn't strictly necessary.)

Although the werewolf hierarchy that Patricia Briggs writes about is familiar, she manages to make the world Mercy lives in, unique. Moon Called reaches a satisfying conclusion but we are left with enough dangling plot threads to make us look forward to the next book. If you like Kelley Armstrong and Kim Harrison, I think this is another series that you'll love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Strong Addition to the Werewolf Canon, 8 Sep 2006
Patricia Briggs is a new author for me, up until this most recent novel she has primarily written several 'straight fantasy' novels. Moon Called is a fantastic read, more or less from start to finish the pacing doesn't let up. I haven't been this impressed with a werewolf debut since Kelley Armstrong's 'Bitten.' Stylistically this novel is a pleasing blend of Armstrong in terms of solid characterisation and a strong female lead, but in terms of structure it bears similarities to the early Anita Blake novels, except that Briggs has considerably more technical polish ( no pulses tasting like candy, or the ubiquitous 'spilling' here!)

Mercy Thompson is a damn fine auto-mechanic, but she possesses more unusual traits that could put her at risk. Mercy is a skin walker ( a creature of Native American myth) who can shift into a coyote, but in this alternate world, where otherworldly creatures are just starting to come out and reveal themselves to normal society, Mercy is understandably reluctant to reveal her secret.

Mercy is an unusual female character; her mentor is a gremlin, she repairs a VW bus for one of the local vampires and lives next door to Adam the domineering Alpha of the local pack. Despite her vulnerable position as a supernatural being who has no protection from a pack, Mercy is blessedly no-nonsense and stands on her own two feet. When Mac, a young werewolf, comes to her garage looking for work she takes a chance and hires him, setting off a cause and effect reaction, when the young apprentice's dead body is dumped on her doorstep. She goes to the local werewolf pack for help, but finds the attractive alpha Adam near death and his teenage daughter kidnapped.

Travelling across country to the werewolf pack that fostered her as a teenager we learn more of Mercy's intriguing backstory as she hunts for Adam's daughter and a murderer. When Adam is in turn kidnapped, Mercy must band together with friends and allies to save both him and his daughter.

This is fantastic, gripping and with just the right blend of mystery, action, and a touch of well placed romance; a must buy for Kelley Armstrong, Rachel Caine, and Jim Butcher fans. There are numerous things to love about this novel for a start the character of Mercy is a wonderful addition to the genre; she is self reliant and tough (as a skinwalker she is not compelled to change at will during the moon phases, and doesn't suffer from the werewolf agonies of changing form.)

The set up of the supernatural societies is well thought out and manages to be original without feeling the need to turn the genre on its head merely for the sake of it. There is also the potential for a romantic triangle, should that be something that twitches your whiskers, as Mercy has both an attraction to Adam her neighbour, and a yearning for her first love Samuel the son of the Marrock, the Main Alpha for the entire United States. As a teenager she fell hard for Samuel who protected her against other pack members who bullied her for not being a true werewolf. Naturally, this didn't work out but returning to the foster home of her childhood she discovers that they both have unresolved issues.

The only fault I can find with this novel is that the mystery plot regarding Mac's killers who seem to be turning normals into werewolves for experiments of their own purpose isn't as coherent as it should be. The double bluff reveal of the mystery antagonist at the end feels very anti-climatic and left me thinking 'huh? Surely there's a better way of working out your issues than this?'

For all of that, Moon Called enthralled me enough that I will be first in the queue when the second novel Blood Bound is released in January 2007. The good news is that Briggs has been obtained to write a further three books in the series with these characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reading, 7 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Mercy Thompson lives next door to a werewolf and fixes cars in her garage for a vampire, she's also not "quite" human herself so when a "new" young werewolf comes to her for casual work she takes him in and lands herself in a lot of trouble, which means returning to the place where she was raised and having to deal with past issues!!
A great story and you won't want to put it down - I hope there is a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side of the Moon (3.5 stars), 6 Aug 2009
Mercedes Thompson is a mechanic and runs a garage in the Tri-Cities. She also delights in annoying Adam the local Alpha werewolf and spends her spare time karate training and tinkering with a VW bus that just so happens to belong to her vampire buddy.

Mercy is a shapeshifter, more specifically a coyote. As such, she's tolerated by the wolves but definitely low down the packs pecking order. As long as she keeps her eyes down and remembers her place, the pack will leave her in peace. In Mercy's world the fae have come out to humans because of advances in technology meaning they cannot afford to hide any longer. Thus the Gray Lords (the enigmatic leaders of the fae) decided it was time to come out to the humans -- however, werewolves and vampires' remain hidden in shadow fearing what would happen if their existence was discovered. Amidst this fear is much debate as to whether any species should come out... after all nothing stays hidden forever.

Unfortunately for Mercy things soon go down hill when a young man walks into her garage. This young man is a runaway and just so happens to be a (lone) werewolf. From here the trouble starts... because death, mayhem, vampire and werewolf hierarchy are hot on Mercy and this young mans tails. Trouble seems to follow Mercy around as she ends up embroiled in things she deems way out of her depth.

I did enjoy this book, but I also found it a struggle in places. The world building was excellent, and I loved the idea of the fae and the Gray Lords coming out to the humans before any other supernatural creature. I also liked the way Briggs handled the vampires and their society -- they have been done to death but I enjoyed the vampire bits the most. Which is odd because they don't interest me as a general rule, heh! Stefan was a fun character, he wasn't written as a typical vampire. He was slightly geeky and intelligent and just a quirky, old vampire. What endeared him to me was him having the mystery machine as his van, and his dilemma as to whether he should paint it black like the van in Buffy.

Mercy was lovely. But I felt it was hard to connect with her personality here -- she seemed more a device to deliver a great deal of exposition about other people rather than a strong character-voice in her own right. However, having started the next book I know that her voice gets much stronger and I adore her now; I feel like I know what she's like better in the second book. I also found the humour lacking in this book is much more apparent in the next one!

The plot was a little patchy. I liked parts of it but in general is wasn't that compelling. I loved all the character stuff and found Mercy's history with Samuel, Adam and Bran very interesting. Overall, a good novel and a series that I know improves to five star quality! Blood Bound is fantastic so far. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little flawed but very enjoyable, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book isn't flawless, there are a lot of characters with not a lot of background on them, making it a little hard to keep track of them at times, and hard to care about some of them. The romance is minimal, and seems to be little more than an afterthought at times as well, creating little tension between the interested parties.

And yet, I love it. I love that Mercy isn't the toughest girl around, until the beginning of this book she's never killed, and certainly not deliberately. She cares a lot and she's pretty friendly, easy going and she's got a sense of humor. Her relationship with the alpha wolf, Adam, is pretty funny at times too. She clearly enjoys annoying him a little, but she also cares and knows how easy it would be for him to kill her and she respects him.

We get quite a bit of back story on Mercy as the book goes on, finding out about the oddness of her relationships with the other supernaturals around her, how she came to be living beside an alpha wolf and how she knows so much about wolf life when she's not one herself.

Mercy's problems start when a teenage wolf, not a member of the pack and newly turned, appears at her garage and asks for work. She quickly decides to do what she can to help him, before realising he's in much more trouble than she first thought. Trouble follows Mac and soon Adam finds himself and his (human) daughter well and truly caught in it, with Mercy doing everything she can to help them.

The main plot is tight and moves at a good pace. The interaction of werewolves, fae and vampires, along with of course Mercy, a coyote, gives you a lot of supernaturals to enjoy, all with their own talents and agendas. There is enough about Mercy, Adam and several other secondary characters that you start to get a good feel of them and those guys you do care about and it left me eager to read the next in the series to discover what happens next with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay... but unremarkable, 10 Feb 2007
Mercedes or Mercy for her friends, is a car mechanic living in the Tri-Cities. She leads a relatively quiet life, except for the fact that she knows a faerie and is herself not quite human; she is a walker, a person who can change into an animal (in her case, a coyote) at will. She is doing okay for herself until a young werewolf named Mac (I kid you not) appears on her doorstep. Between Mac's inexperience at being a wolf, the local pack's Alpha, some unknown enemies, an old love and crazy vampires, Mercedes begins to think she might have bit more than she can chew.

First book I've read by Ms Briggs and I enjoyed it immensely. I loved her writing and thought it captivating. The main character, Mercedes, is a good character: likeable, though (without being stupid) and very cool when she goes all 'cute puppy' on you. I even enjoyed the plot.

The real problem with this book is that it is... too mainstream. Briggs didn't really add anything new to the genre. She recycled most of the ideas that urban/contemporary fantasy authors use. Her description of the werewolves' skills and characteristics is quite common. The only original element (I mean truly original, the plot is new too) is the whole story of the Walkers. I know that coyotes and wolves and Indians are all connected, but I'd never seen it used in urban fantasy before. So, points for that. As for the vampires, I didn't see any appeal to them as a 'race', but then again the story focuses on werewolves so it's possible that might be it. I hear 'Blood Bound', this book's sequel focus on vampires... let's see their characterization then.

The story was enjoyable, yes, but again, unremarkable. It was a paranormal action/adventure book with a very run of the mill storyline. Even in terms of 'mystery' the case the characters had to solve wasn't that interesting. It wasn't something you went all 'Ah! So that was it!' about. The romance (the little that was) was well done and it adds charm to the story.

Overall, this was an 'okay' book. I enjoyed reading it, thought it good when compared with other works of the genre. It is not a work of art, but it's a nice read. If you're a fan of supernatural fiction, give it a try... just don't expect much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mercy Magic!, 9 Sep 2007
By 
'Werewolves can be dangerous if you get in their way, but they'll leave you alone if you are careful. They are very good at hiding their natures from the human population, but I'm not human. I know them when I meet them, and they know me too.
Mercy Thompson's sexy next-door neighbour is a werewolf. She's tinkering with a VW bus at her mechanic shop that happens to belong to a vampire. But then, Mercy Thompson is not exactly normal herself...and her connection to the world of things that go bump in the night is about to get her into a whole lot of trouble'

I LOVE this book. 'Moon Called' is the first in this fabulous series. The fact that Mercy changes into a coyote is great. I love the combination of werewolves and other supernatural creatures in this novel.
Mercy is an independant, tough and thoroughly interesting protaganist. It is a joy to read her story and for a moment live in her action packed word.
I highly recommend this series!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Skinwalker, 7 July 2008
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
For quite sometime I've been hearing good things about this author from American readers of Urban fantasy. So it's come as a great pleasure when Orbit have brought them to the UK market in an all new set of covers. Moon Called is the first instalment and whilst it does pay homage to the Werewolves of old that we've come to love through movies and books it takes it on a separate journey that presents the reader with a unique tale that will brighten up a dark night. This book is a great opener and establishes the principle protagonista to an audience that will come to love her smart ass ways, her interpretation of the hidden world that she lives within and a story to keep you glued to the last page. It really leaves the story open for any number of options with the additional Brightside of book two out next month, its going to be something for the UK readers to enjoy without too big a wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WAS going to pass on this one..., 23 July 2011
By 
F. Ridler "whizzwham" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
ive put this series on the sidelines for ages, thinking rather stupidly that i wanted something with a bit more raunch involved. the lack of sex in these books put me off, and im ashamed to say that i let that get in the way.

having finally given these books a go...well....BOY WAS I WRONG! here we have a beautifully written story, focused on people with real relationships, real hang ups and very real attitudes. the main character Mercy is one of the most interesting female characters ive read, very much stealing the crown from the earlier versions of anita blake.

the lack of full on sex scenes actually does this book a favor. ive abandoned many book series now *sigh* due to the content focusing on sex sex and more sex. this book delivers a hell of a punch in the story and characters and also has oodles of sexual tension. reminded me very much of the style of the FEVER series by KM Moning. lots of action, and some real development of relationships that take months rather than days to form. its obvious that alot of thought has gone into the lore of the creatures in this book, and find the subtle traits of each creature making it beleivable that there are whole societies of preternatural creatures exsisting in secret.

already on book 3 after just a few days.

for those that enjoyed the fever series, anita blake (before the insane sex) this is a must. i REALLY hope this auther sticks to her guns and doesnt sell out like so many other authors.

LOVE IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon Called: Mercy Thompson, book 1
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews