Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful miscellany, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Wiltshire Bookworm (Chippenham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Hardcover)
I received this book for Christmas and it has been a delightful companion the past few days.

The Curious Gardener is a collection of 72 articles from Anna Pavord's regular column for The Independent which she's been writing since 1986. There's 6 articles per month, followed by a list of key gardening tasks - unusual for this kind of anthology, but adding a useful touch to the elegant prose.

The topics covered are wide ranging from a gardeners' horoscope to an amusing account of how her family Christmas has changed over the years. Along the way there are garden visits, a look at the scrum that is Chelsea, growing giant vegetables, how garden media and programmes have changed with the times, alongside advice on choosing trees, slow gardening and growing fruit, flowers and vegetables.

All this is written with such a lightness of touch and humour that you forget there's useful information to be gleaned; it's far too enjoyable to be placed in the 'useful' category of books. In addition, each chapter is fronted by a lovely wood engraving by Howard Phipps to set the scene for the month.

One to read in one go whilst curled up by the fire, then to keep to hand for a friendly monthly gardening guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Curious Gardener, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Mrs. L. A. Henderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Hardcover)
As usual Anna Pavord has produced a wonderful readable reference book,and is one which I will use regularly.I liked the monthly dairy at the end of each chapter which is a good memory jogger for me as a novice gardener.
The story of her garden is in her usual style of being entertaining and informative. This enables one to gain ideas/tips without it feeling like a lecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Curious Gardener Anna Pavord, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Hardcover)
I have sent this book to my gardening friends as it is an amusing read not just about gardening but observations on life plus giving down to earth advice on what to do in the garden month by month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A special eye, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Paperback)
Gifted Gardener
Anna is special-entertaining -practical and ever so scholarly-just what you need.Brill.She tells it as it is and it would past muster with my mother! High praise indeed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good bedtime read, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable read
This is light reading about aspects of gardening and makes great bedtime reading - greatly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Paperback)
Its a really good book, well worth buying it and bought it for my gardening loving mother, she loves it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Paperback)
Excellent reading, for both gardening and personal travel. It was easy to read, informative and funny.A joy to read .Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the keen as well as the curious, 30 Dec 2013
By 
J. I. Wilkins (Kent / United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Kindle Edition)
This is definitely one for the gardeners' bookshelf as it is one to be dipped into at various seasons of the gardening year for the odd tip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Birthday gift, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Paperback)
Bought for a keen gardener, he enjoyed reading it and is in his library of gardening books now for reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anna Pavord: always a great read, 4 Dec 2012
By 
J. Baker "JBB1" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curious Gardener (Paperback)
As always Anna Pavord's writing is clear and inspirational. As a keen follower of hers in the Saturday Independent I see her as being one of the best garden writers. This book does not let me down at all. She sees gardening matters form a different perspective and hence her insight is always enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curious Gardener
The Curious Gardener by Anna Pavord
5.14
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews