Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only Avengers Compilation You Will Ever Need
This is a very well thought out product. The packaging, the layout, the presentation are all first rate. It really is a lovely thing to own and it contains every surviving Avengers episode + some other associated odds and ends. I first started collecting Avengers compilations about 4 years ago and at that time this collection didn't exist, oh that it had - it would have...
Published 21 months ago by Anilatac

versus
48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great show, poorly designed package.
To echo the previous review, this is a very poorly designed set. The discs are so tight in the card pockets they are almost impossible to remove without causing damage. Virtually all the discs have some scuffing or scratches, hardly surprising given how they are stored. I've now received two sets, both of which have damage to the external box, which may or may not have...
Published on 14 May 2011 by P. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great show, poorly designed package., 14 May 2011
By 
P. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
To echo the previous review, this is a very poorly designed set. The discs are so tight in the card pockets they are almost impossible to remove without causing damage. Virtually all the discs have some scuffing or scratches, hardly surprising given how they are stored. I've now received two sets, both of which have damage to the external box, which may or may not have occured in transit ( not helped in my opinion by the inadequate packaging used by Amazon - surely an expensive item like this deserves more than a perfunctory bit of card - ever heard of bubble wrap?) It's always nice to have complete series box sets but anyone considering this one should proceed with caution. ( By the way, after two attempts, Amazon will only offer a refund. )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis By UKdvdsonline, 5 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
All the surviving episodes from series 1-6 of the cult 1960s action series The Avengers, starring Patrick MacNee, Honor Blackman, Diana Rigg and Linda Thorson.

Released in a special limited edition 39 disc (including exclusive bonus disc) collector's package and fully digitally restored, The Avengers 50th Anniversary Complete Collection celebrates the original cult TV show by bringing together all six series, 139 episodes and over 30 hours of extra features of the classic British secret agent series. Patrick Macnee stars as the indomitable spy John Steed alongside his glamorous sidekicks Cathy Gale (Honor Blackman), Emma Peel (Diana Rigg) and Tara King (Linda Thorson) in extraordinary mystery solving adventures and criminal defeating escapades.

Series 1-2 episodes -
Hot Snow (incomplete; first 20 minutes only), Girl On A Trapeze, The Frighteners, Mission To Montreal, Dead On Course, The Sell Out, Death Dispatch, Propellant 23, Mr Teddy Bear, The Decapod, Bullseye, The Removal Men, The Mauritius Penny, Death Of A Great Dane, Death On The Rocks, Traitor In Zebra, The Big Thinker, Intercrime, Warlock, Immortal Clay, Box Of Tricks, The Golden Eggs, School For Traitors, The White Dwarf, The Man In The Mirror, Conspiracy Of Silence, A Chorus Of Frogs, Six Hands Across A Table, Killer Whale

Series 3 episodes -
Brief For Murder, The Undertakers, Man With Two Shadows, The Nutshell, Death Of A Batman, November Five, The Gilded Cage, Second Sight, The Medicine Men, The Grandeur That Was Rome, The Golden Fleece, Don't Look Behind You, Death a la Carte, Dressed To Kill, The White Elephant, The Little Wonders, The Wringer, Mandrake, The Secrets Broker, Trojan Horse, Build A Better Mousetrap, The Outside-In Man, The Charmers, Concerto, Esprit de Corps, Lobster Quadrille

Series 4 episodes -
The Town Of No Return, The Gravediggers, The Cybernauts, Death At Bargain Prices, Castle De'ath, The Master Minds, The Murder Market, The Surfeit of H20, The Hour That Never Was, Dial A Deadly Number, Man-Eater Of Surrey Green, Two's A Crowd, Too Many Christmas Trees, Silent Dust, Room Without A View, Small Game For Big Hunters, The Girl From Auntie, The Thirteenth Hole, Quick-Quick Slow Death, The Danger Makers, A Touch Of Brimstone, What The Butler Saw, The House That Jack Built, A Sense Of History, How To Succeed... At Murder, Honey For The Prince

Series 5 episodes -
From Venus With Love, The Fear Merchants, Escape In Time, The See-Through Man, The Bird Who Knew Too Much, The Winged Avenger, The Living Dead, The Hidden Tiger, The Correct Way To Kill, Never, Never Say Die, Epic, The Superlative Seven, A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Station, Something Nasty In The Nursery, The Joker, Who's Who???

Series 6 episodes -
Return Of The Cybernauts, Death's Door, The 50,000-Pound Breakfast, Dead Man's Treasure, You Have Just Been Murdered, The Positive Negative Man, Murdersville, Mission... Highly Improbable

Extras -
The Golden Schlussel - rare short film starring Diana Rigg
The Mini-Killers - 4 part short film mini-series starring Diana Rigg
Director Laurence Bourne interview
Wish You Were Here? - Top Ten Avengers locations featurette
Death at Bargain Prices - alternate end tag
Hot Snow - Episode Reconstruction
Toy Trap - Episode Reconstruction
Newly discovered Series 5 archival trailer
German cinema trailer
Titan Avengers 50th Anniversary DVD booklet
Diana' Avengers Comic Strip booklet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Avengers complete (no New Avengers), 5 Aug 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
It was a long time coming to DVD but this very British TV series following a suave, gentleman agent and his athletic female partners is more than welcome. Generally the presentation of this classic show is very good in this DVD set.
This long running series has some bizarre stories that are often far-fetched and full of humour. It is a show that you cannot take too seriously. You are not supposed to. It is just pure escapist fun. Life is often too serious and it's great to have an entertaining series full of colour and unusual stories to escape and relax.

In The Avengers Ian Hendry plays Dr David Keel, who, when his girlfriend is murdered by a drugs gang, goes to British Intelligence and an agent called John Steed for help in avenging her death. The early episodes see Keel as an amateur sleuth and Steed as his foil. The stories are general domestic drama with a cops and robbers basis. The shows were recorded live and there are limited sets and scene changes.
Many of the episodes from series one are now lost and so the DVD releases begin with the complete series two and the surviving episodes from series one.
By series two, Keel leaves and the character of Steed is elevated to the main character. Series two then appears to go through a period of re adjustment as we get other characters such as Dr Martin King and nightclub singer Venus Smith and Cathy Gale. These characters alternate as assistant to Steed over the remainder of the series, which finally settles at the end on the character of Cathy Gale as the main constant partner for Steed.
The theme music is by Johnny Dankworth. There are some good bonus features and there are no subtitles. Also the picture and sound are from video film source and not the greatest quality. However the whole series is interesting as a slice of TV history and although the early episodes are a bit slow in story development the later episodes that feature Cathy Gale are worth watching.

Immaculately dressed in a three-piece suit, Steed oozes class. He lives in a select London District, drives a vintage Bentley and insists on his coffee or tea being stirred ant-clockwise. His manners are impeccable. He has a sword hidden in his umbrella, which he can use to defend himself. At the same time he has the utmost courtesy to his adversary. He also has a protective bowler hat.

In the fabulous series three of The Avengers the character Cathy Gale (Honour Blackman), a widowed anthropologist and Judo expert is partner to Steed throughout. We also see the story lines go from mundane detective work and counter intelligence to futuristic international intrigue.
Cathy Gale is different from other female characters of the time. She often is dressed in tight black leather and "kinky boots".
The show still has rawness in its production style and presentation but things have improved. The plot lines are more interesting and it is a much better show than series one and two.

After the improved success of series three, the show had a complete re vamp. The new season four brought us a new, and more dramatic theme music by Laurie Johnson, New and stylish opening credits, more intriguing story plots and the whole thing recorded on film. (Not video tape) Previously The Avengers had been shot on videotape with little option for editing so the show had been recorded live with hardly any location shots. This American deal provided the funding for editing and location shots and better quality 35mm film.

The Karate chopping, Kung Fu kicking, ultra fashionable Mrs Emma Peel (widow of test pilot Peter Peel) lives life in the fast lane. She drives a fashionable Lotus Elan sports car and can take care of herself. She represents a more modern quality and outlook compared to the character of Steed who represents a more traditional and mature quality. But like Steed Mrs Peel has class.
The pair is ideally suited and the chemistry between Peel and Steed is electric. Diana Rigg and Patrick Macnee are excellent.
Steed's signature cars were vintage 1926-1928 Bentley racing or town cars.

Producers gave the character Emma Peel her name because they wanted a female character with "man appeal". This was shortened to "M appeal" or "M a ppeal" and therefore Emma Peel. She has the same self-assuredness of Cathy Gale, combined with superior fighting skills, intelligence, and a contemporary fashion sense.

The season four has changed direction a bit. The obvious attention is the adoption of a more
America style of production in order to make it more appealing to the American market.
. During this first Peel series, each episode ends with a short, comedic scene of the duo leaving the scene of their most recent adventure in some unusual vehicle.

The wonderful fifth series of The Avengers is one of the best remembered simply because it took the now successful series into the world of glorious colour.
After the success of series four of the Avengers in America and in Britain a fifth series in colour was certain to be a hit. And it was. All of the successful factors from the previous series were still there.
But the colour gave the series a big lift. Everything looks fabulous. The producers made good use of the colour element by embracing all of the glorious colours of fashionable sixties culture.

The episode plot lines are still a good mixture of adventure, humour and science fiction. The chemistry between Peel and Steed still continues. The leather look is replaced with smart jump suits that give the character a youthful and athletic appeal. And her fashion clothes are stylish in design.
Peel has an avant-garde fashion that features bold accents and high-contrast geometric patterns emphasising her youthful, contemporary personality. She represented the modern England of the Sixties - just as Steed, with his vintage style and mannerisms, personified Edwardian era nostalgia.

A prologue appears at the beginning of all the fourth series episodes. This involves Steed pouring two glasses of champagne. Mrs Peel and Steed come together and they clink glasses and the theme music begins with the opening credits

Series six of The Avengers sees some major changes despite the successful formula of series four and five. This series is often thought of as inferior to the "classic Avengers era" with the character Emma Peel (Diana Rigg) but actually it is very good. It is simply different.

Diana Rigg wanted to leave the series so she is written out. British network executives decided to re vamp the whole show. It would have been impossible to fill the shoes of Emma Peel if everything else was the same. Therefore it was logical to give the new female partner to Steed its own identity and originality. It was important to give the show a fresh look to keep the interest alive. There was a change in producers. Out went Brian Clemens and Albert Fennel and back came John Bryce. He signed newcomer Linda Thorson as the new female character to play along side Steed. This was the new character of Tara King.
Tara King has more innocence than her predecessors. She is also allowed more subtle hints of romance with Steed. Tara is also a fully qualified agent but lacking in experience. This is different to Cathy Gale or Emma Peel who had been "talented amateurs".
Linda Thorson is fabulous as Tara King. She creates a great character that has its own uniqueness. Emma Peel had been incredible and a tough act to follow. There was no point trying to be another Emma Peel and so Tara has her own identity.
Actress Linda had natural brown hair but producer Bryce wanted Tara to have blonde hair so it was bleached which badly damaged the hair and Linda had to wear a wig through many of the early episodes.
After only producing three episodes Clemens and Fernnel were brought back as producers.
They decided to film a new episode to introduce Tara King. Tara debuts in dynamic style: when Steed is called to Headquarters, he is attacked and knocked down by trainee agent King who mistakes him for her training partner.
Diana Rigg was recalled to film a final episode that features the farewell scene for Emma. Emma visits Steed to say goodbye, and while leaving she passes Tara on the stairway giving the advice that "He likes his tea stirred anti-clockwise." Steed looks out the window, he sees Emma get into a Bentley car driven by Peter who looks remarkably like Steed complete with suit, umbrella and bowler hat.

Also on this fantastic series for the first time we actually get to see the government official who gives Steed his orders. This character is known as "Mother" who is usually in a wheelchair. The headquarters for "Mother" is often in different places. Mute "Rhonda" later assists "Mother". There is also in one episode the character "Father" that is a blind older woman. Another episode has Tara away on holiday and "Lady Diana Forbes Blakeney" assists Steed.
This sixth series also becomes even more far-fetched and weird as it often does parody of other TV series and films such as mission impossible and the Birds.
Steed had a different car, this time a vintage yellow Bentley. "Mother" drives a silver Rolls Royce and Tara drives Lotus Europa.
The show was still popular in the UK and Europe but not so successful in America and funding was withdrawn. This meant that production in Britain could not continue and the series ended in 1969. So this iconic series that had been a part of the 1960s culture ended as the decade came to a close.

This series, like its two predecessors has some bizarre stories that are often far-fetched and full of humour. It is a show that you cannot take too seriously. You are not supposed to. It is just pure escapist fun. Life is often too serious and it's great to have an entertaining series full of colour and unusual stories to escape and relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Includes free removal Tool !!! ", 9 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
The Set is really nice and the details of episodes etc will be covered elswhere in the reviews.

The issue I have is in the way the Discs are set deep into the packaging making it impossible to remove them without leaving finger prints on the disc.Which as we all know means the disc will remain permnantly marked because unlike all the hype when Discs,both CD and DVD were introduced they are far from being indestructible.

I have came across this type of packaging before and although quite a good idea it does mean problems for the buyer if there is a technical fault and discs have to be returned when the seller will obviously question the condition of the discs.In fact the packaging left marks on the first disc I removed from this set.

If anyone is in a position to do something then some kind of "Lifting Tabs " added to this type of packaging would be usefull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I had bought this sooner!!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very complete set, as has been mentioned by other reviewers. Boy, does it take me back!! I love the colour episodes, which I had to view in black and white during their original run, as our family had only just bought our first TV and it was B&W. The only downside, as others have mentioned, is the packaging. The discs are so tightly fitted into the slots of the pages that you have to get your fingers (and fingerprints) on the discs as you remove them for viewing. This can result in the discs not working properly until you clean them. Some of them have lost their sound until I perform this tedious task. I am tempted to remove the discs altogether and store them in separate jewel cases for future viewing. It's a small complaint, and I include it here just as a warning to others. It wouldn't stop me from buying it, but it's a small irritant to be ready for, if you decide to purchase the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best purchase EVER!!!!!!!!!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is the SOLE reason for me buying a multi-region DVD player!!! I have all of the A&E releases, including the bonus disc from the Emma Peel Megaset with the David Keel eps. Once I read elsewhere that these episodes have been digitally restored, I had to get this! The prints on the A&E sets were pretty good, except for a couple of Tara King eps (ie: "You'll Catch Your Death", "False Witness" are examples), but being that those were released in the very early days of the DVD, they were accepted as great. But, now living in the HD digital world, they don't hold a candle to what's in this box set!!! Even the videotaped eps look way better than what's on the A&E discs!!! I'm fine with the fact that Optimum didn't vidFIRE those eps to make them look like the actual eps as they aired before they were kinescoped. Even the eps that have a few missing seconds have been restored back to them!!! (ie: "The Town Of No Return" & "Fog") And the bonus disc is great as well (not sure why the restored version of "Hot Snow" is on here & not on disc 1 of the box set, but at least it's here) And the bonuses, OH, ALL THOSE BONUSES!!! I couldn't believe the stuff that's on here!!! The audio commentaries, rare footage, documentaries, this box set is an Avengers fan's DREAM!!!!!!!!!

The remastering & restoration is a revelation, to say the least!!! You can see every strand of hair on Mrs. Peel's head, the deepness of the colors (ie: the grass is so green on those outdoor shots in "Murdersville").

You must get this set, it's the best purchase ever, and all you'll EVER need from this show, that is, if the other 23 & a half series 1 eps are ever found...

Sidebar: can we get The New Avengers restored just like these now, please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dad's Christmas Present, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my 76 year old father for a Christmas Present. We both like it. I have got the series in boxed sets. We knew Amazon wouldn't sell us wonky DVD's. Dad remembers the originals, and says it's a pity that some episodes were wiped (Series 1) but we are both very pleased with the remaining episodes including the avail;ability of Series 2-6 episodes!
Greg Chapman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing collection, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This was an xmas present for my husband. It is such a great presentation box with all the episodes plus amazing extras. He really loved it. It was such an iconic series. Well worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good edition for fans!, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I was just what I had expected, well presented, packed, and the whole collection in tact. Overall very satisfied..... Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Series LOUSY DVDs and Packaging, 19 Aug 2012
By 
A real Batman (Herefordshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] (DVD)
140.......as other reviewers have said the smart black book with great images on it is fantastic....till you try to pry the DVDs out of their very tight card slots. If you don't have a decent set of long, strong fingernails forget trying to extract the discs or you'll be forced to use tweezers as I've had to. The WORST actual DVD packaging I've ever come across (and the early Buffy boxes were no push over - but saintly by comparison!). I suspect discs may last two viewings before being so marked and scratched they'll be unplayable. Talking of which on my set some of the disc pressings are just awful and have had to coax and cajole my panasonic DVD player to read them without pixellation, separation of sound and picture, jumping chapters or just locking up completely. Not every disc and surface looks perfect.....so beware. I think I will be finding some spare slim CD cases and use these to store the discs separately from the book so I actually have a collectors edition I can view over and over.

The actual episodes are great although the long end of/start of acts pages (especially season 2) are very annoying and much to long....why not just include all the original adverts as well while you're at it?!

All that said 100% great viewing and still a classic series that IMHO is still one of, if not the best crime/spy adventure series ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Avengers 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD]
98.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews