Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
I'm a long time Kate Rusby fan and confess to having been a little worried about an album featuring (as far as I can see) none of the musicians she's featured in the past. Having enjoyed the likes of Ian Carr and Andy "Brussells Sprout" Cutting live, it was a pity to see them missing.

But I needn't have worried. This album is a triumph. Simultaneously familiar...
Published on 24 Nov 2010 by Kev Partner

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great lyrics but disappointing tunes.
I love Kate Rusby's work and think her to be a very talented song writer and musician. Therefore I was greatly looking forward to the release of 'Make the Light'. Sadly, I was disappointed with what was produced. I commend Kate for penning all her own songs for this album and think the lyrics are great and no doubt some will go down as the folk songs sungs in years to...
Published on 16 Jan 2011 by Rachel G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Kev Partner "Writer, geek, dad." (Alton, Hamshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make The Light (Audio CD)
I'm a long time Kate Rusby fan and confess to having been a little worried about an album featuring (as far as I can see) none of the musicians she's featured in the past. Having enjoyed the likes of Ian Carr and Andy "Brussells Sprout" Cutting live, it was a pity to see them missing.

But I needn't have worried. This album is a triumph. Simultaneously familiar whilst also breaking new ground. "The Wishing Well" for example is classic Rusby - it reminded me of The Good Man of a couple of albums back.
Other highlights including "The Mockingbird" which is one of the most beautiful songs Kate's ever written - wonderful string arrangements. "Let them fly" features the brass section which gives the song a warmth - a feeling of treacle pudding and roasted chestnuts. "Only Hope" is almost a pop-ballad (to my ears at least). Mesmerising with a gorgeous chorus and more lovely strings. "Shout to the devil" is another unusual one: very conspicuous and effective use of, in particular, Double Bass and Cello. "Green Fields" has elements in it that sound like a Christmas Carol but is otherwise more familiar Rusby fare. The same can be said for "Walk the Road" which features a nice guest vocal from Damien O'Kane and more warmth from the brass section.

Kate is to be congratulated on a strong, gorgeous, warm album full of interesting lyrics and beautifully produced and executed. This is (I think) the first album in which all the songs were written by her and it's clear her song-writing is maturing and her range widening. It's so easy in folk to stick to the traditional forms album after album. Kate has never been guilty of that and here she takes her music forward and it's a a complete success. Can't wait to see some of these performed live in 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a good thing, 3 Feb 2011
By 
E. R. Hartley "Axel North" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make The Light (Audio CD)
Kate is on good form and her decision to record her own material was a great idea. However, there is a problem with the album's pacing which, once you get past the opening track, is fairly stately. This has quite a cumulative effect on the listener and by the end of the CD, you're, shall we say, ready for a change. The strange thing is, if you have the songs on shuffle on your MP3 player, alongside other artists, each track shines like a diamond. So, after being initially disappointed with the album, I'm now feeling that this could be one of her best. On their own, each song is a well crafted excursion into small scale melancholy where her voice still has the power to force grown men to stop what they are doing, stare into space and give a choked sob under their breath. As an album though, there is a tempation to put it on in the background - a real crime for a CD of this quality. Listen and listen well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kate Rusby-Make the Light, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Make The Light (Audio CD)
A top recording by one of Britain's finest folk singers and song writers. The ttracks have less immediacy than Sweet Bells and some of the songs on Awkward Annie, but they grow on you. Hopefully this recording will help Kate reach an ever wider audience and gain the recognition she so richly deserves. All the more remarkable when you remember she now has a new little Rusby to think about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great lyrics but disappointing tunes., 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Make The Light (Audio CD)
I love Kate Rusby's work and think her to be a very talented song writer and musician. Therefore I was greatly looking forward to the release of 'Make the Light'. Sadly, I was disappointed with what was produced. I commend Kate for penning all her own songs for this album and think the lyrics are great and no doubt some will go down as the folk songs sungs in years to come. However, the music lacked any life. While I like the slow, sad ballads as each track progressed I kept thinking 'we must hit a lively one now', but sadly not. Really, it all sounded very 'samey'.
If you are thinking of buying this album as a first Kate Rusby album, can I recommend you buy Hourglass, Awkard Annie or Underneath the Stars instead. Albums which, in my opinion, better reflect the musicality of this great artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kate's enchantment, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Make The Light (Audio CD)
Although Kate Rusby has been around for a considerable time I have never really given her much notice - her work is on those sort of CD's that don't usually make it into the high street shops.

I heard her on a radio programme and looked her up on Amazon. I was surprised to find a selection of CD's so I bought a couple and then was hooked. I like the way she weaves both traditional and contemporary. Unlike the trend in modern folk to be heavy on the instrumnets her own refreshingly distinctive voice is at the centre of the music.

She is such an individual - not trying to copy any other style - the musical accompaniment is also very good. So I went back and bought more and then again. Refreshing and thought provoking whilst still being easy enought to listen to in the car, the bath or the kitchen.

Well done Kate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: Make The Light (Audio CD)
I have only known of Kate Rusby for a short while...saw her live last year...this album is amazing. Haunting and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another fantastic album from Kate rusby!, 9 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make The Light (MP3 Download)
I wasn't sure if Kate could make a better album than Awkward Annie (and Sweet Bells at the festive season) but this one's a belter! All her own songs and there's not a weak one among them.

I'd strongly recommend it. Beautiful and interesting folk music sung with the most beautiful voice I've ever heard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: Make The Light (Audio CD)
As always Kate's music is beautiful, haunting and memorable. Slightly different from earlier work, somewhat sadder but still compelling and beautiful. Will always go to see Kate playing live, she's amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kate..... out of her shell..... and blossomed!, 27 Dec 2010
By 
Mr. M. J. Martin (Newcastle upon Tyne United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make The Light (Audio CD)
Having been a follower of Kate since her early career, she is finally out of her shell and now blossoms in her own right!
Gone is the shadow of former husbands strict musical directions...... we now have self penned beautiful lyrics.....obviously some of her recent travels down the road of life are in there as you would expect.
I wondered and worried what would follow her last 'Sweet Bells' album...... what actually appears is Kate back to her 'brightest' for a long time.
The enthusiasm and freshness of her early career is back!
A brilliant album *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and better, 22 Dec 2010
By 
B. Gibson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make The Light (Audio CD)
A testing time for Kate with the launch of her first ALL written by Kate CD. NO WORRIES! This is a superb collection, as ever Kate will make you laugh and also make you cry. She really does get better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make The Light
Make The Light by Kate Rusby (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews