Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book I'd heartily recommend to my students
I found this book a great read for people either starting out in web design or for people who want to strengthen their webdesign skills.
At first, the title has perhaps led me to expect this book to reveal some exciting secrets of great webdeisgn, but once I got over the initial disappointment and realised that my expectations were somewhat ridiculous, I found this...
Published on 15 Jun 2009 by Shira

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners, but nothing here for seasoned professionals
I'm a professional web designer and have been in the new media industry for over 15 years. I rarely buy technical books these days since so much knowledge is available for free on the web, but I was excited to get hold of this tome by Elliot Jay Stocks since he's an excellent designer and I hoped to tap into what it is that sets him apart from the rest of us...
Published on 26 April 2009 by Mr. M. Hill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for beginners, but nothing here for seasoned professionals, 26 April 2009
By 
Mr. M. Hill "friskdesign" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a professional web designer and have been in the new media industry for over 15 years. I rarely buy technical books these days since so much knowledge is available for free on the web, but I was excited to get hold of this tome by Elliot Jay Stocks since he's an excellent designer and I hoped to tap into what it is that sets him apart from the rest of us.

Unfortunately, this book doesn't do that. There isn't enough here to inspire you to create truly original, breathtaking designs. You'll have to look elsewhere for that kind of inspiration, such as on-line CSS galleries, and for that reason I think the title of the book is slightly misleading.

'Sexy Web Design' will be much more valuable to beginner web designers. Elliot takes you through a typical web design process up to the point of delivery of design comps. He looks at everything from initial research, to site structure, layout, colour, typography, style, visual flair and technical considerations. There are many ideas and concepts addressed, including colour theory, grid systems for layout, web safe fonts, etc. As a book outlining a sound web design process and a checklist of all the compromises and considerations that go into that process, it delivers pretty well.

It will also be very insightful for the more experienced designer who never plans their work and simply jumps straight into PhotoShop without thinking about what their website needs to achieve.

If you've been in the industry for a few years and worked to an established design process (Research, Requirements Gathering, Information Architecture, Layout/Design/Style) then this book won't teach you much. But if any of those stages are alien to you and you don't understand the full process, then this book is probably worthwhile.

Even though I think this book is useful for inexperienced designers, I do have some reservations. The main issue is a lack of detail. The book skips through at a brisk pace and you'll get through it in well under two hours. I would have liked to see a more detailed break down of some stages, for example: How to work with clients, how to brain storm and come up with concepts and refine them through collaboration and iteration. Kudos for linking out to useful websites where appropriate, but a little more text would have been welcome.

'Sexy Web Design' does seem overpriced. You're paying over £30 for about 140 pages of actual content (many of these being large screen-shots) and I don't think you get enough for your money. To be fair the price is because the printing is in full colour (and it's a beautifully designed book, no question), but for this price I'd expect something more detailed and definitive; as it stands it's a little lightweight.

As an overview of good web design practices, 'Sexy Web Design' offers lots of useful advice for inexperienced web designers. More experienced designers are likely to be a bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book I'd heartily recommend to my students, 15 Jun 2009
I found this book a great read for people either starting out in web design or for people who want to strengthen their webdesign skills.
At first, the title has perhaps led me to expect this book to reveal some exciting secrets of great webdeisgn, but once I got over the initial disappointment and realised that my expectations were somewhat ridiculous, I found this book to be quite good.
It ties the various aspects of the job together very nicely and paints a clear picture of the process as a whole. Elliot does a great job at explaining best practices in a light and entertaining manner which makes the book an easy and entertaining read. I'd heartily recommend this book to my webdesign students.

Although as an experienced web designers I did not find a whole lot of new information in this book, it has inspired me to think about new design ideas and I found myself sketching away while reading it. So as far as I'm concerned, the book has definitely done its job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One for new web page designers, 25 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is good at helping with the design and continuity of web pages.

Combine this with the principles of 'Don't make me think' and the best practice of 'Forms that work' and you have a powerful trio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Web Design Creative Process, 29 Jun 2011
By 
J. Pedro Ribeiro (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Have you ever wondered if your design process is the right one for your projects? Have you ever thought that maybe there's a step missing or maybe a specific phase that needs more emphasis on? After doing some research on the subject I found out that Elliot Jay Stocks, a very cool designer from the UK, had recently written a book about this called Sexy Web Design published by Sitepoint, a cool Aussie based book publisher and web & design reference website.

Overall idea of the book

In this book, Elliot shows you his process of creating a sexy website, from the initial briefing with the client to the final updates on the mockup. The author explains the purpose of each phase, exemplifies showing successful websites online and applies the proper technique on a demo project that is covered throughout the book.

Although the book covers a lot of content, the book doesn't go very deep on each of them and some topics are left with just a few lines of explanation. Elliot tries to fix this issue by giving external references but sadly they are mostly to Sitepoint links or their books, which sound a little biased. Don't get me wrong, I'm a frequent reader of Sitepoint`s website but it wouldn't hurt to throw a few more references.

The highlights

The chapter which covers inspiration and mood on websites is spot on just like the briefing and initial sketches approach suggested by the author. I like the idea of spending more time away from the computer to get your mind in the right place.

Conclusion

I would really recommend this book to any web designer. Even if you are sure that your design process is good enough for your projects, there's always something interesting that lights a bulb in your head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 15 Jun 2009
By 
J. Mcfarlane "John Mcfarlane" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a part-time freelance web developer/designer in the UK, I tend to buy all the latest design and development books as a learning tool and to keep up to date with all the latest trends.

I have found this book to be just as helpful as any book I've ever read, I'm a huge fan of Elliot's work and the standard of this book doesn't surprise me.

This a surely another must have book for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not turned on..., 12 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The reviewers on Amazon prior to my purchase were lukewarm, but I was swayed by a few on-line reviews that suggested this would be good for a someone new to web design. There is not much here for anyone I fear. The topics covered are covered far better almost everywhere else I have looked. He writes endlessly about this not being the place to go into detail, but there is little value in being told that "accordians" for are sexy, or that different ways of replacing text are sexy etc etc. You either like them or you don't, and just reading this guys opinion gets pretty boring. He estimates the dummy site he "develops" to be inspirational for one and all, but it left me a bit lukewarm. Sexy this book is not, and even as a beginner I found it boring - nothing new at all. To top it off, there are very few pages and many of them just have lots of whitespace. Sitepoint have let themselves down here...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent (as always), 15 Jun 2009
I've always enjoyed Elliott's writing style through his contributions to various industry magazines, and I have to say, he's as good as ever here. He has a light style that doesn't detract from the information he provides, and always manages to convey the theory behind the practice. Would heartily recommend buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sex Web Design Review, 26 May 2009
By 
R. Haworth "A Webdesigner" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was expecting great things after reading Sitepoint's Beautiful Web Design. Sadly Sexy Web Design does not deliver. In fact it doesn't really bring anything new to the table at all. The author references Beautiful Web design frequently when his poorly crafted ramblings fail to explain a concept.

Another gripe I had was the images referenced as examples are often a page turn away, resulting in infuriating page flipping and loosing your place in the text. In a book about sexy design I would expect better design.

I did like the chapter on aesthetics, but if I buy a book I expect to find the whole thing useful. With quite a hefty price tag this book does not represent good value. If you want an amazing book on good web design then buy Jason Beaied's book instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews