Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable suspense thriler
This is an enjoyable thriller about a promising journalist, C.J. Nicholas, who suspects the district attorney is framing people by planting evidence to gain convictions. He enlists the support of a colleague in a risky plan to frame himself as a murder suspect to prove his theory. However, after C.J. has been arrested, things become complicated. He hasn't been honest with...
Published 18 months ago by Pink-Lady

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A twist at the end!
I purchased this title as it looked like it could be a good suspense thriller with Michael Douglas at the helm and it was at a good price.
But that's where it ends, unfortunately the story plods along with not much suspense and it feels more like you are watching a T.V movie. Douglas seems like he is just going with the flow, a very disappointing performance. But not...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. Steven Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A twist at the end!, 15 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Steven Clark (Heathfield,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond A Reasonable Doubt [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I purchased this title as it looked like it could be a good suspense thriller with Michael Douglas at the helm and it was at a good price.
But that's where it ends, unfortunately the story plods along with not much suspense and it feels more like you are watching a T.V movie. Douglas seems like he is just going with the flow, a very disappointing performance. But not to spoil it if you watch it their is a surprise twist at the end.
Bonus features; The whole truth, the making of, Criminal forensics- The burden of proof.
Video: 1080P 23.98/16:9 1.85:1, Audio : DTS-HD master audio 5.1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable suspense thriler, 13 Jan 2013
This is an enjoyable thriller about a promising journalist, C.J. Nicholas, who suspects the district attorney is framing people by planting evidence to gain convictions. He enlists the support of a colleague in a risky plan to frame himself as a murder suspect to prove his theory. However, after C.J. has been arrested, things become complicated. He hasn't been honest with his girlfriend, who happens to be an assistant to the DA. Also the DA uncovers his plan, and will do everything it takes to make sure the truth doesn't come out ...

The suspense builds gradually throughout and really kept me gripped. There are plenty of twists and turns, with an ending I really didn't see coming. I haven't seen the original film so I can't make a comparison, but I thoroughly enjoyed this version. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys an intelligent suspense thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OH NO, THERE GOES TOKYO..., 4 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If you have seen one courtroom drama you have seen them all. This movie is extremely predictable and poorly acted. Michael Douglas is stiff as he reads his lines. A reporter believes the DA is planting evidence (not in Philadelphia either!). He is also dating the assistant DA (one sex scene, no nudity). Rather than call in the FBI, he plans to catch the DA by making himself look like the criminal in a murder case with the aid of another reporter. The DA suspects he is being set up and the assistant reporter is killed along with the tape that would exonerate the first reporter.

Now it is up to his lover to uncover the truth. It is a good story, just overdone. If you are going to do a remake, get Leonardo DiCaprio to play the lead. The movie moves slow at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beyond reasonable doubt, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
enjoyed it once you got into the story passed it to my daughter who did not particularly like it. however my tastes are different from hers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars An example of useless filmaking, 28 Feb 2014
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I rented this film on the premise that i like courtroom dramas and Michael Douglas's acting, although from the Amazon reviews i was not expecting anything out of the ordinary.

Well, it was out of the ordinary, in that it was a shocking piece of filmaking. The storyline was so badly put together that it was totally unfeasable and boring, while the acting was so poor that it would not have even made a 'B' movie. What on earth possessed Michael Douglas to make such an incredibly poor film i do not know, not that he played a significant role, but what he did do was incredibly poor. It is not as if he needs any money and an actor of his stature should not be tarnished by such rubbish.

The whole production was shoddy and an entire waste of time not to mention an entire waste of one's hard earned money. The film is a blot on the cinema industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This thriller is well worth watching and would recommend it to other customers. Also value for money and arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as Andrew says, 13 May 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This film can't be as bad as said because my wife actually stayed awake till the end and there wasn't that much action to keep her awake. Jesse Metcalfe (John the gardener from Desperate Housewives) stars as CJ Nicholas, an ambitious reporter who frames himself for murder in order to bring down Michael Douglas' corrupt district attorney. Douglas isn't really a wooden actor, he's just suffering from the botox, otherwise he plays the sort of slimy role he seems to be specialising in. Amber Tamblyn plays the love interest as the assistant DA who eventually saves our hero but was she right to do so. Production values were generally good and it is presented in full screen with a soundtrack that doesn't really become noticeable until the car chase when the lfe effects were a little overdone. Yes the plot is a little obvious at times but I didn't see the twist coming and it was generally well written, worth a watch but you probably wouldn't want to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Cast. Great Movie. Suprising., 29 Mar 2010
Remake of the 1956 film noir film "Beyond a Reasonable Doubt" in which a writer's plan to expose a corrupt district attorney takes an unexpected turn. High profile lawyer, Martin Hunter has an impeccable record putting criminals behind bars and is a shoo-in for governor in the upcoming election. But when ambitious rookie journalist, C.J. Nicholas begins investigating Hunter for tampering with evidence to secure his convictions, the district attorney's perfect record is up for scrutiny. Commencing a risky game of cat and mouse with Hunter, C.J. frames himself as a murder suspect to catch the corrupt D.A. in the act. Romantically involved with C.J. but unaware of his assignment, assistant D.A. Ella Crystal becomes caught between her boss's political ambitions and C.J.'s dangerous expose. As mounting evidence stacks up against both men, Ella's own life becomes threatened when she discovers incriminating proof that puts the fate of both C.J's innocence and Hunter's reputation in her hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars That's 90 minutes I won't get back again!!, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Michael Douglas is one of my favourite actors. How he got suckered into this is beyond me.
Poor storyline, obvious whodunit, not recommended for those with a shred of intelligence and so pc, I was groaning into my latte which I desperately needed just to stay awake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING DVD FOR THE MONEY, 8 Aug 2013
By 
DEE (CHESHIRE, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
AN EXCELLENT DVD - JUST WHEN YOU THINK YOU KNOW WHAT'S GOING TO HAPPEN, IT DOES IN A VERY DIFFERENT WAY !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond A Reasonable Doubt [Blu-ray]
Beyond A Reasonable Doubt [Blu-ray] by Robert Larriviere (Blu-ray - 2010)
5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews