Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Coffee Maker
After breaking my old Chemex paper filter maker I decided to check out this one due to the cheap pricing. It comes with step-by-step instructions making it easy to figure out. This method is much quicker than my old paper filter and the coffee is hotter and generally better; as the material filter removes less from the coffee.

The only negatives are the need...
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by Vasily

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mini coffee
For making good tasting coffee a sound machine but just could be a little bigger, most people use mugs or large cups to drink from today.
Published 20 months ago by Devon boy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 22 April 2012
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
Fast delivery, well packed, easy instruction to follow. Looks a bit cheap with plastic lid but it works very well and make very nice coffee, good product with very reasonable price and fun to see how it makes coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a perfect cup of coffee, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
I'm very pleased with the coffee this makes. There are no grounds to muddy it and the full flavour bursts through. It's almost as quick as an electric maker as long as you put boiling water into the vessel before you light the meths burner. I've also tried it with chafing gel and although it's not as good (you probably need to bring the chafer nearer to the glass vessel to improve the heat transfer) it will make a good cup of coffee. As other reviewers have said - the 5 cup description is for 5 espresso sized cups. This equates to 2 mugs - so if you are planning to make coffee for lots of people, this size isn't the best option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a cool little machine, 30 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
I bought this for my sister for Christmas and she loves it. Not into real coffee myself but she put it together to show me how it made the perfect coffee for her and Dad. It's like a little junior scientist machine with a little heater underneath and the water all bubbles up to the top bit, then you put out the flame and slowly the water, now fresh coffee, goes back into the bottom bit and voila! you have your coffee ready to pour, nice and hot too. Not for me, too fiddly but she loves it and is more than happy with it - oh and then you put the coffee grounds onto your honeysuckle, they love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun. My only gripe is with the quality ..., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
Great fun.
My only gripe is with the quality of the metalwork but at the price can't moan too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Technical review, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
Here is a full tech review and some advice for those who want to know a little more than does it make better coffee.
Yes it does make a lovely cuppa

Do not bother with the Hario way over priced exactly the same item only difference is the name on the glass parts and the Hario uses thinner glass.
Managed to get one cheap off ebay but was damaged in transit so I got this one.
Burner is inefficient about two burns for a five cup
Firstly I found the following fuel to burn more efficiently and cleaner
Glass & Fire Bio-ethanol 1 ltr £5 available on amazon.
Ciff power cream seems to do the trick very well getting rid of burn marks on the glass bowl

Then I saw a halogen beam heater and went in search of one ebay offers a Akira halogen beam heater from Hong Kong to avoid import tax this is the best place to get it expect to pay £80 import tax from America getting it from Hong Kong same unit expect to pay around £252 mind you it comes with two halogen bulbs expect to replace the first on arrival. No more sute burns to get rid of.

Glass parts seems to do ok in dishwasher however I still get water marks on the top bowl.
Needs a proper rinse before use
Filter a good blast from a spray tap gets rid of most of the gunk but I would recommend boiling it occasionally to sanitise it if you are going to use the filter long term, replacements are available but the filter will only really starts making good coffee after a few times use.
2 X large cups
5 X small cups
How much coffee is down to your personal taste still trying to find the right blend for that perfect taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coffee lovers dream, 18 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
The last time I had coffee from one of these was in a restaurant in Belgium. I made my coffee and it brought back memories of Ostend. It is well worth the money, don't hesitate in buying one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Actually makes rather nice coffee, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
More like a percolator than a filter machine, and produces nicer coffee than the latter as well. It's a bit gimmicky (but I guess that's the point) but looks nice as a centre piece on the table after a family meal. A little too much of a faff to use on a regular basis, but nice nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great centrepiece, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
This machine repl;aces and ancient cona we had for years. Love the coffee it makes, but coul ddo with the older glass filter more than the new fabric version, but despite that is a fun way to make coffee for guests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool way to make coffee, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
Cool way to make coffee and lets you actually be able to taste the nuttiness of the coffee flavours. Doesn't take too long to prepare. Only issue is making the coffee then cleaning it all within a short amount if time to go to work. Great for socials rather than personal cup of coffee to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Coffee Brewer, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coffee Master 5-Cup Syphon / Vacuum Glass Coffee Maker
Bought this for my boyfriend though it's always me who makes the coffee. He'll get his special coffee every Sunday when I'm with him. We love to watch the process and gosh!!! It gives you a very nice taste of coffee.
The best coffee we have so far is when we use Kopi Luwak. I don't know, maybe becasue the coffee itself is special coffee??? But we try different coffees and they all taste good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews