Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for people who is new to DSLR and own Nikon D3100...
I'm new in DSLR photography, bought Nikon D3100 recently and haven't got a clue what all these buttons are for. Tried to read the user manual and got quite confused. After searching a little bit found this book. This is a great Book with great contents. Easy to read description with tips and best practice ideas which can save any entry level photographers life. Very easy...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by Ruhul Kais

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just an average photography book
If you have at least read the Nikon D3100 manual and browse popular photography forums, then there is not much you can learn new from this book. It covers some basic techniques and settings of D3100. Explains PASM modes etc but that is it.
Published 14 months ago by NB


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for people who is new to DSLR and own Nikon D3100..., 7 Sep 2011
I'm new in DSLR photography, bought Nikon D3100 recently and haven't got a clue what all these buttons are for. Tried to read the user manual and got quite confused. After searching a little bit found this book. This is a great Book with great contents. Easy to read description with tips and best practice ideas which can save any entry level photographers life. Very easy and effective description about most photography terms according to D3100 with relevant photos. Every Chapter finishes with assignments which is really helpful for entry level photographers like me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for beginners, 6 Jan 2011
The D3100 comes with a really helpful and easy to read user manual. Although the manual shows how a camera feature is accessed, what is missing is why it should be used to enhance one's photography. This book helps fill that gap. It's an easy read, jargon free and assumes little DSLR experience. To be fair to the D3100 the camera's 'guide mode' makes a pretty good job of explaining the camera's features, but clearly it is not as easy to read as a book. Just be aware that this book is a re-write of the D5000 version of the book (and possibly the D3000 version) so if you have these books then it's unlikely you'll get much more out of this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put this book down!, 18 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being new to a DSLR Camera, i can't stress enough how good this book is. I'm an ex qualified lithographic printer, and believe me, the pics and illustrations are second to none during every explanation. When reading this book also, i don't know how he does it for the reader, but he gets you involved from the word go. He makes everything hassle free, and you just want to keep picking it up. Learning from this book is like second nature, as everything is so clearly explained and easily understood without getting frustrated. This is a must for all D3100 owners, as it allows you to enjoy and appreciate great results at the click of a button. 10/10 for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 8 Nov 2011
By 
Mary (Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a cracker of a book. As a novice with my first digital SLR camera I wanted a book with lots of pictures and straight forward text. This book fits the bill well. I would thoroughly recommend it and in conjunction with the excellent online tutorials that are around I will soon be taking brilliant pictures
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D3100: From Snapshots to Great Shots, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are lots of Nikon D3100 manuals and guides and I wouldn't like to say this is better than any of the others but I did download samples of the Kindle editions, where they were available, and made my choice based on that.
Some of the 'Field guides' look good but who can be bothered lugging a book around with them.
Nikon D3100: From Snapshots to Great Shots doesn't try to be a technical manual but what it does do is relate the D3100's features to real life use and shows you how to get the best from the camera's many options.
The book itself is a very good quality paperback with high res images and it is written in a clear but not condescending style. It does assume that if you've coughed up for a relatively expensive camera you are bright enough not to need every tiny point explained in minute detail.
If you just want a technical manual stick with the pdf that is on the CD-Rom that came with your camera.

Overall I'd say if you want something to help you get a better understanding of how to actually use your D3100 to take better photos you can't go wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for photography "Newbies", 17 May 2011
By 
Ian Willsher "CAD man" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book for people who are new to the Nikon D3100 and who are want to set their camera to something other than 'auto'. I've taken 'snaps' for years and always wondered how to take better photos. This book helps you to stop crawling along on 'auto' and stand up to take your first steps in the more manual modes to takes the photo that YOU want to seek.
It shows you where all the settings are to be found so that you can begin to know how to introduce creativity to your photographs. To use an analogy, if the book was describing a car it wouldn't just describe the accelerator, brakes and steering wheel, but would include the lights, windscreen wipers, indicators, bonnet release, etc., etc..
The book has clear, helpful illustrations and good photos to illustrate a point. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought this as a present, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My son-in-law received the D3100 for Christmas so I bought this for his birthday in January. He worked his way right through the book and said it was the most useful present he'd ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D3100 Book Review, 27 Jan 2011
A fantastic complement to your new Nikon D3100 camera. You will be amazed how quick you can learn its features. much easier than the manual. The price is also very good. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only guide you'll ever need, 22 Jun 2011
A beautifully constructed guide which I'd recommend to all Nikon D3100 users from the beginners to the more serious photographers. The author doesn't assume you already know the ins and outs of a dSLR yet the writing style is so engaging that it wouldn't bore you if you did.
This book shows you which settings will suit for every occasion whilst explaining the whys and hows so you're able to understand how to take a truly great picture.
I wouldn't be without this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for the beginner, 14 Nov 2012
By 
K. Williamson (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my son-in-law who had just bought his first serious camera - the Nikon D3100.

Before he started to read the book, he knew very little about how to get the best from his new investment so the camera was set to the 'green box' i.e. fully automatic. I explained that this was akin to using a point and shoot compact and whilst, he might get better photos because of the larger sensor and better optics, he could do so much better.

This book is taking him through the stages of learning the 'craft' of photography; holding his hand and gently weaning him off the 'green button'. I can already see the results in the photos he has taken.

Already, my son-in-law is itching to get himself a telephoto zoom to supplement the kit lens. I'd lend him mine but I am a Canon man and so my L series lenses won't fit his Nikon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews