Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars16
2.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2010
Firstly, the comments about gluten and lactose intolerance have been removed from the paperback addition (see the reviews of the hardback edition); presumably replaced with the line about forcing all young people to do national service.

Having read "Eats, Shoots and Leaves" I thought this would be a good read, so I bought it, although it is clear this was written as a quick follow up and so is not really up to the same standard. "Talk to the Hand" is really just a long rant, which has been mentioned in numerous reviews about the hardback version. However, I enjoy a good rant so I did find this enjoyable to read in that sense. Truss set out 6 reasons to stay at home and lock the door, but I never felt she really came to any solid conclusions about them, and didn't tie it all up nicely at the end. It just trailed off, and in this respect the book is disappointing.

In summary, this book is good as a toilet read, but don't expect the usefulness and humour of "Eats, Shoots and Leaves".
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 March 2008
The bizarre thing about this little book, and all the anger on it's pages, is that it has had the completely opposite effect on me to what I imagined it would!
I can be an angry person with the rest of them, while also being prone to being irritated by the rudeness and inconsideration of others. I have also had the odd sway into feelings of road rage (Sorry - but that person that pulls out on you in a 60mph limit and proceeds to dawdle along at 25mph will ALWAYS have me reaching for my imaginery dashboard mounted machine gun. You know who you are.) And I too, am irked by other people chatting in the cinema and the very loud, somewhat uneccessary use of mobile phones.But I found myself, rather than shouting 'Yes, thats right - I feel just like that' aloud while reading LT's prose, I found myself instead thanking the good Lord that I'm not as irritated as she appears to be! How tiring!
So, actually, reading this book can be good for your health. It can make you realise how much worse off other people are. Or, in contrast, it can be bad for your health as you reach the conclusion that perhaps you are the irritating as opposed to the irritated...
77 comments12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
This is a likeable book by a likeable person but it lacks authenticity. For the sake of sticking to her thesis, Truss goes woefully over the top and affects so much irritation with everything that you assume she either lives in state of hypertension or is exaggerating. It's the latter, you come to realise. It might have been better to come up with a more thoughtful thesis and approach the question: why have good manners become so downright unfashionable when most of us like them?
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2010
It was OK but unlike her bestseller "Eats, shoots and leaves" it could not hold my attention long enough to allow me to finish it. Too much pointless ranting. Perhaps I meet too many normal, nice people to get worked up over the berks.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Although I say it didn't have the punch I was expecting, I found myself agreeing with a lot of what is covered in this book. I'm glad I read it, possibly because it made me feel I am not alone in expecting a little bit more from society. Manners put us in a league above other animals, but we seem to be falling back into 'dog eat dog' rather quickly. Does 'the circle of life' mean that we'll go back to living in caves one day too?
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
How come I forgot the reviews and bought this? Even before starting to read I realised I had poor value for money. Print the size of a book for 10-year-olds, huge margins, and blank pages between chapters. This would have been only 100 pages if the publishers had not tried and failed to mask the fact that this book is very insubstantial.
In content too. Overstated, unfunny, hypocritical - she reveals herself to be guilty of some of the very things she criticises, like using the 'f' word, even accidentally in front of her mother sometimes - and despite the shortness of the book she goes on too long on her very obvious themes.
I now have a dilemma: do I put the book out straight for recycling, or do I give it to a charity shop to their gain but to some punter's loss? Caveat emptor perhaps, as I should have done!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I found this book interesting but a little deep sometimes. Not that is bad but would have preferred something a little lighter. Lynne Truss does sometimes refer to examples of everyday occurrences which are very enlightening to give strength to the book. Overall the book didn't always grab my attention although I completely agree with the idea of it's content.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
Bought this because of the author's excellent "Eats, Shoots & Leaves". But this is obviously a quick follow-up moneyspinner, no more than an extended Daily Mail-style rant about the lack of modern manners. Almost no practical suggestions or guidelines whatsoever. And, like a previous reviewer, I started to feel more sympathy for the "Eff Off" generation than the author of this grumpy and sour diatribe.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
Clever--true--but a little too predictable I found. Nevertheless, it should be compulsory reading for all politicians and South of England shop assisstants.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
I used to admire Lynne Truss and loved her"Eats Shoots and Leaves", but despite editorial changes in the most recent editions of this book, I can never forgive her unconsidered and, frankly, cruel and stupid comment about gluten intolerance in this book. I could quite happily wish coeliac disease on her, as she herself says she would like. It is the most abysmally miserable condition, and can ruin lives. It is NOT a fad. Unforgiveable. I'll never buy another of her books.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.